1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

First building in a newly-captured city

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by jahsoldier, Aug 27, 2008.

1. jahsoldier

jahsoldier Warlord

what do people go for? I usually go for theatre (or library) to help expand cultural borders, or barracks if I think I'm going to need to keep fighting. but heck, I'm a noob and keep getting my face smashed on Warlord. Is there anything better?

2. Levgre

Levgre King

granary is always good. Either granary or building that gives the most happiness for me so I can actually work tiles. Sometimes culture buildings...

Slaving units would probably be good too if you really needed them.

One thing to consider is if the city is starving or unhappy you want to whip as much as you can. For example, if you have a size 9 captured city it is nice to whip 4 pop(after it drops from 9 to 8) for a forge.... or even a market if it gives nice happiness. If you had slaved a theatre first you may have lost more population from starvation, and also wouldn't have been able to slave much more.

3. Bob the Barbari

Bob the Barbari Warlord

I usually build theatre, granary then forge mainly because the forge bonus in newly captured cities would be very small without having tiles to work (culture - theatre) and people to work them (granary). But I'm just a noob so don't follow my pattern.

4. UncleJJ

UncleJJ Deity

There is no simple answer. It depends on several things and there are several different situations. I treat each city differently and it depends how much effort is required to get the city working. Cultural pressure and military threat are important factors in some cities.