1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Few lua lines

Discussion in 'Civ5 - SDK / LUA' started by Krajzen, Jan 30, 2014.

1. Krajzen

Krajzen Deity

Ok, so I started learning lua today :p

I want to create Chinese alternate UA, Mandate of Heaven:

"Each time you gain 10 citizen in cities or settle a new city, receive science and culture boost; Great Generals are stronger. If happiness drops below zero, Mandate is lost and rebels start appearing. -20% strenght against barbarians."

I figured out part with "tenth citizen", thanks to Leugi's Aymara which has something similiar ;) and I guess (PlayerCityFounded) is proper command for "new city settled" ; also I want to experiment with science/culture boost a bit.
    However I have two other questions about lua:
    1) How make something like that:

if X or Y

then Z

2) How to make rebels appearing below 0 happiness (only for China) and -20% against rebels (only for China)? I didn't find any mods with something similar, something dealing with barbs.

2. Machiavelli24

Machiavelli24 Mod creator

Even with lua certain things are easy to change while other things are essentially fixed. Identifying when a city's population changes, or a new city is founded are both easy with lua. There are events for both of those things (but there are a few similarly named events and only specific ones work correctly). Giving out lump sum culture is also easy.

Changing the benefit Great Generals provide in the way you describe is not really feasible in lua.

For your "if x or y" question, do you mean how to use conditional statements?
    Code:
    if ([i]condition[/i]) then
      ...stuff...
    else
      ...other stuff...
    end