1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

F-4U Corsair [WWII Era Unit]

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Unit Graphics' started by FourtyTwo, May 25, 2008.

  1. FourtyTwo

    FourtyTwo Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Soviet Canuckastan
    This is my WWII corsair, made with blender. This unit has 643 triangles and 1275 verticies. I've also made the texture brighter for you guys. Enjoy. ;)







    Database Download.

    Alternate Download.
     
  2. Thomas SG

    Thomas SG CCV-designer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,164
    Location:
    Germany
    Nice, but very dark. :mischief:
     
  3. Xenomorph

    Xenomorph King

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Agreed. Aside from that (an easy fix), it's a great model. :)
     
  4. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,102
    Location:
    In orbit
    :agree:

    Nice plane, neat shape.;)
     
  5. The_Coyote

    The_Coyote Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Location:
    Europe
    first hello, second, nice plane, :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • pic.JPG
      pic.JPG
      File size:
      72.1 KB
      Views:
      97
  6. FourtyTwo

    FourtyTwo Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Soviet Canuckastan
    Hey thanks man, is that program nifscope?

    Thanks for the postive feedback guys :) I'll try to make the skin brighter, I just started using blender, and models turn out a lot darker than in 3dsmax. Hopefully some tinkering will fix it.
     
  7. The_Coyote

    The_Coyote Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Location:
    Europe
    no, the pic was from nifviewer (= sceneviewer, included in the maxtools, but works as standalone, but if you select the mesh you can get the information also in Nifscope [block details]). You can also alter the brightness of the texture in Nifscope, if you change the the settings under material properties.
     
  8. mohalen

    mohalen Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    CA
    how i can install this into the game.

    i have not done this ever and i really like the work you have done.

    Thank you
     
  9. FourtyTwo

    FourtyTwo Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Soviet Canuckastan
    mohalen, there a few different ways to put this ingame. If you wish to create a brand new unit, you will have to search for a tutorial on the forums, but if you wish to replace the default fighter model with the corsair follow these instructions:

    1. Go to your Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Mods folder on your hard drive.

    2. In the Mods folder create a new folder, give it a name, for example NewUnit

    3. In your newly created folder create a folder named Assets

    4. In the newly created Assets folder make a folder named Art

    5. In the newly created Art folder make a folder called Units

    6. In Units create a folder called Corsair

    7. Copy the contents of Corsair.rar to the newly created Corsair folder

    8. Go back to the Assets folder and create a folder named XML

    9. In XML create a folder called Art

    10. Go into your games Beyond the Sword/Assets/XML/Art folder and copy the file named CIV4ArtDefines_Unit.xml to your NewUnit/Assets/XML/Art folder

    11. Open up the newly coppied CIV4ArtDefines_Unit.xml (you may need to find an xml editor)

    12. Search the file until you find a block that looks like this.

    13. Change Art/Units/Fighter/Fighter.nif to Art/Units/Corsair/Corsair.nif

    14. Change Art/Units/Fighter/Fighter_FX.nif to Art/Units/Corsair/Corsair.nif

    15. Save the xml file.

    16. Load up Beyond the Sword.

    17. Load the NewUnit mod.

    18. Once the mod is loaded, I would recomend going to the civilopedia and checking the fighter entry to see if the corsair shows up sucsessfully. If it does your ready to play. :)

    *NOTE* If you can't follow these instructions see the Tutorial section of the forum, it has some good threads telling you how to do this stuff.
     

Share This Page