1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

[Fantasy] Kraken

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Unit Graphics' started by Chalid, May 19, 2006.

  1. Chalid

    Chalid Black Dragon

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,742
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    Finally i found the time to also release the Kraken. It comes without sound effect, but it has some sound triggers defined (they are listed in kraken.csv).

    I use it with the following Art definition:
    Spoiler Kraken Art definition :
    Code:
    			<fScale>0.8</fScale>
    			<fInterfaceScale>0.5</fInterfaceScale>
    			<NIF>Art/Units/krake/krake.nif</NIF>
    			<KFM>Art/Units/krake/krake.kfm</KFM>
    			<SHADERNIF>Art/Units/krake/krake.nif</SHADERNIF>
    			<ShadowDef>
    				<ShadowNIF>Art/Units/01_UnitShadows/FrigateShadow.nif</ShadowNIF>
    				<ShadowAttachNode>BIP Pelvis</ShadowAttachNode>
    				<fShadowScale>1.0</fShadowScale>
    			</ShadowDef>
    			<iDamageStates>0</iDamageStates>
    			<TrailDefinition>
    				<Texture>Art/Shared/water_ship_wake.dds</Texture>
    				<fWidth>2</fWidth>
    				<fLength>180.0</fLength>
    				<fTaper>1</fTaper>
    				<fFadeStartTime>.2</fFadeStartTime>
    				<fFadeFalloff>0.35</fFadeFalloff>
    			</TrailDefinition>
    			<fBattleDistance>0.40</fBattleDistance>
    			<fRangedDeathTime>0.31</fRangedDeathTime>
    			<bSmoothMove>1</bSmoothMove>
    			<bActAsRanged>0</bActAsRanged>
    			<TrainSound>AS2D_UNIT_BUILD_UNIT</TrainSound>
    			<AudioRunSounds>
    				<AudioRunTypeLoop/>
    				<AudioRunTypeEnd/>
    			</AudioRunSounds>
    			<SelectionSound>AS3D_UN_OCEAN_END1</SelectionSound>
    			<ActionSound>AS3D_UN_OCEAN_END1</ActionSound>


    Have fun!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Chamaedrys

    Chamaedrys Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,267
    Location:
    Germany
    Cool! I will use the Kraken as an aminal sea unit:goodjob:
     
  3. zeysoft

    zeysoft Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Llagostera (Catalonia)
    Good job Chalid :goodjob:
     
  4. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    amazing :goodjob:
     
  5. It looks awesome :thumbsup: just wish the screenshot was bigger
     
  6. woodelf

    woodelf Bard

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,036
    Location:
    Gallery
    Very nice Chalid. What sort of sounds do you need for it?
     
  7. Padmewan

    Padmewan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Planet
    Very, very cool. With some reskinning, it would make a classic alien, too... :)
     
  8. RogerBacon

    RogerBacon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    649
    I think I will make it a cheap Barbarian-only unit so the AI will spam the seas with them and make naval travel more dangerous.

    Roger Bacon
     
  9. Spartan117

    Spartan117 Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Chicago
    yea barb sea animals would be pretty cool..what would its strength be?
     
  10. Dual

    Dual Gun Mage

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    The Gateway to the West
  11. Los Tirano

    Los Tirano God-King

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    Driving my enemies before me.
    Ack! Thats a beastie if i ever saw one.

    @Roger Bacon. i like your idea, its kind of nasty. If they take over the seas entirely that will be a laugh.
     
  12. Rhymes

    Rhymes Drive 4 25 is back

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,076
    Location:
    Montreal, quebec Nuts: 2
    Nice job, I,de like to see it in game!
     
  13. Goblin Fanatic

    Goblin Fanatic Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Beautiful, as long as you can call a huge scary octopus beautiful.
    Anyway, very well done. The moment my computer is upgraded and i'll be finally running civ4 with decent graphics, i'd gladly look how it's moving.
     
  14. NT_Jedi

    NT_Jedi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    How can this be added as a random barbarian which can appear in the deep ocean ? Also I would like this be something which is rare... thus only like 2 appearing during a game.
     
  15. Chalid

    Chalid Black Dragon

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,742
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    Ill write a sample code for what you want tomorrow. Im not sure through if my idea to limit it to two per game works.
     
  16. NT_Jedi

    NT_Jedi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    If the Kraken can rarely appear to match the tales heard during earlier parts of history that would awesome.

    Double Thank-You !
     
  17. Kael

    Kael Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,400
    Location:
    Ohio
    That should all be possible with XML. The Kraken will need to be flagged as bAnimal and have TerrainNatives set to Ocean. Make sure the cost is -1 so it isn't buildable. In the unit class definition you will want to limit the maximum world instances to 2.
     
  18. TheLopez

    TheLopez Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,525
    Location:
    Oregon
    Dammit Kael you beat me to the answer... *mental note: get rid of ADD to answer posts faster without being distracted*

    EDIT: Very cool unit Chalid

    EDIT2: for got to add this. Here is the link to the wiki entry: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kraken

    EDIT3: Ok, I hope you don't mind Chalid but I made a button for the Kraken here it is:


    Here is the zip for the DDS, photoshop file and jpg:
    http://www.aracnet.com/~opus/Civiv/Kraken.zip
     
  19. TheLopez

    TheLopez Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,525
    Location:
    Oregon
    Roger and Kael, its not so easy, I tried doing this but it didn't work. After looking into the SDK code I found out that ocean domain specific animals cannot be generated as barbarians. I am working on rectifying this issue right now :D. I just wanted to let you know so you wouldn't wrack your brain trying to figure out why the game wasn't generating the kraken unit as a barbarian unit.

    I should have some SDK code hacked up within the next few hours to rectify the situation.
     
  20. TheLopez to the rescue! :D
     

Share This Page