1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

FinalFrontier Flat

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Map Scripts' started by deanej, May 3, 2008.

  1. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    This is the Final Frontier map script, but flat so there is no horizontal or vertical wrapping.

    Download here.
     
  2. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    I've updated the map script to include a change introduced in 3.17.
     
  3. cephalo

    cephalo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,055
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    What was the change?
     
  4. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    In def addFeatures for the high density solar system setting it's -10 instead of 10.
     
  5. PsiCorps

    PsiCorps FF: Babylon 5 mod team

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,424
    Location:
    Britain
    Why am i getting the "TEXT_ blah blah" entries for star system, feature and hostile terrains when setting up custom games using the standard FF maps? I can't find where the XML files are that might govern this, please help!
     
  6. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    Is this for the Babylon 5 mod? A bunch of text tags used with the map script options were moved into FinalFrontietTextInfosObjects.xml. Moving them in on the mod should solve the problem.
     
  7. PsiCorps

    PsiCorps FF: Babylon 5 mod team

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,424
    Location:
    Britain
    Yes it is DeaneJ. Many thanks for that i have fixed it now.
     
  8. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,048
    Location:
    In orbit
    OK, how do I do that? (FF Flat map now seems not to load with MOO2Civ either.) Are the text tags inside the .py file?
     
  9. PsiCorps

    PsiCorps FF: Babylon 5 mod team

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,424
    Location:
    Britain
    @jeelen
    The text tags that are now located in FinalFrontierTextInfosObjects.xml (at the bottom of the XML file) need to be copied into your mod file so BtS/Mods/MOO2/Assets/XML/Text/TextInfosObjects. It took me about 15 minutes to make sure i had all the text tags i needed.
    @deaneJ
    If i wanted to make a bigger map, besides changing the Python bits on the map, where else would i need to change information?
     
  10. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,048
    Location:
    In orbit
    Thank you, PsiCorps!;)
     
  11. PsiCorps

    PsiCorps FF: Babylon 5 mod team

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,424
    Location:
    Britain
    Anything to help a fellow Civ'er
     
  12. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    I think just the python bits on the map is sufficient.
     
  13. PsiCorps

    PsiCorps FF: Babylon 5 mod team

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,424
    Location:
    Britain
    Is it possible to reduce the number of Black holes and Supernovas on map generation rather than using the world builder to remove them? Time after time i find i have a wall of them to go around to get to a decent system. Supernovas are a one off event and once a sun has gone nova (at least in my understanding) there tends not to be much in the way of planets left. Would be more fun to have a settled system have a random event that started a build up to a supernova. The affected Civ would have between 3 and 12 months/turns to find a new home before the sun explodes, supernova makes system uninhabitable for 3 to 6 months/turns after that any planets not destroyed could have small colonies set up on them and destroyed planets become asteroids, there might also be some new areas of space/cosmic radiation. I know this idea would probably be impossible to implement but you don't know until you ask.
     
  14. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    Supernovas/Black holes can probably be reduced by lowering the hostile feature density (will reduce space radiation as well). Unfortunately, solar systems are stored in the python and I don't know how to remove them at a point in the game, making it essentially impossible to do a random event like that unless the storage problem is fixed (this also makes it impossible to reload the python assets without reloading the mod).
     
  15. PsiCorps

    PsiCorps FF: Babylon 5 mod team

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,424
    Location:
    Britain
    Hi deanej, i've been looking at the maps for FF (B5 mod) again and was wondering if it is possible to do any of the following.
    1. Set a minimum distance that solar systems spawn from the edge of the map. ie so they are always at least 3 spaces from the map edge, this would stop the outer planets of the solar system disappearing off the map edge?
    2. Reduce the number of plots that nebulas cover?
    3. Reduce the number of Black holes etc that appear?
    4. Make the radiation clouds removable by a worker, but also for there to be a chance to have radiation clouds re-appear after a space combat?
     
  16. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    1-3: These can probably be done through the map script somehow, but I'm not sure exactly how. I'd look at the spiral galaxy map script for more on this... it messes with the feature placement a lot.

    4: This could be done by allowing workers to enter radiation clouds and adding the scrub fallout mission back in via XML (Radiation is really fallout). It could be added back in combat using one of the events in the python - onCombatResult would probably be best for this (note: would need a check for other features, especially solar systems).
     

Share This Page