English Military Mistake- Longbow

Ozz

Deity
I was reading a history of the English Speaking Peoples.
(Winston Chruchill Vol 1 pg 262)

In it he states:

At 250 yards the arrow hail produced effects never reached
again by infantry missiles at such a range until the American
civil war.

And again: pg 327

Battle of The Herrings:
at ranges greater than the muskets of Marborough,Frederick the
Great, or Napoleon could ever attain broke the whole assualt.

He even states an English general after the Napoleonic Wars
avocated returning to using the long bow due to it's range,
accuracy and rate of fire, And filed an offical report to that
effect with the crown.

i can't understand why any civ abandon such a military advantage? it must be a english military mistake.

It was a conspiracy of saltpeter pile owners and metalsmiths. They kept paying off the right MPs, and so, no longbows.

I'm not an expert on military history but back then the muskets were not effective at long range, reloading took a long time and lots of accidents happened while shooting. I guess at that time the new technological advance didn't seem very helpfull.;)

The answer lies in the fact that metalurgy had improved by Napoleon's time, if an army were equiped only with long bows, opposing armies would simply issue metal shields and breast plates, nulifing that advantage.

No shield or breast plate made could stop a musket ball at 100 paces, thus, no change back to long bows.

Also, it requires skill and pysical abilty to use a long bow properly, wearas a someone could be taught to load and volly fire in one day.

On paper the longbow does seem superior to the musket; up to 12 shots a minute compared to the muskets 2 or 3, more accurate, cheaper to construct and maintain, lighter and easier to carry, and so on. However, muskets do have two very important advantages.