1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

File attributes/properties - Is that VFS, InGameUIAddin or UpdateDatabase?

Discussion in 'CivBE - Tutorials and References' started by whoward69, Feb 6, 2013.

  1. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,112
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    Find the type of file (by extension) you have created in the list, identify its intended purpose in the sub-list (if any), then set the ModBuddy attributes/properties as given.

    For information on how to set an "OnModActivated -> UpdateDatabase" entry, an "InGameUIAddin" entry or "VFS = true" see posts #2, #3 and #4 respectively.

    .civ5map - Civ5 Map
    • Is the map part of a Custom Game scenario (ie a scenario with a custom setup screen)?
      • VFS: False
      • Map must be loaded as part of the scenario start-up code
    • Is the map stand-alone (ie not part of a Custom Game scenario)?
      • VFS: True
      • Requires a Map entry

    .civ5mod - Civ5 Mod Package
    Packaged mod (7z format) archive - should be placed in the MODS sub-directory for the game to unpack, or unpacked manually with WinRar or 7Zip
    • None

    .dds - DDS Image/Icon Graphic
    • VFS: True

    .dge - Animation Graph File
    • VFS: True

    .dll - Dynamic Library
    • Either -
      • MUST be called "CvGameCoreDLLFinal Release.dll", "CvGameCore_Expansion1.dll", "CvGameCore_Expansion2.dll"
      • MUST be in the root of the ModBuddy project (eg, NOT in a DLL sub-folder)
      • VFS: True
    • Or -
      • Can be called anything (but the above names are recommended)
      • SHOULD be in the root of the ModBuddy project (eg, NOT in a DLL sub-folder)
      • VFS: False
      • Requires an OnGetDLLPath->SetDllPath entry in ModBuddy

    .fpk - Asset Package
    Packaged assets as found in DLCs, use Nexus or DragonUnpacker to extract
    • None

    .fsmxml - Granny State Machine Data File
    • VFS: True
    • Reload Unit System / Reload Landmark System: Checked

    .ftsxml - Granny Timed Trigger System Data File
    • VFS: True

    .fxsxml - Asset definition Data File
    • VFS: True

    .ggxml - Font Icon Map
    Must have the same base name as the associated DDS file (eg MyFontIcons.dds and MyFontIcons.ggxml)
    • VFS: True

    .gr2 - Granny Mesh File
    • VFS: True
    • Reload Unit System / Reload Landmark System: Checked

    .ltp - LiveTuner Panel
    Must be manually copied into C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\sid meier's civilization v\Debug after the mod has downloaded/installed
    • None

    .lua - Lua Script
    • Is the file a replacement for a core game file?
      • VFS: True
    • Is the file part of a new UI context (but not a scenario load screen)?
      • VFS: False
      • Either this Lua file or it's associated XML file requires an InGameUIAddin entry
    • Is the file part of a new Scenario Load Screen context?
      • VFS: False
      • Either this Lua file or it's associated XML file requires a Custom entry
    • Is this a map script?
      • VFS: True
      • Requires a MapScript entry
    • Does this file contain methods registered by events within the file, or methods that are then executed directly during game startup?
      • VFS: False
      • Requires an InGameUIAddin entry
    • Does this file contain methods used by other Lua files and is included into those other Lua files?
      • VFS: True


    .mp3 - MP3 Sound File
    • Is this file replacing an existing .mp3 (or .ogg) file?
      • VFS: True
    • Is this file an additional .mp3 file?
      • VFS: True
      • Reload Audio System: Checked
      • Corresponding XML entry

    .ogg - OGG Media File
    • Is this file replacing an existing .ogg file?
      • VFS: True
    • Is this file an additional .ogg file?
      • VFS: True
      • Reload Audio System: Checked
      • Corresponding XML entry

    .sql - SQL Script
    • VFS: False
    • Requires an OnModActivated -> UpdateDatabase entry

    .wav - WAV Sound File
    • Is this file replacing an existing .wav file?
      • VFS: True
    • Is this file an additional .wav file?
      • VFS: True
      • Reload Audio System: Checked
      • Corresponding XML entry

    .xml - XML File
    • Does the file start with a <GameData> element?
      • VFS: False
      • Requires an OnModActivated -> UpdateDatabase entry
    • Does the file start with a <LeaderScene> element?
      • VFS: True
    • Is the file a replacement for a core game UI context file?
      • VFS: True
    • Is the file part of a new UI context (but not a scenario load screen)?
      • VFS: False
      • Either this XML file or it's associated Lua file requires an InGameUIAddin entry
    • Is the file part of a new Scenario Load Screen context?
      • VFS: False
      • Either this XML file or it's associated Lua file requires a Custom entry
     
  2. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,112
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    Setting an xml or sql file to update the game database



    1. From the Mod Properties screen, select the Actions tab
    2. Click the Add button
    3. Select OnModActivated from the top drop-down
    4. Select UpdateDatabase from the middle drop-down
    5. Select the file from the bottom drop-down (if the file is not visible, save the file first)
    6. Click the OK button
     

    Attached Files:

  3. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,112
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    Setting an xml or lua file as an InGameUIAddin



    Note: If adding an InGameUIAddin where there is only a .lua file (and no associated .xml file), do step 6 before step 3

    1. From the Mod Properties screen, select the Content tab
    2. Click the Add button
    3. Select InGameUIAddin from the top drop-down
    4. Enter a name, typically the same as the file name
    5. (Optional) Enter a description, typically the same as the name
    6. Select the file from the drop-down, or enter the name manually (if the latter, take care with both case and the direction of the slash in path names)
    7. Click the OK button
     

    Attached Files:

  4. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,112
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    Setting VFS=true for a file



    1. In the Solution Explorer panel, select the file (or files)
    2. In the Properties panel, select Import into VFS
    3. Expand the drop-down
    4. Select true
     

    Attached Files:

  5. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,112
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
  6. Waverunner

    Waverunner Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    This is a great reference, whoward69. Thank you very much. Will defiantly help me from scavenging through the site.
     
  7. Leugi

    Leugi Supreme Libertador

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    Bolivia
    I'm running an old version of ModBuddy, so my Buddy doesn't have drop-down menus in the Actions and the Content tab... So, mostly out of curiosity... Does anything aside from OnModActivated, UpdateDatabase or InGameUIAddin appear on the menus?
     
  8. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,112
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    For the first two, nothing that actually seems to work. For the last one, you can also have "Custom", "Map", "MapScript", "CityViewUIAddin" and "DiplomacyUIAddin"

    "Custom" is used by scenarios with their own custom setup screen, "Map" and "MapScript" are used by "Map Mods" and also custom scenarios, "CityViewUIAddin" and "DiplomacyUIAddin" are needed if your code needs to run in the CityView or LeaderHeadRoot base contexts (instead of the InGame base cotext)
     
  9. Leugi

    Leugi Supreme Libertador

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    Bolivia
    That's bad, so; what are the unworking options?
     
  10. hugojackson18

    hugojackson18 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    London
    Hi guys, I've been trying to follow loads of tutorials to get new units in the game. All of them are talking about that VFS option to set to true. That brought me to this page, because it seems that this VFS thing has disappeared was an update of ModBuddy. Do you guys know if they moved it, or if we simply don't need it anymore?

    Cheers guys!
     
  11. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,112
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    VFS is still there (see post #4 for where "there" is) and still needed for the files indicated
     
  12. hugojackson18

    hugojackson18 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    London
    I'm sorry, I did read your post #4, and that's why I asked. This is what I've got, and in the Misc section, I don't have the VFS menu.




    Am I missing something somewhere? Something to tick or anything. I'm trying to start modding, and I find everything really hard... I'm a 3d Artist and programming is really not my strong point!

    And it's not the only menu I'm missing apparently...
     
  13. S3rgeus

    S3rgeus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,269
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    The properties window should definitely still have the VFS option. From the latest version I'm using:



    How did you download ModBuddy? Any issues during installation? Is Steam connected to the internet properly? What happens when you verify the local files for your SDK? (Library->click on "All Games"->Tools->Right click "Sid Meier's Civilization V SDK"->Properties->Local Files->Verify Integrity...")
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Leugi

    Leugi Supreme Libertador

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    Bolivia
    @hugojackson: You're most likely using an older version of ModBuddy... Good news is that actually everything you put in the mod file is being automatically imported to the VFS, so you don't need to check anything.
     
  15. hugojackson18

    hugojackson18 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    London
    Ok so, I was using the Old version of the SDK with Nexus working properly (the version Deliverator is talking about in his latest tutorial). But even when I was loading ModBuddy from Steam, it was the same version.

    So S3rgeus, I did what you said, and now I've got exactly what you have! So I guess that's good now.

    And Leugi, thanks for clarify this. I thought that if it wasn't there, it was doing it by default, but I was freaking out a bit seeing everyone talking about that VFS dropmenu when I couldn't see it anywhere...

    Thanks guys!



    EDIT: and now, I finally find all the other things I wasn't finding in the mod options!
     
  16. AgressiveWimp

    AgressiveWimp Assistant Stapler Guy

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,958
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Operation Lonely Valley Drop Zone
    Question: Unless I'm doing it wrong (I'm basing it off the base game XML files), files for SND and AS2D audio mapping being with <AudioDefinesFile> and <Script2DFile> root-level elements, respectively, which are, obviously, not <GameData> elements. Do the same rules of giving these files UpdateDatabase entries still apply, or do they need different load attributes?
     
  17. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,112
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    Like the ArtDefine tables, the format for the Audio tables is NOT the same as used by the base game, see this thread for more details. Don't know about the AS2D tables, can't see them in the database, so they may still be unmoddable
     
  18. Minor Annoyance

    Minor Annoyance Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,247
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    I'm trying just to test that a file is loading before I do real changes so I've changed
    local TRIGGER_CHANCE = 5;
    to
    local TRIGGER_CHANCE = 100;
    in BuildingChoiceTemplateQuest.lua and set Import into VFS to true, but I'm not getting building choices right away. What else do I need to do?
     

Share This Page

Ebates: Get Paid to Shop