Fall Further 051 Bug Report Thread

Discussion in 'Fall Further' started by xienwolf, Jul 19, 2009.

  1. Shakiko

    Shakiko Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    I am aware that we got the feature back that allows to build stuff w/o the techs at a much slower speed. :p


    So I got the corresponding techs which should allow normal building times.
    But my workers are building improvements at improved/normal building speed just on non-forrested terrain, not in forests/Ancient forests.

    E.g.:
    Building times for a Workshop for a freshly built worker (80% workrate)
    Non-forest-Tile 8 turns
    Forest tile 19 turns
    Ancient Forest tile 22 turns

    Cottage:
    Non-forst tile: 5 turns
    Forest tile 14 turns
    AF: 33 turns
     
  2. stupidnewbie

    stupidnewbie Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    It has always been like that. The reason is that the game adds the cost of removing the forest to the cost of improving the tile, even though it is never actually removed.

    Imho, the elven racial should probably give +50% work rate in forests and +100% work rate in ancient forests. Otherwise, they end up needing three times as many workers as anyone else, except for maybe the mazatl and cuali.
     
  3. Monkeyfinger

    Monkeyfinger Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,002
    The difference between his cottage build times is 9, while for workshops it's 11. If it were simply adding the chop time the differences would be the same. There's clearly some sort of multiplier in FF.

    In FfH it works as you say, though.
     
  4. Monkeyfinger

    Monkeyfinger Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,002
    Another repeatable CTD. Not the same as the scions one because this one actually gives me a message (and the scions aren't even in this game)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Justicar333

    Justicar333 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Richmond, Ky
    Moved to bug thread as suggested with history from the other thread. And here is that save file below. =)
     
  6. stupidnewbie

    stupidnewbie Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Your CTD is the dwarven smithy bad art tag I mentioned earlier in this thread. Open up this file:

    Fall Further 051\Assets\XML\Buildings\Civ4BuildingInfos.xml

    Ctrl-f to this line:

    <Type>BUILDING_DWARVEN_SMITHY</Type>

    Change the ArtDefineTag line to this:

    <ArtDefineTag>ART_DEF_BUILDING_FORGE</ArtDefineTag>

    And resume play.

    While you're at it, do the same thing for BUILDING_ADULARIA_CHAMBER.

    Edit: You're experiencing the same thing, Justicar333.
    Edit2: I will now throw this zip file at you, which contains the fixes for the art tag and haunted lands CTDs. Extract it to the "Fall Further 51" folder.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Machiosabre

    Machiosabre Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    the Nullgolems 100% magicresistance trait dealy has a TXT_ thingy at the bottom.
     
  8. stupidnewbie

    stupidnewbie Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    I just looked at it in the worldbuilder. Without prereq techs, everything follows the standard base + chop time formula. With the prereq techs, everything goes horribly wrong. Everything takes longer to build in a forest than it would to chop+build, and build times in ancient forests are astronomically higher than that.

    The worst case I saw was trying to build a mine in an ancient forest. Without the mining tech, it takes 33 turns. WITH the mining tech, it takes... 33 turns.

    The one exception: farms in ancient forests. Those are pretty okay.
     
  9. Skitters

    Skitters Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    517
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Exploring a lair, unit got itself trapped - but was able to release itself
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Iceciro

    Iceciro Special Ability: Decimate

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,944
    Location:
    in ur empire, takin ur cities
    IIRC this is a known issue by the Fall Farther team with the incremental tech buffs. A work-around for things that aren't lumbermills, by non-elf civs, is to do the chopping and building as seperate actions.

    Does really put the elves/FoL civs in a tough spot doesn't it?
     
  11. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    This is a known issue we've been discussing internally. It's undoubtedly a bug, build times aren't properly discounted when building in Ancient forests

    Xienwolf is looking into it
     
  12. vivictius

    vivictius Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    425

    No, over there would be the rest of the khazad, Hippus, Luchuirp, Malakim, and the good lizards from FF.
     
  13. xienwolf

    xienwolf Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    10,589
    Location:
    Location! Location!
    Hadn't connected the two yet, but it is a potential explanation. Not sure just how it is hitting in such a strange way as yet though.

    It sounds like you did some pretty good testing, so just to save myself repeating what you already may have done, did the chest ever NOT get pushed out/deleted? Normal (Non-WB) chests will ALWAYS belong to the Barbarian Orcs, but I hide a lot of data so that you cannot actually tell that fact. The original owner is not known anymore once the chest is created, this is how it solves the scorelist retaining people for a turn or 2 after they are wiped out (due to having dropped equipment and that acting as a unit which belongs to them)

    Thanks for catching that for them :) I hadn't thought to test out the recent art fixes and see if it automatically solved things for us :)

    As Warkirby says, this one was actually caught by Tarquelne before 051 released, but I was in the middle of other bugs at the time and forgot about it. Sorry. I'll try to figure out precisely what/where things are going wrong.

    For clarification, you were trying this inside your own borders, right? It is the technologies known by the owner of the TILE which discount your build times, not technologies known by the owner of the UNIT. So in a teammate's land, or unowned land, times are different than in your own. Though most things can only be built in your own land, so it isn't likely this was the cause of your results.

    Quite possibly this is the Adularia Chamber issue mentioned above by stupidnewbie
     
  14. Barak

    Barak Emperor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,516
    Location:
    Chicago
    Playing as the Chislev, there is an no button for Dancing Bear. I just get the pink button in its place.
     
  15. rocklikeafool

    rocklikeafool Warmaster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,416
    Location:
    Wherever there's Tequila...
    This is true no matter what civ you play. It's an art issue. I believe Xienwolf (or maybe someone else, not totally sure who'll do it) is going to fix that. Expect all art issues to fixed in the upcoming Patch A. Don't know when it'll be here. The FF team is prolly working on currently known bugs and might be waiting to see if any more bugs become known.

    Any input, FF modder team? Any release date on that Patch? ;) You can tell us; we won't blab to the whole world. :lol:
     
  16. Breez

    Breez King

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    924
    I completely agree
     
  17. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I've fixed all the art issues reported so far, except the amurite archer. I'm not exactly sure what's wrong with that, but it's taking a lot of work to fix since I basically have to disassemble the nif, and re-rig it to make it functional.

    Xien and tarq have done a few crash fixes, and the aim seems to be a non-save-breaking patch, of purely bugfixes. Not certain when we'll release, but shouldn't be long
     
  18. Shakiko

    Shakiko Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Yes, at least my numbers all were taken in my owned tiles (even >95% of Svartalfar population)
     
  19. Barak

    Barak Emperor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,516
    Location:
    Chicago
    Not a bug per say, but a concept question.

    Why are the Chislev unable to build libraries, but still show the Great Library greyed out in the build list?
     
  20. xienwolf

    xienwolf Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    10,589
    Location:
    Location! Location!

Share This Page