1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

FIRAXIS PLEASE READ Latest update killed direct IP connection

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Multiplayer & PBEM' started by Aweather, Jun 5, 2014.

  1. Aweather

    Aweather Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    The direct IP connection option is missing after the lastest update. Does anyone know how to fix this? Any suggestions would be highly appreciated!
     
  2. fdelbene

    fdelbene CivFanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Roma, Italy
    I confirm it's missing! Incredible! :eek:
    Why remove Direct IP? :mad:

    I posted an update in this thread.
     
  3. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Direct IP still works fine for CD users. It's only the steam version where the functionality has been removed. Yes, it's nonsense.

    I've written 2K this message:

     
  4. CanuckSoldier

    CanuckSoldier Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,834
    Location:
    Canada
    Steam doesn't allow Direct IP because people could use it to avoid there DRM and pirate the game, Civ5 has never had directIP for this reason....I know it sucks.

    But come to the Civ4 chat I have setup and you can use Steam's ability to join games by clicking on the hosts name and click Join Game, this launches you directly into the staging room of the host...it is the steam way of doing things....I know this will be a learning curve for old players used to Gamespy.

    http://steamcommunity.com/gid/103582791435386384

    CS
     
  5. Krill

    Krill Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,332
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent, England
    There is no way to connect to pitboss games anymore CS. That's what just got broken.
     
  6. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    How do they figure that? :confused: The folks who use Direct IP in Civ4 are a relatively small crowd who already bought the game long ago.
     
  7. CanuckSoldier

    CanuckSoldier Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,834
    Location:
    Canada
    Ya I know, Firaxis would have to somehow recode Pitboss to have a fake steam account so that players could connect to it, and I don't see that happening sadly.

    CS
     
  8. CanuckSoldier

    CanuckSoldier Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,834
    Location:
    Canada
    True and I'm sure a lawyer would tell you that taking 2K to court for a breach of contract is an option. But I know from asking these questions in the years we have had Civ5, that no Steam games have any version of Direct IP, Steam has not figured out how to allow that and prevent players from hacking it to get around the Steam DRM.

    There is already a large group in Russia that runs a VPN to fake Civ5 LAN games, so that players with Pirated Civ5 copies can play MP.....

    CS
     
  9. Krill

    Krill Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,332
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent, England
    CS, have you heard back from 2K about the patch? I'm not sure if they didn't believe my photograph of the discs and box because it's a signed copy, or they are slow, or if due to time zones they've only just gotten to work...

    I do know that one person with the steam copy has said that there is a new pitboss client, but he thinks everything is borked with it.
     
  10. CanuckSoldier

    CanuckSoldier Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,834
    Location:
    Canada
    I haven't sent my pictures in yet, because since I moved twice in the past few years, my boxes and disks are still packed, so I just sucked up the $30 for Civ4 complete on steam :-/

    I believe you can view the status of your ticket on the 2K web site though, yes this was in my email

    Your request (#682487) has been updated.

    To review the status of the request and add additional comments, follow the link below:
    http://support.2k.com/hc/requests/682487

    You should have one similar.

    I bet they are handling a high volume of these requests though, I replied to my email stated that making people look for boxes/disks that have not been needed for years due to the last patch is going to create a lot of unhappy customers....I have not received a reply either :-/

    CS
     
  11. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I have made a post in the official 2K forums about the removal of Direct IP from Steam versions of the game. Here it is:

    http://forums.2k.com/showthread.php?563191-Steam-multiplayer-update-and-Civilization-IV-Pitboss

    To everyone who plays Direct IP games: Please take a minute to register an account, and make a short post in the thread linked above.

    I suggest to write in your short message:

    - Your username and which civ fansite(s) you hail from.
    - Which version of the game you purchased (CD or Steam).
    - Mention how this issue affects all players, because even CD users can't continue Direct IP games with Steam users. The removal of Direct IP from Steam divides an already small multiplayer community down the middle.
    - End with a strong request that Direct IP be re-integrated into the Steam version of Civ4.

    Feel free to use your own words. Be firm, but civil - profanity won't help the cause.

    For example, in my case:

    Please register an account and post your own quick message in the thread linked above now. It only takes a minute, and it could make a real difference! :)
     
  12. CanuckSoldier

    CanuckSoldier Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,834
    Location:
    Canada
    One of my league members has posted a solution on our FB page, if you rename your old Civ4 directory, before you install the steam version, you will have both the new Steam version to play new games. And your old version that still has Direct IP and can play Pitboss.

    CS
     
  13. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    That sounds like it only works if you haven't yet installed the Steam version?

    In any event, it would be nice if 2K/Steam recognized that it's much nicer to just make Direct IP available on all versions of the game, rather than to force people to fiddle about with their games to re-enable the setting.
     
  14. CanuckSoldier

    CanuckSoldier Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,834
    Location:
    Canada
    I haven't tried reinstalling the disk version after steam, but they are in different locations anyway, but yes we should not have to burn up twice as much disk space to keep what we had before.

    CS
     
  15. fdelbene

    fdelbene CivFanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Roma, Italy
    For a workaround see here.
     

Share This Page