1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Fearing for their safety

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by yanner39, Jun 24, 2010.

1. yanner39

yanner39 Emperor

I always thought I needed a garrison in the city when my population reached 4. However, the other day my capital was at a pop of 3 but had 4 unhappies - 3 of them was because they was were crowded and one was fearing or its safety. Is this accurate or a possible bug?

2. vicawoo

vicawoo Chieftain

Accurate, but you have 5 happiness base, 4 warlords.

3. yanner39

yanner39 Emperor

Thanks. I don't know why I though it was 4 pop people starting getting upset. I've been playing Prince/Monarch now for a few months and only noticed it the other day.

4. kaltorak

kaltorak Emperor

Because you were remembernig your capital which has the palace so it can reach 4 without garrison and 5 with garrison. The other cities only 3 without and 4 with garrison.

5. NihilZero

NihilZero WHEOOHRNY

I love how easy it is to appease the people's need for protection. In the age when your enemies are rampaging around with modern armour and mechs, a naked guy with a stick is still quite adequate to make the citizens feel secure.

6. Deadlylamp

Deadlylamp Chieftain

Yeah, i've got a guy in my town named Phil who does the same thing. I've always felt safe.

7. yanner39

yanner39 Emperor

Actually, I re-started a game today and in my capital, citizens are giving me an attitude at size 3. So at size 3, I have a +4 :mad:. I dunno....

8. Carboniferous

Carboniferous Warlord

Unhappiness due to no garrison increases by one for every extra 3 population, starting from a base of zero. So, one unhappy point for 3 population seems correct to me.

The formula is INT(334 * population / 1000).