First missionary question

Slax

Prince
Hi, long time civ player, first time civ IV player....

I have my free Islamic missionary, having not founded any other religions so far. Some of my cities have adopted Judaism, which has basically spread to every foreign city on the continent (2 other civs). I have no knowledge of the other civs on the map.

Since not all of my own cities have adopted Islam (which I founded), am I better off using my missionary to spread it to one of my own cities without religion, or is there more advantage to taking it to an enemy city, where it will have to 'compete' against other religions to spread into the city?

Are you religious ... have you converted to Islam? If you are not religious or any other religion, there is no benefit to yourself to use the missionary at all. I usually ignore the free missionary I get from founding a religion unless I convert to that religion.

If you are converted, I would always convert my own cities first because you can then switch into civics that will give you benefits. If you convert foreign cities, you can see what units are in those cities for spying purposes, but again only if you are converted to that religion. You could also get potential diplomatic bonuses but that's probably way down the road in your game and it just depends on the specific situations in your game.

I usually just settle him in my capital for the +1 happy when I switch to free religion.

I guess my main question it: why did you research Divine Right?

You can build an Islamic Temple, Monastery, and possibly a Mosque in the city that you spread the religion to (provided it does spread successfully by the Missionary attempt). The Temple will provide extra happiness and culture, the Monastery will provide extra science, culture, and the capacity to build Islamic Missionaries, while the Mosque may provide extra happiness and will provide a culture multiplier.