1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[FIXED] Angkor Wat effects incorrect

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Confirmed Bugs' started by Gattamelata, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. Gattamelata

    Gattamelata Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    The Angkor Wat in-game and manual descriptions say that it reduces the culture cost of new city tiles by 75% in all cities. In practice, however, it only works on the city that contains the wonder.
     
  2. es4

    es4 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    I built Angkor Wat (-75% culture expansion cost in all cities), but I think I only saw an effect in the city it was built in. Somehow my capital went from most expensive border pops to cheapest border pops when I built it, and there's only one way I can see how that would work.

    (but AW + Stonehenge is still awesome, even if that is a bug/doc problem).
     
  3. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31,146
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    Moderator Action: Threads merged.

    ...does anyone oppose to considering this confirmed?
     
  4. ainwood

    ainwood Consultant. Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,074
    Well, the XML for the wonder says:

    Code:
    <PlotCultureCostModifier>-75</PlotCultureCostModifier>
    Nothing to suggest whether its supposed to be local or global. Can someone prove that its not working on all cities?
     
  5. Grunthex

    Grunthex Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    366
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    I don't have a before and after that would constitute proof, but here's shot from my most recent game. London recently built the AW. You can see their borders are nearing completion. It's 85 culture to the next pop for them. All the other cities (take Canterbury to the west as an example, the newest) are already like 90 culture to pop.
    Spoiler :

     
  6. onlyone

    onlyone Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Yep, I can confirm that it is indeed a bug: Angkor Wat affects only the city it is in.
     
  7. standingwolf

    standingwolf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    vancouver
    i'm also finding this. i thought, wow, i can't miss this super-powered wonder! but then once it was built my smaller cities were still taking 10-20 turns to expand while my capital (with stonehenge) was taking only a few turns.
     
  8. BlackSpy

    BlackSpy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    It seems to me taht Angkor Wat's effect is limited to teh city it's built in, though the text says all cities benefit from it.
     
  9. Dusk

    Dusk Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    351
  10. BlackSpy

    BlackSpy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Here is a save with it not working, it's built in the Thai capital.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31,146
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
  12. BlackSpy

    BlackSpy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    I think I would add to this though that the game effect is probably right, every city would be grossly overpowered.

    I think the way to fix this one is to update the in game descriptions.
     
  13. Anastomosis

    Anastomosis Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Yeah I agree, it would be way overpowered when applied to every city. They should leave the code how it is and change the documentation, or change the code so it affects every city and drop the bonus to 20-30% or so.
     
  14. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,611
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    I loaded the save but can't confirm. AW has already been built, so I can see the current amount of culture each city needs to get more tiles. The capital needs 335 culture points to expand and the remaining three cities need 185, 135 and 275, so it's not obvious that only the capital benefits from AW. However, without knowing the formula that determines the amount needed to expand, or a save from the turn before AW is built, I can't say one way or the other what happened. Does anyone know where the formula is in the code?
     
  15. BlackSpy

    BlackSpy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    I think you can tell by looking at how many tiles each city has claimed in comparison to the capital and then look at how many points are required for the next bump. You'll see the capital is on a huge number of claimed tiles and few points required to claim another while the other cities have relatively few tiles claimed and need quite a lot of points.

    I do very little gold buying of tiles, if memory serves only two tiles in that game, to get a distant sugar.
     
  16. pa2k

    pa2k Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    Same problem here, playing India for a cultural win. Agree that having the effect in just one city seems about right power-wise, but find it very frustrating to have buildt the wonder in the "wrong" city now..

    Furthermore, it seems Hagia Sophia has the same issue; at least there is no +33% GP effect in my capital. So the end result is having these two wonders in cities that would have benefited most from the opposing wonder :cry:
     
  17. YohanLeafheart

    YohanLeafheart Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    Campinas - SP, Brazil
    Here is a save game that confirms the bug. Thebes will Create Angkor Wat in 1 turn, just end it. It will drop the cost for Culture on it from 195 to 50 but the other 2 cities will remain unchanged
     

    Attached Files:

  18. YohanLeafheart

    YohanLeafheart Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    Campinas - SP, Brazil
    Hmm, you are sure? Hagia Sophia is working correctly on my game. Built in Memphis, and Thebes is getting its bonus.

    Great library +1
    2 Specialists +6
    Total +7 Progress bar shows as +9

    Maybe there is something to do with trade networks? Only thing I noticed is that there is a serious rounding problem, either on interface or on the calculations. When you see a bonus as 33%, you expect it to be in fact +1/3. And 1/3 of 6 is 2, adding for a total of 8. But the interface shows to me only 7 on the bar. :confused:
     
  19. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,611
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    Thanks! I confirm that the effects of Angkor Wat are limited to the city in which it's built. I'll move this thread to the Confirmed Bugs forum.

    (If there's to be any further discussion of Hagia Sophia, it might be better to start a new thread to alert others of the new topic.)

    Petek

    Moderator Action: Moved to the Confirmed Bugs forum.
     

Share This Page