1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Favorite Religion

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Fall from Heaven' started by ADP101, Mar 13, 2008.

1. ADP101

ADP101 Warlord

Hi, im fairly new to this mod and im just wondering, what do u guys like in these religions, i know each one is different and creates different units, and also effect the timer. (also im wondering about the counsel of Esus and the Empyrean religons cuz the entries for them arent in the Civopedia.)

2. westamastaflash

westamastaflash Lord Commander

I love Octopus Overlords. Can't go wrong with an extra mage in Hemah :).

3. Monkeyfinger

Monkeyfinger Deity

A note: Religions allow:
    Temples (you know what these are)
    Disciples (units that are upgraded missionaries and have medic promotions as well as limited spellbooks of varying strength)
    Non-disciple generic units (these are spammable units that do all sorts of different things)
    Heroes (one of a kind units that cost a lot and kick ass, multiple empires with the same state religion must race to these as only one can have them)

I'd order them like so:

Octopus Overlords: Available early, best culture bonuses, best heroes, allows the Globe Theatre clone, and a good midgame generic unit. What's not to like? The early generic unit kinda sucks though.

Council of Esus: Slave trade = insanely fast rushbuying of wonders and buildings. No diplo penalties = it's easy to make friends. Ability to declare war without getting your units expelled from the victim's borders = easy way to get rid of someone you're sick of. It's insanely easy to spread since unlike other missionaries, Esus "missionaries" don't sacrifice themselves to spread their religion. Lacks temples and generic units, though, and its one hero isn't that good.