1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Finally got Civ6

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Mesix, Feb 13, 2017.

1. Mesix

Mesix One of Porg

So, I finally bought Civ6 this weekend. 25% off pushed me to buy.

I played through the tutorial, and most of the way though my first game as France...so I am still learning the differences. Some of the new features are not very intuitive, and even if there is a tip explaining it, the strategic decisions which come later are not so clear. This is especially true for the adjacency bonuses.

I will post my questions and criticisms separately as I become more acquainted with the latest version. I will also find strategies to break the game as I do with each release ;)

Jarhead60 and whyidie like this.
  2. Mesix

Mesix One of Porg

Any tips to a Civ6 noob would be greatly appreciated.

3. kaspergm

kaspergm Deity

That is ... a bit vague. I think you'll have better luck asking more specifically, if you want advice her, or otherwise, go look through some videos on youtube to see how people play and learn some tricks.

4. whyidie

whyidie Emperor

Take barbarians seriously and make sure they don't spawn too close. They can be a pain if allowed to fester once you have improvements/districts/trade routes. Empires return, wider is better.

Most common route is to take advantage of no war monger penalties in the ancient era and take over as many of your neighbors as you can before war monger penalties settle in. The AI troop levels on Deity can be surprisingly poor.

At that point pause and determine how you want to win.