1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[Feature] Level of farms

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Dawn of A New Era' started by M07, May 28, 2011.

  1. M07

    M07 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Now, our farms will be able to be upgraded. In fact, it is only the plant quality that will be improved.
    Depending on current latitude, your will upgrade your farm with your agronomist.
    For now, the maximum level is 7.
    Each resource has its ideal latitude. More we go away from this latitude less we will able to improve our resources.
    As this plot isn't in the ideal latitude for the wheat, the level maximum for this farm is 5 instead of 7.

    If you knew in reality, the ideal latitude to sow (tobacco, sugar, cotton, coffee, ...), we would be really interested for all those information. ;)



     

    Attached Files:

  2. Ceer

    Ceer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    I like this. For the future, I would make agronomist a normal type of population. Any citizen should be able to take on the job, like pioneer, but expert agronomist should twice as fast for half the gold (just double the time and gold it takes for others to do it).
     
  3. Isabelxxx

    Isabelxxx DoaNE Explorer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    That's an interesting idea but it would require a big amount of work to make it work that way, M07 would need to rewrite some of his code but it would greatly simplify the concept.

    Profession could be available under certain conditions so you don't obtain so easily your first agronomist. And the actual agronomist unit could be the expert agronomist with your characteristics.
    Also we could recycle most of the actual code, because references to agronomist could be replaced with the expert agronomist: king giving an (expert) agronomist, buying an (expert) agronomist in Europe, ...
     
  4. WJLIII3

    WJLIII3 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    You probably want to use the term "agriculturalist"
     
  5. Oberon4278

    Oberon4278 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    I disagree with the last post here. "Agronomist" is definitely the right term in English. How do I know? My dad is one =)
     
  6. Oberon4278

    Oberon4278 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    I noticed that when you first make a farm it's not possible to grow any food there, even though an empty tile (i.e. no farm) can grow three food. This means if I have a farmer growing food on a tile, and I build a farm there, there will be two turns while the agronomist works before we can grow anything at all.

    Would it be possible to make an "empty" farm with no plants on it continue to produce the base level of food?
     
  7. M07

    M07 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    For us, units can find food on a tile without farm thanks to nature. Indeed, we can find fruits, animals, ... But once we improve the tile with a farm, nature is "destroyed" by our pioneers. That's why, we don't allow units to produce foods on farm without any plants.
     

Share This Page