Enhanced User Interface v1.29i

Civ5 Enhanced User Interface

  1. bc1

    bc1

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Enhanced User Interface has no effect on saves, it is unlikely to cause such problems. However your log seems to indicate you are using mods which do affect saves. A copy of the save and/or lua.log would be required for any further investigation.
    EUI's lua code optimization is actually supposed to be improving... These slowdows are more likely the result of a bug or some strange interaction between EUI & CEP. Try removing EUI 1.16beta modules to isolate the problem, starting with NotificationPanel which has changed the most since 1.15
    In 1.16beta's CityBannerManager.lua, line 1626, try changing true to false

    Cheers
     
  2. Lerrissirrel

    Lerrissirrel Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    I ran into this same slow down, it gets worse as you get further into the game and is only noticeable hundreds of turns in. Hard to try various things to diagnose it. I'm currently playing a game without CEP to see what happens.
     
  3. ExpiredReign

    ExpiredReign Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,450
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Perfect.

    Also I have now seen (and I was certain I saw a mention of it here but now I can't find it) on the setup screen all the UBs display this error message:

    Code:
    Assets\DLC\ToolTips\InfoToolTipInclude.lua:879: attempt to index upvalue 'YieldTypes' (a nil value)
    It only happens for the UBs and only on the setup screen. All the tooltips ingame work brilliantly, I guess that would be the case since CEP's files override the EUI files.

    That line is one of the changes made to combat the compatibility issue.
     
  4. Ahhuatl

    Ahhuatl Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Then why is it that when I uninstalled the EUI, the save as well as other saves with the issue began to work? Oh well, I will just play without it.
     
  5. Lerrissirrel

    Lerrissirrel Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Definitely an interaction between CEP and EUI. With CEP disabled, I'm in year 2020 with no slow down. Note that I only had CAT and CIT enabled (not CEG).
     
  6. bc1

    bc1

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Does this mean this solves the slowdown ? That would mean Communitas is doing stuff with UI.GetScratchDeal() between turns...
    Thanks, forgot YieldTypes is not available pregame
    Normally CEP cannot override EUI's InfoToolTipInclude.lua because it is loaded pregame. It's just that EUI's InfoToolTipInclude.lua behaves differently pregame / ingame.

    Cheers
     
  7. ExpiredReign

    ExpiredReign Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,450
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Perfect because the citybanner doesn't steal the mouse all the time.
    Unfortunately the general slowdown is still there.

    Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk
     
  8. bc1

    bc1

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Then I would guess the root cause is CEP overwriting highly optimized EUI files such as ProductionPopup, CityView and TechTree. When combining Firaxis-style code which constantly generates unrequired tooltips with EUI's detailed tooltip library, things could slow down quite a bit.
    The only way to prove this hypothesis is to test with CEP's UI files removed…
     
  9. bc1

    bc1

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    There is probably a conflict with other mods you are using
     
  10. mo.mentum

    mo.mentum Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Love this! But may I suggest a small tweak to the interface, or maybe you can show me how to do so myself. I think it would make more sense for the tourism points to be next to the culture points on the left, while the money should be next to the resources and trade routes on the right. Jusssst sayin'.
     
  11. PR0927

    PR0927 Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    142
    I don't have CEP but am also having severe slowdowns.
     
  12. bc1

    bc1

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    It's not a CEP exclusive, any mod which overrides / overwrites optimized EUI files such as ProductionPopup, CityView or TechTree could be expected to slow down.

    A few of the mods override effects are detailed in the OP's "Mods compatibility".

    Removing EUI's "ToolTips" module may help with slowdowns (at the expense of corresponding functionality).

    Cheers
     
  13. nokmirt

    nokmirt Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5,088
    Location:
    Iowa USA
    I have not had any probs with this mod. It works great. I use it with RED modpack, only ethnic diversity, and info addict.
     
  14. Puer

    Puer Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    Estonia
    CEP's UI files removed… How to remove Communitas UI files? Do you mean Communitas Interface (CIN) component?

    I'll start new game today and would like help to localize this slowdown issue.
    I plan to use:
    EUI (UI by bc1 v1.16 beta)
    CEP, CAT, CIN
    DLL - Various Mod Components v45
     
  15. bc1

    bc1

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    You would have to ask CEP developers whether that's possible without breaking CEP...
    But removing EUI's "ToolTips" module would have the same effect
     
  16. Hawawaa

    Hawawaa Prime

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Michigan
    Where is this magical 1.16 beta? Looking for it but aint seeing it. Want to test drive it. :)
     
  17. ExpiredReign

    ExpiredReign Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,450
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tasmania
    We have eliminated a serious slowdown bug from CEP that will be in the next release, due out shortly.
    A time delay between consecutive resets of the yield cache is now in place.
    This should remove dozens/hundreds of resets every 0.001 seconds.:eek:

    The checks were in place to query the yields values for accuracy but were doing so far more than was necessary. One check might only be 0.3 seconds long but if you have 30, 40 or more then... well you know what the result is.

    Having used the sleeker version for some days now, CEP is back to being a quick mod.
    I feel sure CEP & EUI will play nice together again.

    As to which modules to remove.
    Just renaming which ever UI item should show the EUI version instead, as they are loaded first.
    Like the EUI TopPanel instead of CEP, rename the CEP one to something else.
    Some trial and error will be needed as the modified yield values MAY NOT be shown if the CEP UI items are renamed.
     
  18. Puer

    Puer Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    Estonia
  19. Hawawaa

    Hawawaa Prime

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Michigan
    Thanks Puer! When I finish this game I'll boot up 1.16 or a newer version if ones comes out. :goodjob:
     
  20. Strigvir

    Strigvir Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,299
    You don't need to start new game for EUI updates.
     

Share This Page