1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Europa Europa: European Empires Mod

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by ArbitraryGuy, Nov 30, 2005.

  1. Gunner

    Gunner Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    Goochland, VA
    It is here! The much fabled UU pack has arrived.

    You can get the download at: http://files.filefront.com/EE3_UU_Packzip/;4686185;;/fileinfo.html

    The credits for the graphics are:
    Hell's Angel- Welsh Longbow
    Jouda - Almogavar
    Bornaparte - Hussite Inf
    bhiita - Calatrava Knight, HRE Knight
    C. Roland - Frankish Knight, Berserker, Strzelcy, Frigate
    Krowtrobot - Cataphract
    Mumin - Szekely, Tatar, Grand Cannon, Curassier

    Only 16 of the 36 units have new graphics, the rest just have the old unit graphics. So if anyone would like to fill in some of the missing units it would be greatly appreciated ;)

    To install you simply replace the old XML and Art folders under the EE3 directory with the new ones in the file.
     
  2. dallas22tribe

    dallas22tribe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Hey Gunner,
    Thanks for the great work with the UU. This mod has been great, and is better now. One thing though. None of the UU requires any resources at all, so I could build any of the UU that replace say cavalry without horses. Don't know if you meant to do that, but otherwise it’s great, thanks.
     
  3. Gunner

    Gunner Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    Goochland, VA
    Yes, I removed the resource requirement on purpose. I don't like it when a civ misses out on being able to build their unit like that.
     
  4. Tunch Khan

    Tunch Khan King

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    805
    Location:
    Williamsburg, Brooklyn
    You can also use the Sipahi skin from the Turkish Mod in my signature. I believe it's good artwork.

     
  5. Gunner

    Gunner Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    Goochland, VA
  6. sapon

    sapon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    For some reason when I play Scotland all my melee units begin with the 10% strength promotion. Also, when I play as Denmark, all my cities have 2 culture before any improvements or culture is factored in. Anyone else experiencing this and if so know why or how to change it back to defaults?
     
  7. Good Sauce

    Good Sauce (TM)

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    personally i think that the resource requirement shouldn't be removed. It's important to balance and strategy, and also adds a demionsion to the game that is otherwise lacking (should i go to war/make a big trade to get my UU resourse) but you did the work so you make the choices =)
     
  8. sapon

    sapon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I agree, perhaps just include the needed resource within a reasonable distance from the civ? Part of the strategy is to target the resources necessary for military production. For example, playing as the Danes on Emperor level I have totally dominated Prussia and the HRE since I could start whipping out Uber Axmen almost immediately and had no issues with pillage reprisal.
     
  9. lamkadalajlama

    lamkadalajlama Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Maybe The European empires mod create on the world map and it be great colonialism Someone could create it?? because i dont know how PLEASE

    sorry for my English
     
  10. Gladi

    Gladi The ignored thread killer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,315
    Location:
    EU- Czechia, City of Hundred Spires
    Bright say
    True about player. But what about Computer?

    And your previous post. Maybe, ahem, civ traits?
     
  11. HolyOne

    HolyOne Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Debrecen, Hungary
    Nice work Gunner, thx! I see that you didn't put a skin for Huszár. Maybe you could check the one in Magyar civ here: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=143879
     
  12. Barak

    Barak Emperor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,514
    Location:
    Chicago
    Looking forward to starting a new game with the UUs!
     
  13. Gunner

    Gunner Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    Goochland, VA
    Haha, that would be what the civ traits do. Aggresive gives the 10% bonus and Creative the culture. :lol:

    @Holyone
    Oh thanks for that unit skin. You should post it in the unit forum so that its easier to find.


    About the resources, the reason I removed them was that I didn't want to have to modify the map for this since some of the countries don't have the resource for their unit nearby.
     
  14. woodelf

    woodelf Bard

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,036
    Location:
    Gallery
    Great work compiling it all Gunner. I'm looking forward to trying them out.
     
  15. Heav

    Heav Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    Slovakia - Bratislava
    I was continuing with my game, but I stoped that, because it was boring and easy:

    at the end of my story i had north Italy and coast of adrianatic sea, next I conquered papal, poland, bohemians,prussians,HRE and I have BIG army(I guess 200 riflemen+, 250 cavaleries+), missed only 3 colonial wonders, and BIG production in my base cities(central planing)-> 1 cavalry or 1 rifleman per turn in 10 cities, and i could conquer whole world but it was slow on my computer so I turn it off. I played on prince, whole game on the top of score(on end I had 4 000 and Louis XIV had only 1500).

    I am going to play with UUs.(probably as Venice-I still have problem with galley vs galley battles)

    One note: conquistador only 25% vs meele??
     
  16. Dux_

    Dux_ Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    259
    I have to agree with not removing the required res for the unique units, it takes away part of the strategy if you dont need certain res to build your unique units. Is there any simple way to add those requirements for those of us who are illiterate computerwise;)
     
  17. sapon

    sapon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Haha, wow I hadn't realized the civ traits give that kind of advantage. It makes it too easy! Next I'll have to try Immortal.
     
  18. Chairman Mao

    Chairman Mao Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    I play the extended version with my friend russia since I really can't handle being in smushed places. But ya what I usually do is that i pump out warriors and within 20 turns take in this order: Smolensk, Novgorod, Kursk, and finally Kiev. From there I i build 2-5 workers and build up my economy a little, then i found st. petersburg in more or less the historical place.

    Most games I'ld mass archers and take out lithuania before they even get a second city eliminating them once and for all, but this method eventually puts me head to head with the poles, and then usually i expand to the ukraine/crimia too quickly and generally i end up at 10% tech rate and fall dangerously behind, catching up only aroud the early industrial period but still with economic problems and with a more advance but smaller europe.

    However with my newest game with my friend Dano:

    I conquer the barbarian cities and revert to an economic build mode, consrtucting troops to make sure my cities are defended, ad workers to build cottages so my economy can grow, However I goto war with the Baltics twice in a row once o take Orel (historical place) and then to take Minsk giving me their only source of copper. And forcing them off to the sidelines but leaving me in dire economic difficulties.

    Whoring my tech out to the AI allowed me to stockpile larges surpluses of capitol inwhich I burned at a rate of -100 per turn a 100% research, reducing to a manageable 50% with feudal argriculture, and currency. and further whoring.

    However, eventually Poland founded cities in the ukraine and I went nuts, I DOWed them and sent some 6 axemen and 4 spearment and took 2 cities, and then peaced them and DOWed Hungary to take their city.

    Dano as turkey founded 2 cities in sebastopol, but I agreed to fund him tech if he agreed to peacefully hand them over to me at a later and convenient date. (he was having serious issues and agreed).

    Eventually he gave up and switched to france and the AI took over as turkey managing somewhat but forever lost in ignomity and france staying in second/third place.

    However, as russia probly because of my 5 city lead at the beginning I remained in first place a good 300-400 points beyond second place, I currently have before I had to go to bed:

    1st in population
    1st in land area
    1st in army size
    1st in crop yield
    1st in production
    3rd largest religion (orthodox)
    Technologically I've fallen behind the second and third place people but a light year ahead of those under 8th place and my economy is starting to revive again. 50-60% TECH rating.

    After I unified Russia all the way to the black sea and Dano became france I DOWed turkey and took those cities and got a huge war reparation off of turkey 200 gold. Then I DOWed Hungary and took Moldova and Odessa (Geographically) and from their converted to Orthodoxed. (I founded the religion but didnt switch from Islam until later)

    When I switched to Orthodoxed, Lithunia DOWed me and I was in trouble.

    I was in a horrible positon my latest military budget (a little rping doesnt hurt) had forced me to disband a large fraction of my armed forces and was left with little reserves.

    However luckily Lithuania had only a small offensive army considering their defence needs and the fact that the loss of Minsk centuries ago weakened them considerably and with 2 newly produced horse men mopped up thei 2 axemen invasion force. I bough the designs for siege weapons from Swedon and was about to engage in offensive operarion when Hungary upset that I became Orthodoxed DOWed me.

    I quickly peaced Lithaunia for I am not insane with only war reparations as my only gain and sent my main forces down into Hungary, the image can be foundhere: http://img457.imageshack.us/my.php?imageciv4pj.gif

    And I took that city after a long siege which only lasted long because I was waiting for 4 catapults to make sure i didnt lose a single man. I gained my only supply a stone then and a strategic location south of poland. Being an encredibly hilly area I plan to build a series of fort to defend my border.

    After that war, I realized that I was horribly ill prepared for a major war and began the production of long bowman replacements for my archers, at least 3-4 LBM per border city, 4 LBM if its a hostile nation, 2 per inner city and I plan to have a mobile reserve of 5 Horse Archers, and a offencive punch of 4 axemen and 6 swordsmen to be replaced my 8 Macemen when i finish Bereaucracy. I began building markets and courthouses in every city and forbiddon palace I will build in ukraine somewhere probly Dnipropetovs'k. (remember all cities are in their closest geographical locations)

    I'm also building forges and will switch to full war production in prepation for offencive action vs Lithuania once my economy has grown abit.

    So overal, I'm in first place in miltiary might, population, production, crop yield. However I'm slowly falling behind techwise, at 50% I'm still losing money and tech whoring can only go so far.

    Also I am hardly diplomatic, my wars and then my conversion has heavily affected my foreign relations, Venice keeps "changing gov'ts" so to speaks, one turn requesting open borders and then the next cancelling them. And then reopening them later ;). Orthodox is spreading like wild fire but not enough for any of the other nations to convert, so Im the only Orthodoxed nation and very few nations like me :(. If 3 nations (Poland, Lithuania AND anyone other third would be good examples) all DOWed me all at once I doubt I could fend them all once for long, I may be able to knock Lithuania out quickly, and hold off say Hungary since they're weak, but fresh nations with few wars like Poland or Bohemia (Thankfully their friendly with me) would have large field armis that would be hard to deal with, the overal strain would in the end attrition my forces and spread myself thin.

    But then again, f I defend everything I defend nothing? *shrug* Tonight I'm playing again and I'll give an update asap. BTW once an admin helps my I'll be posting as "Tsar Bradensky" this is just temp.
     
  19. bcr1776

    bcr1776 Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    184

    Ok, what's with the moving red dots? My Frankish Knights look like bloodymobile man-hole covers!
     
  20. Gunner

    Gunner Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    Goochland, VA
    Umm, could you please be a little bit more descriptive? What exactly is your problem. Frankish Knights look fine on my computer.
     

Share This Page