1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Ethnically Diverse Units (4/16/06)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Unit Graphics' started by Rabbit, White, Apr 16, 2006.

  1. Willowmound

    Willowmound Wordbug

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    2,227
    Location:
    Afloat
    A few weeks has passed! Where is it!?

    :)
     
  2. Sword_Of_Geddon

    Sword_Of_Geddon Mysterious Jungle Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13,236
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New England, USA
    Yeah White Rabbit has been scarce lately, I hope hes alright.
     
  3. Eru Ilúvatar

    Eru Ilúvatar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    99
    I salute you. I've always complained about why ethnical differences where ignored along all the civ series.
     
  4. Sword_Of_Geddon

    Sword_Of_Geddon Mysterious Jungle Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13,236
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New England, USA
    THe new patch should be out soon we just have to be patient thats all.
     
  5. Willowmound

    Willowmound Wordbug

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    2,227
    Location:
    Afloat
    We've been patient! :)
     
  6. ohcrapitsnico

    ohcrapitsnico Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,267
    Rabbit, can we expect to see some other units like the ship of the line you made that aren't originally in the game?
     
  7. rifleman

    rifleman Varangian Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Hey RW

    Awesome work! We need more variety.

    On one of your screenshots with the Greek Palace, the houses around it are more red than I'm used to. What's that from? Is that from a different Mod or something else? And is there any way get a copy?

    Any help would be great.
     
  8. GeoModder

    GeoModder Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,512
    It's taken from an existing civ4 (vanilla) mod, the name escapes me atm (the Extended Mod maybe?). It's simply a recoloring of the vanilla civ cityset.
    As to get a copy, this recolored cityset is already in the (vanilla) EDU mod, so if you download that one, you got it. ;)
     
  9. GeoModder nailed it :D

    The ship-of-the-line unit is not actually a new unit, i.e. it has the exact same stats as the frigate. There's gonna be at least one more unit that looks like it could be a new one but nonetheless serves as just a different look for an existing one. That's for next update though.

    I know, I know... I don't have an excuse... just a little more, I'm almost done... :blush:
     
  10. GeoModder

    GeoModder Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,512
    Well, as long as you give us our gimmicks before Christmas, nobody can complain. :goodjob:
     
  11. Bahmo

    Bahmo Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    836
    Hey, Rabbit. I need to download the 2.08 patch. Does this work with that, yet?
     
  12. rifleman

    rifleman Varangian Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Thanks Geo and RW

    Is the Vanilla download still avialable? Or is that just the 2.2?
     
  13. 2.2 plus the 2.35 patch. They are however not Warlords 2.08 compatible, at least I haven't tested that, maybe they are :)
     
  14. Bahmo

    Bahmo Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    836
    I just did; fortunately, they are compatible.
     
  15. Version 2.6 is up, see first post.

    I'd like to appologize to all the folks that have been waiting for this update for far longer than they should've. My only excuse is that I got real busy real fast and took on more than I could handle. I'll try to avoid doing that in the future ;)

    I hope you enjoy the new patch. There's gonna be some more interesting things in the future, like more city sets, thanks to Cham and Sword_Of_Geddon who brought this to my attention. As well as more interesting units and maybe a new palace or two.

    Cheers
    WR
     
  16. ohcrapitsnico

    ohcrapitsnico Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,267
    Finally its about time!!:lol: :lol:
    Seriously though these units are truly phenomenal.:goodjob:
    You somehow manage to make your units better every time.:)
    I already can't wait for the next patch.:p :whipped:
    Take as long as you want when working on these units, as long as you come out with these beauties I can wait.:twitch:

    Ona side note I really like that egyptian spearman.:D
     
  17. Willowmound

    Willowmound Wordbug

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    2,227
    Location:
    Afloat
    Yeeeeees! Weeee!
     
  18. GeoModder

    GeoModder Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,512
    * GeoModder delves into the world of EDU once more... :goodjob:
     
  19. GeoModder

    GeoModder Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,512
    Couldn't help notice you plan on putting different citysets in your mod. Well, I implemented both the oriental -and viking set already (see screenshots in the attachment), and if you want them I'm more then happy to sent the necessary files over.
    O yes, don't be surprised about the many "new" buildings in the Greco-Roman screenshot. I replaced a dozen or so vanilla buildings -and small wonders with the graphics available in some scenario's of Warlords and custom work from several modelers on the forum, as to have a more "native" feel for this cityset until the Industrial Era.


    O yes, is it supposed to be in EDU 2.6 that the "black" infantry only goes towards Zululand, and not to Mali? Also, according to the civipedia the new caravels aren't linked to any civ...
     
  20. Sword_Of_Geddon

    Sword_Of_Geddon Mysterious Jungle Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13,236
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New England, USA
    You should work with Rabbit Geo methinks.

    Anyway I have a question about Multiplayer, for some reason no games show up when I'm hosting or wanting to join a multiplayer game of EDU. I haven't the foggest why this is the case.
     

Share This Page