Filling In the Gaps For Fun & Profit

ZanzibarZim

Chieftain
Hi:

I'm new to this forum, but I've been playing Civ for 14 years now, so technically not a noob. I read a lot of posts in preparation for writing this article as I wanted to be sure I had something new to add. I haven't seen a lot of new stuff for me, but I have picked up quite a few refinements on many of my own strategies, for which I thank the members who have spent so much time and thought on their own posts.

I generally play Vanilla Civ3 on Emperor level, as I find Deity requires too much time and concentration to win. Since I only play late in the evening after the kids are in bed, time is short and mental energy is on the wane, so I don't have the time or energy to invest hours on a game that's only got a 50/50 chance of being anything other than more work or even (horrors) a loss!

So I almost always win! Eventually.

Blah, blah, blah, so it's all about me. Here comes my contribution:

Like many other players, I've found a general strategy that works well for me at the difficulty level and Civ version I play with. I will describe it by relating a very typical game of mine. Perhaps some of you will find it useful and/or interesting.