1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Enhanced User Interface v1.29e

Civ5 Enhanced User Interface

  1. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,606
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    EUI's design philosophy will, unless bc1 changes his mind, to display information about the game that is available somewhere else. Becaue of that Diplomatic Values are unlikely to be added unless Bc1 will start another mod, it's unlikely that will be added.
     
  2. Rual

    Rual Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Spain
    what do you need for translating it to spanish? I don't see any localization file...
     
  3. bc1

    bc1

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,266
    There are no such files ATM because no one yet volunteered for translating (no one seems interested in doing art work either).

    I am willing to code this stuff only if people volunteer for translating to at least 3 major languages.

    Cheers
     
  4. Teproc

    Teproc King

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    Lyon, France
    I might be able to do the French translation.

    By the way, I can't seem to get the "disable advisor" thing to work. As in, I always get a lot of info when mousing over a tile, even though my advisor level is set to "no advice". It seems to work for a few seconds when I change it, but it very quickly goes back to giving me a bunch of text.
     
  5. Strigvir

    Strigvir Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,299
    "Bundled" notifications are totally messed up for spy reports: when you click to rotate them you also instantly get to share intrigue of next report. Also, there must be an option for right-clicking on bundle, removing whole bundle or only one report of it. Moreover, there should be option to fine tune bundling behaviour, like I wanted to bundle only non-clickable reports like DoFs and denouncements, but leaving everything else untouched.
    Also, sometimes I get mismatched leader dialogue and deal they are proposing: http://www.mediafire.com/convkey/a086/pyaxtbar4fyhe89fg.jpg?size_id=a
    It was more apparent when I got two research agreement deals from the same leader in a period of 2-3 turns, despite me accepting it at the first deal, but he got different dialogue, suggesting that there is a display bug involved.
     
  6. Meister Maggi

    Meister Maggi Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    Let me first say that the EUI mod is indeed well done and has many nice features - I only found it now, but I would happily use it.

    Now, given that I am the author of the city view for notebooks mod, I have to agree with JohnS, that I very much would like to see a mod that integrates both:

    - there is no point in having such a huge focus box which is always closed on first load;
    - the specialist box is certainly much more useful than specialists being spread out and associated each to their building (in alphabetical order);
    - the small icons for buildings and wonders avoid (almost) all scrolling and should in particular combine nicely with the great tooltips in EUI!

    I admit that the GP-meters with indication of remaining turns is certainly better than what I have, but the three arguments before should still apply independently of the size of the screen. So I would also petition in favor of a partial integration since I do not want to miss the features of EUI in city view either. :)

    Of course, if and when I find the time, I may also process this myself as a modmod, provided bc1 is o.k. with that. In any case, I agree that the majority of the features is not restricted to small screens - seeing more in one screen with less scrolling/clicking is quite in line with one of the ideas in EUI.
     
  7. bc1

    bc1

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,266
    :lol: yes or no ?
    Advisor level has no effect. Please refer to the instructions for the options that do
    It's an "incomplete" beta, what did you expect ?
    Seems fine, anyway EUI has no effect on leader dialogues
    Fine, but what's the point ? Your mod should already be compatible with EUI provided EUI's CityView module is removed

    Cheers
     
  8. Teproc

    Teproc King

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    Lyon, France
    Well I think I can do it : unemployed right now so I have the time, but I'm completely incompetent as far as modding goes so I would need you to give me a list of stuff to translate to do it, or something along those lines. Not sure how easy that would be ?
     
  9. bc1

    bc1

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,266
    :( you'd better focus on finding a job then...
    With regards to the translation, it would be an xml file like the ones in <game folder>\assets\gameplay\xml\newtext\xxx where xxx is the language code
     
  10. Meister Maggi

    Meister Maggi Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    Correct, of course, but this way, I loose all your changes in EUI's CityView module, so if I want to have both, it needs to be integrated.
     
  11. anandus

    anandus Errorist

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,859
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    As I would also like it, would it be hard to integrate it myself?
    Is it simply merging the XMLs, as EUI doesn't change those boxes in cityview?
     
  12. d3athbyn1ght

    d3athbyn1ght Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Would anyone know the reason why my game crashes when i try to put the mod into DLC. Butif i take it out the game runs fine.
     
  13. Meister Maggi

    Meister Maggi Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    It is unfortunately not that simple, since both files cityview.lua and cityview_small.xml are altered in both mods, in fact in the case of EUI there are changes throughout the entire files so it has to be merged manually... :sad:
     
  14. Teproc

    Teproc King

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    Lyon, France
    Ok, but I'm not sure what to do witht that ? Sorry but I don't have the slightest bit of competence as far as modding goes, I'm just saying I could help if you gave me a file with a list of translations you need or something. That might not be what you're looking for understandably ;)
     
  15. Taurus

    Taurus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    Hi!

    I suggest that you try with opening that (mentioned) file with editor and translate text as you see it should be. You'll surely make some mistakes but you'll learn and things will be fully translated in some next iteration...

    Best regards, Borut
     
  16. ExpiredReign

    ExpiredReign Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,450
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tasmania
    bc1
    I just now tried out the latest beta version you offered and I can say with confidence you have completely fixed the weird yield errors that occur with Communitas.

    Excellent.
     
  17. mrc2022

    mrc2022 Capitão Rolinho

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    346
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Portugal
    Again about Condensed Promotions
    whoward's mod updates the UnitPanel files
    Meaning, as you altered this it updates those files making your changes obsolete.
    Is there any chance you could look into this?
     
  18. Rual

    Rual Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Spain
    For me, there is no problem to translate a xml file :)
     
  19. Ahhuatl

    Ahhuatl Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    I am using 3.15 and now I cannot load any saves, including ones made after I installed the EUI. I get a runtime error on the loading screen and it shuts down, never had this problem before. It seems to be more towards the late game that this happens though. Didn't see much in the lua log but maybe you will spot something I didnt/
     

    Attached Files:

  20. ExpiredReign

    ExpiredReign Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,450
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tasmania
    I am experiencing noticeable performance hits with the beta version.
    Are there ways to optimize the lua code?

    Often the game will spend 5 or 6 seconds during the phase when your turn is just about to start. The banner indicating your turn starts to appear, but is still only 50% visible, and the calculations are still going on in the background and not releasing the game.

    Also the city display of tiles and their yields catches the mouse and freezes the game for a second or two whenever the mouse cursor happens to pass over the city banner. If we could have a delay placed on that so you have to actually 'want' it displayed at that time, rather than at the time the mouse hits the banner.

    As always though, your mod is to be commended. Sheer brilliance in my opinion.:goodjob:
     

Share This Page