1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Error message

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rise of Mankind' started by madboy77, Jan 18, 2019.

  1. madboy77

    madboy77 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Whenever I play the Assyrians in ROM upon settling the capital Neniv*h (actually the "e" is replaced by a square) I get the message:

    Error in cityBuild event handler <bound method AIAutoPlay.onCityBuild of AIAutoPlay.AIAutoPlay instance at 0x05B505Do>>

    Anyone knows what that is?
     
  2. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,776
    Location:
    Poland
    This mod is dead - that is no support was done in almost decade here.

    If you want updated version, then you can try RoM: A New Dawn or much bigger mod - Caveman2Cosmos.
     
  3. madboy77

    madboy77 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Oh, sure, I know - tried them both and both don't work for me. ROM is better in many ways.
    I was just curious if there's an easy way to fix it...
     
  4. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,963
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    RoM was designed to Only be played in English. You play in any other language and it will have problems like this.
     
  5. madboy77

    madboy77 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    By the longest stretch of my consciousness I am playing in English. unless there's something I'm missing or some files that specify otherwise that I'm not aware of (as I obviously could be). And how is event handler connected to language selection? and why only the Assyrians (and one other civ I now can't recall)?

    can sth be done about it? what language selection to fix ? (I bought the game in English only, downloaded and installed the mod as the authors suggested)..
     
  6. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,963
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    You must find the xml file for the Capital Names and correct the spelling of Nineveh. There is a non English character in that name which you pointed out.
     
  7. madboy77

    madboy77 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Ok, didn't konw it was that simple...
    thank you !

    BTW: it was in the RoM_CIV4GameText_Assyria.xml
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2019
  8. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,963
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Glad you found it.:)

    It's been close to 7 years since I last was involved with RoM. So the memory can be a bit stale after all this time. :p
     

Share This Page