1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

First to 3 cities (and maybe a religion) strategy

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by UberCivver, Oct 31, 2005.

  1. ritterpa

    ritterpa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Does that mean you'd be able to go open borders and chop down other nation's trees...wonder if they were outside of your sphere of influence if you'd still get them?
     
  2. sekong

    sekong Net Surfer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2001
    Messages:
    316
    I'm using the early religion path to get Judaism and Stonehedge. Worked ok on a Monarchy level small map.

    I just did not realize that you could chop tree for wonder and settlers.

    It will provide a lot of cultures and an early G. prophet. But then it double the costs for later GP...
     
  3. oopsy poopsy

    oopsy poopsy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    202
    Here (Post #68) is an example where a beta-tester (Sirian) is getting ready to chop a forest outside his borders for 20 shields. I don't know if the amounts differ by difficulty level or inside/outside borders or what, but that should be evidence that it works.

    I doubt you can chop inside another country's borders even with open borders. I'm pretty sure you can't do any worker actions in someone elses borders, but so far outside your own borders workers can road and chop, but not anything else.
     
  4. walkerjks

    walkerjks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    443
    You can definitely build roads inside of other civ's borders (assuming you have open borders - I haven't tried this in times of war). I do this sometimes to hook up trade routes (for money and religion spread) early in the game with allies.
     
  5. oopsy poopsy

    oopsy poopsy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    202
    I didn't know that. I said doubt just because I didn't think you would be able to. That's good to know. I thought you couldn't do this in civ3. Although, I hated signing RoP's so I doubt I ever tried for that either.
     
  6. mossmonster

    mossmonster Consider, if you will...

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    Twilight Zone

    Yes, you can cut down trees outside of both your city radius and your cultural radius, the shield value you receive will vary. If the forest is equidistant between two cities I've always had it go to the larger city. Never had two cities of the same size in that situation to know what would happen in that case.

    I good strategy I've found is when a foreign AI city is first started, get your workers to cut the forests around the 'second ring' of that city before it can do the first culture expansion from 9 to 21 tiles. You can get the benefit of the shields from the chopping and make the future tiles of the new city less productive at the same time. :devil:
     
  7. dar

    dar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    I do something similar for starts with bonuses & forests. Best results with a civ that has mysticsm & mining/hunter/agri:

    1. Worker, research poly for hinduism, then worker techs needed for resources. Then bronze working for chopping
    2. Worker out, improve best 5 squares. Build Barracks
    3. Archer
    4. Worker number 2. Connects the resources to cap.
    5. Archer (until city is size 5)
    6. Settler, worker 1 starts chopping. Once its finished settler. worker 2 & archer move to new city city. Worker improves 2 squares, then heads back to join next settler.
    7. Archer, Settler, Chop until I have 3 or 4 new cities out.

    The 2nd worker moves to each city in turn improving 2 squares ONLY, then moves on. The new cities start building barracks/granary (depending on situation), and switch to bulding their own worker at size 2.

    Once I hit get 4 new cities up I switch exclusively to units in the capital to consolidate before the barbs start hitting me hard. Of course if you have a relatively close neighbour you can skip this and just send some units out to reveal the fog of war so no barbs spawn, and pump out a few more settlers to grab the territory before your rival does.

    This strat serves me well for resource & forest rich starts (on prince). In fact on my last game as the incas, I started alone on an island with the aztecs. My first two cities blocked off his expansion, confining him to a small part of the island, while I quickly snatched up the rest of it with 4 more optimally placed cities (no need to worry about barbs since I had sentries out in the fog). So I had 7 cities total, 2 cramped at the aztec border, the rest varying from decent to great positions. By the time he had enough units (Jaguars) and declared on me, I had enough cities developed to just swamp him with axemen & archers.
     
  8. Wodan

    Wodan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,867
    Location:
    In transit
    If your worker is in the forest, mouseover the "chop" icon and look to the left at the stats area, and it'll tell you which city is going to get the bonus, and also exactly how many hammers it'll get.

    Sandy
     
  9. bayareastank

    bayareastank Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    UberCivver,

    First i have to appologize. Civ4 is my first Civ game and i'm still trying to figure out how everything relates to everything.

    But I like your build strategy. I have a question though. When you say :Once your worker comes out, have him chop down forests anywhere he can in the city radius(have him build a farm or mine while bronze working is being researched). This will get your warrior out in 3 or 4 turns, and your first settler out in about 4-6 turns after that.

    How does chopping down a forest square and getting 30 production help kick out your warrior and settler faster? I think normally they take 15 turns or something like that.
     
  10. The Apple

    The Apple Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    The time it takes a city to build units and buildings is based on how many hammers that city 'produces' each turn. You produce hammers by working nearby tiles which offer hammers (open the city screen and click on the various tiles shown around it to see what I mean). Forests are like a tile bonus, because they add a hammer to any tile they're on. So if a forest is on grassland tile, it'll produce two food and one hammer instead of just the two food a bare grassland tile produces. When you cut down a forest, the game sends a random number of hammers (usualy 20-40ish) to the nearest city to make up for the fact that you permenantly sacrifice the hammer bonus for that tile, and these hammers are then added to unit/structure your currently building in that city.
     
  11. ritterpa

    ritterpa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    note: the further you send a worker away from a city to chop, the fewer hammers you get. I sent a worker 6-7 spaces (or so, don't remember for sure) away from a town, and it said I was only going to get 7 hammers for it.

    Also, later in the game you seem to get more for forests. I had my worker sitting on a forest around 1650 and it said that I'd get 90-something for chopping it.
     
  12. CitizenCain

    CitizenCain Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Production bonuses seem to apply. Try building a wonder as an industrious civ, and chopping down a forest. You get way more than 30 shields for it.
     
  13. Pvblivs

    Pvblivs Scriptor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    696
    Location:
    Berlin, DE
    I tried it and indeed: Early chopping and therefore early settlers is a boost and a must-have to grab important resources.
    It gave me a jumb start on noble on a "we've got a lot of deserts here that are bothering us" starting position.

    Though I lost the game. I was sticking to much on cultural domination and Ghandi simply overteched and -spaced my celebrating folks :)
     
  14. baptiste

    baptiste Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    115
    Can be quite a vicious strategy to "plunder" the ennemie's forest :D
    And why not take care to build roads also as to be sure it won't come back.
     
  15. sickre

    sickre Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Can you still plant forests? Can forests spread naturally?
     
  16. baptiste

    baptiste Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    115
  17. UberCivver

    UberCivver Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    Thanks for all of the replies/criticisms/additions to my strategy. Let me add that once Stonehenge is built, I start cranking out either archers or whatever is available to me. These units I usually have scout out new city places, and what I like to do is take a couple of them and fortify them where I want my next cities to be. This does a couple things: first, I don't forget where I want my new cities and it helps me plan them better. Second, it takes away the fog of war near my city borders thus making barbarians spawn further away (or not at all in the area if all the fog is lifted) and gives my settlers a clear path to make it out there without an escort (not always the case if I notice barbarians roaming). Lastly, if barbarians do come and attack my fortified archers, they will usually win and gain experience so when the settler comes, it already has an upgraded defender.

    Later guys.
    -UberCivver
     
  18. EricJames

    EricJames Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    To me, this strategy won't work. I don't see why you're building a worker STRAIGHT off. Depending on your current location, you can double your production simply by waiting the 5 or 6 turns it'll take for your city to expand. With the extra 2-3 hammers you'll pull in, the worker might come out 1 or 2 turns later as well as having a decent start on either a warrior, a granary, or what not.

    My second argument is that early exploration is more important than a worker. If you have a 2nd warrior or even 3rd warrior scouting, your chances of finding a worker or a settler off of a goody hut skyrockets.
     
  19. Cyberian

    Cyberian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    290
    I never find workers or settlers in huts, only gold and maps but I think thats tied to the difficulty level of the game.
     
  20. UberCivver

    UberCivver Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    EricJames,
    A worker out in 12 or 15 turns can start building a farm while you wait for bronze working, and then chop chop your way to another warrior and settler, or even 3 warriors if you really need it. Getting your second city going 15-25 turns before your opponent can really make a big difference. While you could have two cities at 3 and 2 population, he may only have one city at 4 while he is trying to build a settler.
    -UberCivver
     

Share This Page