1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[FIXED] Catapults can melee attack

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Bug Reports' started by Schimmi, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. Schimmi

    Schimmi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Münster
    I tried the tutorial game and attacked Mecca with my catapult (right click, just forgot to set up before). It was a melee attack as my catapult was injured.
    The save is just before the attack.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Pyrion

    Pyrion Liquid Metal Nanomorph

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Spirit Lake, ID
    I think this is intentional. Does the Catapult have a base damage stat in addition to a ranged damage stat? Since it's a combat unit, base damage is used in case that unit is attacked, or in the off chance you're crazy enough to send it into "melee" combat, so if that's the case (I haven't tried using siege weapons yet) then it's probably intentional.
     
  3. Schimmi

    Schimmi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Münster
    But it has the small red arrow that tells you "no melee attack" and it is stated so in the civilopedia!
     
  4. Dan Quale

    Dan Quale Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    407
    I had the same thing happen with an indian war elephant.
     
  5. ainwood

    ainwood Consultant. Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,083
    Confirmed - thanks!

    If you set-up and then ranged attack, it works normally. If you just right-click without setting-up, it takes damage as you note.
     

Share This Page