1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

First release

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Community Enchancement Project' started by The Great Apple, May 9, 2006.

  1. The Great Apple

    The Great Apple Big Cheese

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,361
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    This thread is for the first release, a download for which should be available sometime soon. If you come up against any problems with it, please post them here, and we'll see about fixing them.

    Changelog for v1.61.0001a:
     
  2. SimCutie

    SimCutie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    I am OK to release on May 17 though it has not much thing to show...
    We should have time to integrate and adjust conflict /duplication /inconsistancy among our own codes.. So I had released a preliminary version few days ago, but I did not get much feedback regarding such confict with modder's own work.
    No one except me has released or commited code in CVS, it seems.
    Am I missing something or drumming wrong drum?

    Integrating codes of multiple author ( especially who never met in persopn or worked togather) would be not so easy and potentially troublesome process. It will take quite a time and many discussion. I suggest you all to commit your code into CVS as soon as possible and begin to look into each others codes closely to see if any problem may arise.
     
  3. 12monkeys

    12monkeys Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Germany, Europe
    Well, my code is more or less ready as well. I don't expect much problems with it, because the changes I did are very less and very simple. I would have done more, but due to this unlucky CVS issues I spent most of my time with CVS than coding :( . [BTW : I can't reach the CVS this evening, it seems to be down, so I can't upload anything.]
    As TGA already said, we should have at least one ore two bugfixes in, which may increase the acceptance of the project. I will try to take care of some the next days, but I can't promise.
    Maybe we have to postpone the release for a week or two, to solve the remaining CVS issues and to gain some time for testing.
    Also : I'm not sure who of the enroled team members is doing actively what for the project? There are only 5 members registered at SF for this project (TGA, SimCutie, SpoiledFruit, Impaler and me). So the chance to get something from the others is quite less. TGA, maybe you should contact them directly by PM to get a status. Infos we need are what has been changed and when it is ready.
    Another topic is documentation. The changes must have a documentation and (in some cases) examples how to use it.
    Still a lot to do and to organize.
     
  4. SpoiledFruit

    SpoiledFruit Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Boise, Idaho
    For the version number, we probably could use v 1.61.0001 to show that it is compatable with the 1.61 patch and is version 0001 of our revision. I used four digits but we probably could just use three.

    For alpha builds we can use the letter a (v1.61.0001a)
    For betas we can use the letter b (v1.61.0001b)
    And final builds have no letter (v1.61.0001)

    This is the convention I use at work when I am updating only DLLs of existing programs.
     
  5. Chalid

    Chalid Black Dragon

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,742
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    I have some minor changes but until now was not able to debug with that CodeBlocks. I'll try to look again into it this weekend so we'll see.
     
  6. The Great Apple

    The Great Apple Big Cheese

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,361
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    The SDK is rather large, and it'll probably be a while before we get any really big conflicts. From what I can tell the only thing in your changes that may cause conflict is the unitID switch - but I don't it's likely to. From what I can tell everybody is working in slightly different areas. This is, in part, why I made the "mods in progress" thread - so that we can avoid two people doing the same thing in different/conflicting ways.

    I think we should try to upload to the CVS whenever we feel we have a stable version of our current changes, so that any edits can be based on them, or at least the ideas behind them.

    Sounds like we might have to. Maybe shift the provisional date back to Monday 22nd so that we have the weekend for testing? We'll see how it goes.

    So far we have 15 people, however, it would seem that alot of people are lurking behind the scenes. I'll probably do as you suggest and send out a bulk PM tomorrow sometime.

    For most people it would be simply "install into mod directory". Other changes I would expect to be documented within the code, and if we include files changed in the changelog then people shouldn't have too much difficulty in finding it.

    Good idea. Maybe we should include something to show which game it is compatable with - a .dll file for Warlords may not be compatable with one for regular Civ. Maybe:

    c 1.61.001a (Civ, patch 1.61, 1st version, alpha)
    w 1.00.162b (warlords, patch 1.00, 162nd version, beta)
    e 1.32.125 (expansion 3 patch 1.32, 125th version, stable)

    Although this could have troubles if they call the 2nd expansion pack something beginning with 'c' or 'w'...

    On a different note - have you managed to get the options screen working yet? Not that crucial for this release as we don't have much in here - just curious

    Okies, looks like you will need a few more days as well.


    If you missed the date I had hidden in there, I am suggesting we move the date back to Monday 22nd so that we can sort out CVS/server issues, as well as give a tiny bit more time for people to finish things off.

    EDIT: Also, is what we are doing a mod component or a mod pack. I'm thinking component, though it has some aspects of a pack. Hmmm.
     
  7. 12monkeys

    12monkeys Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Germany, Europe
    IMO its clearly a mod component. Most of the changes are for modders only. If you just install it, the effects on the game are very low.
     
  8. SimCutie

    SimCutie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    I finished custom option screen for SDK DLL runtime confiuration. Complete with Option Screen, Python API, SDK API, Ini file Config read/write, in-SDK user configuration access. I will update it in next CVS upload.
     
  9. 12monkeys

    12monkeys Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Germany, Europe

    Hey! That sounds really good :D. I'm curious to see it. But CVS is still down :(.
     
  10. Impaler[WrG]

    Impaler[WrG] Civ4:Col UI programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    Location:
    Vallejo, California
    I am eager to see it as well, I want to use it for controling by GreatPeoplePointPooling mod (pools all GPP from across your empire rather then in each city individualy), I have it all set up too switch between original behavior and my new behavior with a boolean call. Most of my other mods are run off XML flags and will be silent without the required flags thus they dont require any run time configuring.

    SimCutie could you zip and upload the files so we can start plugging in our mods, and thus get things ready asap.
     
  11. SpoiledFruit

    SpoiledFruit Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Boise, Idaho
    I have been busy at work lately but I will try to get the CVS server fully accessable today or tommorow. I will not have password protection on the FTP server right now b/c I haven't had a chance to send out all the User IDs and Passwords and the forum is still private.

    The FTP server link is here (Link Removed) if you want to get to it. If it doesn't work, its b/c the server isn't up yet. Read and write access is enabled at this point for existing files only. This is just a temporary IP, the permanent one I will PM everyone allong with there user ID and passwords.

    Also I saw SimCutie was already ahead of me on the options menu so I let Sim handel it. I will add extra options as needed though (if thats alright with you Sim).

    On the prefix for game versions (original, Warlords, Etc.) I thing we can just separate them into there own groups instead of worrying about prefixes
     
  12. SimCutie

    SimCutie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    I need some help..
    I need unmodified Firaxis version of \Assets\XML\Interface\CIV4ColorVals.xml of update 1.61.
    I inadvertantly overwritten a XML file in my Game installation directory instead of CustomAssets. :sad:
    I have some backup but it was that of update 1.52, not 1.61.
    Please, upload the file CIV4ColorVals.xml in ZIP as a attachment for me.... :p
     
  13. The Great Apple

    The Great Apple Big Cheese

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,361
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    I don't have a copy of the 1.61 file here, only the 1.52. I didn't know that this file was changed in the update.

    You're probably right.

    EDIT: Oh, and I'll send out a bulk PM to anybody not already posted on this thread to check status when the server is up.
     
  14. 12monkeys

    12monkeys Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Germany, Europe
    Here's what you need.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Impaler[WrG]

    Impaler[WrG] Civ4:Col UI programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    Location:
    Vallejo, California
    Is anyone able to access the CVS, I was initialy able to access it make checkouts and perform commits but havent been able to get anything the last 2 days. Is SF locking us out or doing some kind of repair? 12monkeys says he's having problems as well so I dont think its me. Also has anyone yet commited a mod to the CVS, SimCutie sounds ready to do so are you able too? I continue to work on new Mods as I wait but I need to get a hold of that Options menu to plug in to it. And we need a solution to savegame compatability (see new thread) have we desided if backward compatability is a must for first release or is it a goal for next release?
     
  16. 12monkeys

    12monkeys Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Germany, Europe
    CVS ist down since the last 3 days. Nobody can connect to it, though you can ping the server. It seems to be global SF problem, because a LOT of projects have such problems. If you look into the SF Support Requests there are tons of requests reporting CVS connect problems since days.
    Right now, I haven't found any info from SF what happens there and what they are plan to do. Its simply frustrating, that they are not able to inform the users about the source of the problems.
     
  17. SimCutie

    SimCutie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    How about to have some chatting on our project before we release first result?
    I suggest it to be May 13, 23:00 GMT (Saturday, Today) at #civfanatics channel of IRC chatting.. It will be 19:00 in USA, NewYork Time (EDT)
     
  18. The Great Apple

    The Great Apple Big Cheese

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,361
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    Sounds like a good idea but...

    I can't access the chat from the computers here. Always says "unable to connect to server" . I might try again later. I can't change any of the settings as they aren't my computers...
     
  19. 12monkeys

    12monkeys Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Germany, Europe
    Mmmhh. This is 01:00 MES. I will try...
     
  20. The Great Apple

    The Great Apple Big Cheese

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,361
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    Eh? I thought Germany was GMT+1?
     

Share This Page