1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Fending off barbarians

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by salty mud, Feb 20, 2013.

  1. faipalgugus

    faipalgugus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Fog busting is great but close to useless in a huge map if nobody is around, unless you build 30 warrior. It's very hard as well when you're close to an area full of ice. In immortal, your economy would crush.
     
  2. Pisskop

    Pisskop Goblin Axeman

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Well, at least bust areas you plan to expand into.
     
  3. capnvonbaron

    capnvonbaron Democratia gladii

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,783
    Location:
    cyberland, USA
    Yep. Nothing quite like having a barb city full of archers spring up on a HILL two tiles from that AWESOME gems city you had mapped out. :mad:
     
  4. Drakarska

    Drakarska Epic Dadness

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,553
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    No kidding. And while your busy whip/building a force to take said city, up pops a barb axe or two, making things even more interesting.
     
  5. Mr.Keene

    Mr.Keene Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    United States of America
    Perfectly explained, and said.
     
  6. capnvonbaron

    capnvonbaron Democratia gladii

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,783
    Location:
    cyberland, USA
    No -- typically multiple civs from halfway across the map pile up archers, chariots, and swords and one eventually takes the city for themselves... and of COURSE they keep it :sad:
     
  7. Drakarska

    Drakarska Epic Dadness

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,553
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    Gah, I hate that. Had that happen in a RI game awhile back.
     
  8. Jeros

    Jeros Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    I always assumed the barb cities I found were ones they captured, I had no idea they spawned their own.

    That said, the island I found full of them once may well have been once a civ, I think I was missing a civ on the landmasses from the number I set in startup in that game If I recall.
     
  9. Drakarska

    Drakarska Epic Dadness

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,553
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    RB on will do that to AI civs quite often. Nothing like seeing the Russian civilization has been destroyed coming over the events notification, then finding out that there quite a few barb cities in that region.
     
  10. Pisskop

    Pisskop Goblin Axeman

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Especially if its a large landmass and the civ under-expands like some tend to. Or if they get the dreaded attila the hun event. Nothing like a stack of horse archers to ruin your day . . .
     
  11. reddishrecue

    reddishrecue Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,225
    Gender:
    Male
    Fending off barbarians is fun stuff especially if you do it early. Starting with scouts warriors and archers to hunt for animals like bear wolf and lions usually lead to stronger barbarian cities with advanced cottages. Its like if another player was making a city for someone.
     
  12. Lennier

    Lennier Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,233
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orange County, NY
    I once had a game where Hamurabi spawned in isolation. His achievements were founding his Capitol, building Stonehedge, building the Oracle to slingshot CoL (founding Confuciasm), popping a Great Prophet and building the shrine, and then getting destroyed by barbs. (Regular barb setting, not raging.)

    The barb cities that appeared on that mini continent were Confuscian!
     
  13. Willem

    Willem Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,313
    Location:
    Canada
    Overall you're much better off using Archers for that purpose however. Even if you fog bust, Barbarians can wander into your territory from elsewhere, especially if one of your neighbours managed to build the Great Wall. An Archer on a hill, especially if it's wooded, can be more than a match for anything that might come your way though. Even more so once it gains a level or more of Guerrilla. Of course they aren't quite as useful on flat land, but even still they have a higher hit point count than Warriors, and there's nothing early on that gets a bonus against. If a Warrior meets a Barbarian Axeman though, he's guarenteed to be toast.
     
  14. Pisskop

    Pisskop Goblin Axeman

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Warriors are warm corpses. If I had a dollar for every warrior that cost me a city, I'd . . . I'd remake Civ V!
     
  15. Willem

    Willem Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,313
    Location:
    Canada
    Pretty much. They're useful for early exploration but that's about it. Except to upgrade to something more useful.
     
  16. King Pluto

    King Pluto Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I wouldn't argue that, if you know there's an area from which you can have a Barb influx, it's a good idea to have Archers or a strategic-based unit. However, fairly often you can stop Barb spawns entirely with Warriors, thus saving the hammers or beakers needed for more advanced units or techs, respectively. If I'm not in the middle of a continent, or I have neighbors close by, I usually get by with only Warriors. There have been plenty of Immortal games in which I never encountered Barb Axes or Spears due to good fog-busting with Warriors and expanding neighbors.

    If I don't have Hunting resources, even Archery can be a waste. I need the 150(?) beakers for Hunting/Archery, plus 25 hammers for an Archer. I can build 2 Warriors for 30 hammers, stack them to hold ground against barb Archers, and save the much needed early game beakers. This holds even more if I have no AH resources and don't want to look for Horses too early.
     
  17. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam Top Logic

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    25,283
    ??

    They're the cheapest :hammers: unit for HR garrison in the game.
     
  18. Willem

    Willem Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,313
    Location:
    Canada
    Yes, but they die too easily so they typically end being wasted Hammers. The only unit worse than Warriors in that regard are Scouts. An Archer might cost a few more Hammers to build, but they stand a far better chance of surviving for awhile, making that Hammer investment far more cost effective. One Axeman and the Warrior is toast in no time, but an Archer might have a chance of surviving the encounter. If it's on a wooded hill, it most likely will. I recall one game where I had an Archer on a hill and it managed to survive attacks by about 6 or so Barbarians of various types. He gained enough XP to get a couple ranks of Guerrilla in one turn alone, making him even tougher after that. There's no way a Warrior would have been able to hold out like that.
     
  19. Kallikrates

    Kallikrates Prince

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    480
    Location:
    VRBS ANSEATICA
    Is the barb acitivity very different between the add-ons, patches and settings?

    I have been plagued by Barbs (Warlords, Monarch/Emperor), but usually only warriors and archers. They can be handled without archery, because a fortified warrior on hill/forest/jungle has a very decent chance against an archer. I do not think I ever encountered barb axes before I had myself either axes and/or chariots, so the very few later barbs were usually far less of a problem than (sometimes) the early archers. Often the map is so crowded that with quickly expanding AIs there will not spawn to many barbs.
     
  20. Willem

    Willem Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,313
    Location:
    Canada
    That depends on what you mean by settings. If you select the Raging Barbarians option in the Custom Game screen, that certainly is quite different. Also, the difficulty level has an effect. Barbs will be more numerous, and spawn earlier, at Emperor level than they would at Chieftain.
     

Share This Page