Fall Further 051 Bug Report Thread

Discussion in 'Fall Further' started by xienwolf, Jul 19, 2009.

  1. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Could you highlight the parts you changed, somehow? Not familiar with it, and I don't have it in front of me at the moment.
     
  2. stupidnewbie

    stupidnewbie Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Italics added to the bits I changed.
     
  3. lordofthegrave

    lordofthegrave Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    I have downloaded fall further v 051, but every time i attempt to start up the program, it always crashes, saying that civ4 has stopped working. I have reinstalled Fall further completely but there is still no change. Assistance would be much appreciated
     
  4. stupidnewbie

    stupidnewbie Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    This isn't in the OP anymore (?), but gear lying around in cities still gets deleted when that city is captured. For instance, say there's a champion carrying a staff of fire affinity as the sole defender. He is destroyed, the staff drops, and the city is captured and the staff is deleted, in that order.
     
  5. SrgtWilco

    SrgtWilco Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Not necessarily a bug in the game per se, but the download link for the mod on this site doesn't seem to be working. Can anybody provide a working download of 051 and patch C?
     
  6. stupidnewbie

    stupidnewbie Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    248
  7. SrgtWilco

    SrgtWilco Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Okay, now I get it - I was trying to download the files from the Mac partition of my computer, which for whatever reason didn't sit well with the site. Works fine on Windows; thanks for the information.
     
  8. Chusquero

    Chusquero Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Málaga (Spain)
    Ok, here is an issue quite annoying:

    The workers don't leave the "mana nodes" that my adepts build... every few turns I have to rebuild the nodes and few turns later the f***ing nodes are not there. The workers do mines, villages, etc.

    I am not sure if the workers are supposed to do that, I think yes.

    A quite good solution is programming something like an "unworking tile" where any node is placed.
     
  9. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Workers leave old improvements. toggle that setting on. in options
     
  10. Krschtschn

    Krschtschn Ananassafttrinker

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Germany
    I recently played my first game as Scion and i was hit by a bugged blight. One of my cities (Heri) got unhealty from blight, while the AC was at 2. All the other cities didn't have that problem. The save is attached if you want to have a look.

    (I am running FF051c, on a large ErebusContinent map. Difficulty is Monarch, Epic Speed)

    Spoiler :
     
  11. Wolfes

    Wolfes Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Sorsele
    any one who can explain why fall further and ff+ always crash then i try to start a archipilago map.
    i have the latest patches. Fall from heaven don´t chrash when i try to start an archipilago map.
     
  12. Brokenbone

    Brokenbone Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    405
    Potential bug in need of more testing (which I'll do at some near term point):

    Decius the Conqueror ends up with a Clan city, builds a Warrens. I decide to build a Champion. The first one's an Undisciplined Orc Champ, the second is a "normal" Human Champ. It is possible that the Undisciplined promo expired "just that fast", which is why I'll test again, but the racial thing was definitely strange. Should've been two Orcs.
     
  13. stupidnewbie

    stupidnewbie Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    The alcinus respawn code does a check to see if alcinus will respawn for the scions, and if it makes that check, it then spawns an alcinus for every scion player in the game. If there is more than one scion player, it gets out of hand pretty quickly.

    The problem is in three places in cvspellinterface.py:

    Spoiler :
    Code:
    def MIT2(caster):
    	if CyGame().GetWorldBuilderMode():
    		return 0
    	bContinue = True
    	gc.getGame().decrementUnitClassCreatedCount(caster.getUnitClassType())
    	gc.getGame().decrementUnitClassCreatedCount(caster.getUnitClassType())
    	if CyGame().getSorenRandNum(100, "Alcinus death defection Check") <= 25 or (caster.isHasPromotion(gc.getInfoTypeForString('PROMOTION_ALCINUS_HOSTILE')) == True):
    [b]		for iPlayer in range(gc.getMAX_CIV_PLAYERS()):
    			pPlayer = gc.getPlayer(iPlayer)
    			if (pPlayer.isAlive()):
    				if pPlayer.getCivilizationType() == gc.getInfoTypeForString('CIVILIZATION_SCIONS'):[/b]
    					pCity = pPlayer.getCapitalCity()
    					newUnit = pPlayer.initUnit(gc.getInfoTypeForString('UNIT_ALCINUS_UPGRADED'), pCity.getX(), pCity.getY(), UnitAITypes.NO_UNITAI, DirectionTypes.DIRECTION_SOUTH)
    					caster.setDamage(95, -1)
    					newUnit.convert(caster)
    					bContinue = False


    The easy fix is to simply copy+paste the code below it, and add an if condition:

    Spoiler :
    Code:
    def MIT2(caster):
    	if CyGame().GetWorldBuilderMode():
    		return 0
    	bContinue = True
    	gc.getGame().decrementUnitClassCreatedCount(caster.getUnitClassType())
    	gc.getGame().decrementUnitClassCreatedCount(caster.getUnitClassType())
    	if CyGame().getSorenRandNum(100, "Alcinus death defection Check") <= 25 or (caster.isHasPromotion(gc.getInfoTypeForString('PROMOTION_ALCINUS_HOSTILE')) == True):
    		listPlayers = []
    		for iPlayer in range(gc.getMAX_CIV_PLAYERS()):
    			pPlayer = gc.getPlayer(iPlayer)
    			if (pPlayer.isAlive()):
    				if pPlayer.getCivilizationType() == gc.getInfoTypeForString('CIVILIZATION_SCIONS'):
    					listPlayers.append(pPlayer)
    		iGift = CyGame().getSorenRandNum(len(listPlayers) * 1, "Alcinus death Gift")
    		pCity = listPlayers[iGift].getCapitalCity()
    		pPlayer = listPlayers[iGift]
    		newUnit = pPlayer.initUnit(gc.getInfoTypeForString('UNIT_ALCINUS_UPGRADED'), pCity.getX(), pCity.getY(), UnitAITypes.NO_UNITAI, DirectionTypes.DIRECTION_SOUTH)
    		caster.setDamage(90, -1)
    		newUnit.convert(caster)			
    		bContinue = False
     
  14. xienwolf

    xienwolf Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    10,589
    Location:
    Location! Location!
    Warrens code doesn't account for assimilation, so certainly a bug. I don't know why it is written to try and spawn a second unit using the same rules as a normal "I just built it" unit, instead of just flat out copy of the unit which was created. Maybe it is a timing thing and the new unit doesn't have all of the data finalized just yet when the warrens tries to fire off.

    Amusing catch on Alcinus :)
     
  15. Brokenbone

    Brokenbone Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    405
    I tested out the Warrens thing a tiny bit (within my negligible abilities), and the Unreliable business was just a fluke, it must've instantly expired on the human Champ I got. Later I built a pair of archers, the first was Orcish with the unreliable promo, the second was Human, and instantly went barbarian, standing around outside my city.

    Later I also built pairs of gretchins, which maybe as a UU, kept their goblin race. That is, the second didn't happen to be human with gretchin graphics. Both were also unreliable... well, except as punching bags / fishing lures.
     
  16. xienwolf

    xienwolf Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    10,589
    Location:
    Location! Location!
    I'd imagine that either unreliable has a chance to expire, even immediately, or that it is MustMaintain, with a prereq of Orc. Thus the second unit, which is generated based on the PLAYER instead of the CITY, hasn't got the right race and the promo slips off.
     
  17. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Unreliable has a small chance to expire per turn.
     
  18. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    It also is automatically removed if a unit lives long enought to reach lv4.

    It's not mustmaintain at all. It's auto applied to units on creation by the warrens, and going barbarian is one of the possible effects.
     
  19. xienwolf

    xienwolf Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    10,589
    Location:
    Location! Location!
  20. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    the python doesn't take non orcish units into account, is why. it creates the second unit via python, the same unit type as the first, and applies citybonuses to it. it does NOT copy the first unit. units created in that manner don't inherit their civ's racial promotion, it seems.
     

Share This Page