1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Exports, Piracy and Trade

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Creation & Customization' started by Oni Ryuu, Feb 10, 2017.

  1. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Exports, Piracy and Trade

    Spoiler Common Processes :
    Restricted Resource
    Add a resource to your mod that doesn’t appear in any terrain type.

    Player-only Building
    Set all civilisations to ‘never build’ Culture.
    Any culture enhancing building that you want the AI to produce must improve happiness by a minimum of 1.
    Player-only buildings must have only Culture (1 point minimum) and the ability to auto-produce the desired unit.

    Tradable Unit
    Create a unit with the desired name and blank stats.
    Make the unit available to all civilisations.
    Give it the Load command.
    Set its weight class (Foot, Tactical Nuke etc.)
    Make it require the restricted resource

    Flag Unit
    Create a none-disbandable unit and mark it as a Flag Unit in Unit Abilities: and AI Strategies.
    Make your Flag unit(s) require a Restricted Resource.
    Set the gold value of the unit in Scenario Properties>Victory Point Limits>Gold for Capture.
    All flag units in the same game will yield the same value in gold.

    Export Merchandise

    Description
    Players produce a variety of merchandise of different values and production costs. The products are useless to the producing player but valuable to everyone else forcing you to export them to a treading partner. The increasing production and transport of these products will cause your swollen merchant fleet to travel on predictable trade routes stressing the need for an effective navy.
    Spoiler :
    Implementation
    Enable Auto Place Victory Locations, Victory Point Scoring and Capture the Unit in Scenario Properties>Scenario.
    Remove the population cost’s from all other units (Only ‘Product’ units can have a population cost. No other units can have a population cost including workers and settlers.
    Add a Flag unit and set its value in Scenario Properties>Victory Point Limits>Gold for Capture. (The Flag unit’s reward in gold is the international denomination for trade. The value of a product is its population cost multiplied by the value of the Flag unit.)
    Set the Standard Slave unit to the Flag unit.
    Add a tradable unit and set its population cost
    Set its weight class (Foot, Tactical Nuke etc.)
    Create a player-only Building
    Make the building auto-produce the desired product and set the production rate
    Set the maintenance cost.

    In-game Instructions
    Products must be taken to a rival player by whatever means you have.
    The recipient player can take possession of the products by attacking them with a nationless unit. The products then transform into flag units. The flag units can be captured and taken to the capital to convert them into cash.
    Gold Mining

    Description
    Gold shipments are a way of generating greater profit from gold resources and encouraging players to transport gold from across their nation to their capitals. A Flag unit is generated at regular intervals from a Player-only Building.
    Spoiler :
    Implementation
    You will need to enable Auto Place Victory Locations, Victory Point Scoring, Capture the Unit and Allow Anyone to Capture Any Flag in Scenario Properties>Scenario.
    Change the Gold in Natural Resources to a Strategic Resource.
    Create a Flag unit.
    Add a Player-only Building to Improvements and Wonders.
    Enable Required Goods Must Be within City Radius and select the Gold resource.
    Select the Gold unit in Units Produced and set how often you want the building to produce the gold unit in Frequency.
    Set the maintenance of the building to less than the flag units’ worth divided by the production frequency.

    In-game Instructions
    The flag units can be captured and taken to your capital to convert them into cash.
    Plundering Ships

    Description
    Plunder units are the spoils of war at sea. This unit must make its way to your capital by whatever means will allow it. If successful, a set figure of gold will be added to your treasury and the combat unit will return to normal.
    Spoiler :
    Implementation
    You will need to enable Auto Place Victory Locations, Victory Point Scoring and Capture the Unit in Scenario Properties>Scenario.
    Set the gold value of the Flag unit in Scenario Properties>Victory Point Limits>Gold for Capture.
    Adapt one of your Flag units to naval stats.
    Give all desired naval units the Enslave ability in Special Actions and select the "plunder unit" in Enslave Results In.

    In-game Instructions
    The flag units can be captured and taken to your capital to convert them into cash.
    Tradable Goods

    Description
    This is a way of transferring, storing or trading units of production with the function of reducing the production requirement of a building or unit by a set figure. Several of these units can be added to the game, each with different values. These units need to be transported to the desired city to be disbanded to yield the production bonus.
    Spoiler :
    Implementation
    Create a unit and remove its Go To button and give it the Disband and Load abilities.
    Give the unit a shield cost 4 times higher than the one you intend it to provide.
    Add a Player-only Building to Improvements and Wonders.
    Select the Goods unit in Units Produced and set how often you want the building to produce the Goods unit in Frequency.
    Finally, set the maintenance cost of the building to less than 1/4 of the Good units’ worth in gold divided by the production frequency.

    In-game Instructions
    The Goods unit can be unloaded onto an ally’s beach, transported by land or shipped directly between two owned ports.
    If you’re sending the goods to an ally, the recipient player can take possession of the units by attacking them with a nationless unit.
    Take the unit to the desired city then simply disband it to receive the production bonus.
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2018
  2. Takhisis

    Takhisis april's fool

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    46,621
    Location:
    up yours!
    Hmmm, this will come in handy for bringing the Pirates, yarrr! up to date.
     
  3. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,099
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    Thanks for posting this. Clear, concise, and thorough. Three qualities a summary/tutorial should have, and you got them all.
     
  4. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    I’m just glad I can start contributing now.
     
  5. Lanzelot

    Lanzelot Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,706
    Location:
    Heidelberg
    Interesting stuff indeed! :thumbsup: Especially the "plunder" would be perfect for the Pirates scenario. I have a couple of follow-up questions on that mechanism:

    1. The plunder unit is created via "enslavement". Is it possible to modify the probability for enslavement, or is it hard-coded to 1/3? (I didn't see anything in the editor.)
    2. If a ship that has the "enslavement" capability, wins a sea battle, there will always be the chance of a plunder unit being created, independent of the type of enemy unit that was defeated, right? That would not be so optimal for us: we plan to have "warships" (which don't transport gold treasures) and "treasure ships" (transport ships that carry gold from the Spanish Main back to Europe). If a warship gets defeated, it should optimally not result in a plunder unit. Only if a treasure ship gets defeated, it should turn into a plunder ("treasure"). And even better: only a loaded treasure ship should turn into plunder, not an empty one... But I guess that would be asking for too much... :mischief:
    3. This one is not related to enslavement, but rather to flag units in general. Does anyone know what will happen to a flag unit which is currently loaded in a transport ship, if that transport ship gets sunk/destroyed in combat? Will the flag unit survive and remain on that sea tile to be picked up again, or will it go down with the ship? I know that, if a flag unit is "captured" by a land unit and that land unit later gets killed in combat, the flag unit survives and can be picked up by the victor. Would be nice, if something like that is also possible with sea battles.
     
  6. Lanzelot

    Lanzelot Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,706
    Location:
    Heidelberg
    Do you mean that these "goods" can be traded via the F4 screen (like workers)? How is this possible? I didn't see anything special in the settings of the worker unit, so I always assumed the "tradebility" of workers was hard-coded in the exe?!
     
  7. Takhisis

    Takhisis april's fool

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    46,621
    Location:
    up yours!
    The second unit in the units list in the .biq file is the tradeable one, IIRC. Stupid hardcoding, yes, but that's how it works.
     
  8. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    1. I don’t know any way change the ratio.
    2. Ideally I would swap ‘plunder’ for a way to capture the ship. It’s the best I can do with what’s available. The enslave attribute only applies to the enslaver. The enemy unit has nothing to do with the result from enslave. The only way you can replace like for like is by attacking a land unit that has no combat stats.
    3. Good question, I don’t have an answer.
    4. Goods, plunder and gold are marked as ‘hidden nationality’ so can be exchanged without war. I’ve never traded workers before.
    5. I don’t know what you’re talking about. Where can I find out more about this IIRC code?

    The plunder unit is a mobile naval unit marked as a flag unit with hit points and a defence value. It sails to port and is treated on land as though it was an immobile land flag unit. If you capture it (pick it up) with a land unit, that land unit can still enter transports and displays no abnormal behaviour. It works, I can’t tell you how. I don’t know much about coding but I know a lot about trial and error.
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2017
  9. Takhisis

    Takhisis april's fool

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    46,621
    Location:
    up yours!
    Hmmmm. Off the top of my head, to trade a unit 1) you need it to be in your capital; 2) it has to be the second unit in the list of units in the .biq IIRC (I don't remember which thread it was) and 3) I'm not sure you can trade sea units -there's no harm in trying, after all, eventually it was found that you can preplace roads on sea tiles to extract strategic resources and you can also preplace cities on sea tiles.
     
  10. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    The new units are supposed to be captured like artillery in vanilla civ. The Gold and Plunder units are working well but I’ve now got a problem with goods and artillery. The artillery is being destroyed instead of being captured and goods aren’t changing nations (which are also supposed to be captured).

    I’ll try to include more information when I’ve got a solution.
     
  11. Nathiri

    Nathiri Commander

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Messages:
    708
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Georgia, US
    Isnt the captured unit the one that is tradeable (General Settings tab)?
     
  12. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    If it has no attack or defence value, is a land unit and doesn’t cost a citizen; the unit should be transferable (captured).
     
  13. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    To answer an earlier question; Goods, Plunder and Gold will go down with a sinking ship.

    I’m still having a problem with the goods units. If their nationless (needed to be tradable) they allow you to occupy the same tile. If they have a nation they are destroyed when you enter the tile.
     
  14. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    The goods need to have a nation but they can be captured with nationless units. So the recipient needs a nationless unit to initiate the handover. Goods units need to be set to accessible by all nations. You can then remove them from the build menu by making them need an un-acquirable resource. An un-acquirable resource is done by having a strategic resource that doesn’t have a terrain type to generate on. I used the same un-acquirable resource that I used to remove railroad.
     
  15. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    It turns out that you can immobilise a plunder unit, it’ll just need to be collected with an offensive land unit from within a naval transport.
     
  16. r16

    r16 not deity

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,348
    a good example should be the Twilight of Byzantium scenario where the Genoans and Venetians have treasure producing buildings in many Aegean islands . There will be a convoy , you attack them and sink the escorts one way or the other . The final ship will be the loaded one . Let's say it has 2 "Red" units , laden with treasure and one normal units . When you capture that ship you gain all 3 units and the ship , all one level below veteran status . If veterans have 4 bars at full health , the ship and land units will join you with 3 bars . Send the 2 reds to the capital for the monetary gain and they are all ready to fight . Playing Ottomans , ı generally have no need to build ships , capturing them from the AI , and ı particularly prize the Venetian galleys or whatever . Being strong on their own , they tend to gain even more ships for me .
     
  17. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Hi r16
    How do you capture an enemy ship especially with its contents? If it has health points it’s not transferable.
    I’m going to look into Twilight of Byzantium to see what you’re talking about. I’m hoping you’ve got some modding tricks to show me.
     
  18. r16

    r16 not deity

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,348
    to capture a ship at sea , barring new developments , it has to be loaded with a treasure unit by a different player or the AI . ı believe this is the "flag" mentioned by other posters . When you defeat it in ordinary ship to ship combat , instead of sinking, it and everything inside becomes yours . Can't say what would happen if there was a King unit , or leader was onboard .


    was always a player , just barely attempting to mod . Actually was planning to use this concept widely to allow more units available to a given player . Like the Age of Conquest scenario that arrives with the Conquest , where you have to regularly send treasures to mainland . Say , you are playing the Dutch and capture a Spanish ship with Conquistadors on board . Units that you can't normally build , but still use as your own .
     
  19. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Thanks for the info. I’ll get some tests done.
     
  20. Virote_Considon

    Virote_Considon The Great Dictator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    9,335
    Location:
    Skaville UK Reputation: 1
    Nathiri is right - it is the Captured Unit which is tradeable, not the second unit in the list.


    The problem here is that Hidden Nationality stops you from being able to capture them unless they're controlled by the Barbarian faction - your units will simply pass over them if they have 0 DEF.

    What you want to do is make it so that they require a resource which is unavailable in the game, and make them available to all civs.

    You won't be able to trade them in peacetime, but they can at least be captured.
     

Share This Page