1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[FIXED] Embarked land units hindered by land unit Zones of Control

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Confirmed Bugs' started by ButSam, Oct 5, 2010.

  1. ButSam

    ButSam King

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    662
    I noticed in my most recent game that an Embarked Warrior unit was limited in movement to 1 square when moving next to an on-land barbarian unit.

    Unfortunately, I don't have a save handy, but I will try to regenerate the conditions that illustrate this bug so I can post a save. It was 100% reproducible.

    To reproduce: Put an embarked warrior in a Zone of Control of another unit (say, a barbarian) on land. Attempt to move the embarked warrior ship from one coastal (water) ZOC location to another coastal (water) ZOC location, and notice the embarked warrior ship is hindered by ZOC in water.

    Note that a military ship such as a Trireme is not affected by coastal ZOCs from land units, as it should be.

    Sam
     
  2. Mathias

    Mathias OCC Rocks!

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,444
    Units on land are likewise limited by ZOC of embarked enemy units and naval vessels.
     
  3. ButSam

    ButSam King

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    662
    Naval Vessel ZOC makes sense. (But land units should not restrict naval units' ZOCs either, great point.) My understanding of the intent of ZOC movement limitations is to allow a unit to fire back on the enemy before they run away, to simulate the more rapid simultaneous pace of battle in a turn-based way.

    So, I think units should only limit ZOC if they can fire on the unit currently moving from one square to another. Therefore, a land melee (non-ranged) unit should not limit the movement of an embarked land unit and vice versa. I am ok with a naval vessel limiting movement of a land (non-ranged) unit, but not the reverse.

    In all cases, I am ok with a ranged unit limiting ZOC.

    That said, it is certainly a bug for an embarked unit to be limited by the ZOC of a non-ranged unit on land. No retaliatory attack is possible, therefore no ZOC restriction should exist. Any condition without retaliatory attack should also mean no ZOC, even though the two units may be in adjacent hexes.
     
  4. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    Would someone please post a save file that shows that embarked units are affected by land units' ZOC, but regular naval units are not? We can then confirm that as a bug. Thanks.
     
  5. ButSam

    ButSam King

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    662
    Now that I have astronomy I was able to more easily reproduce.

    Here is a save, which shows simultaneously that the embarked Swordsman is affected by an enemy melee barbarian's ZOC, but the nearby military naval units are not affected by the same melee barbarian's ZOC. There are two military naval units near a peninsula with a melee barbarian unit. There is also an embarked Swordsman in the same waters. Moving through the same coastal spaces adjacent to the barbarian melee unit, the military naval units are unaffected by ZOC but the embarked swordsman is.

    EDIT: This is with the latest version as of Oct 7, 1.0.0.20b (meaning the 2nd release of 1.0.0.20, with the Spanish fix).
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    Thanks for posting the save file. I confirm that the embarked Swordsman is affected by the Barb ZOC, but the other naval units are not. I also noted that the embarked Swordsman loses 2 MPs when moving in a ZOC. Page 53 of the English manual states: "When a unit moves between two tiles within an enemy’s ZOC it expends all of its MPs." This is another discrepancy.

    Moderator Action: Moved to the Confirmed Bugs forum
     
  7. ButSam

    ButSam King

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    662
    You're right. I didn't notice this before because I had just barely adopted the Social Policy that gives +1 movement. Therefore, I think the extra movement is due to the +1 movement Social Policy (which in turn grants a promotion, so really it is due to the promotion most likely). Hopefully that tidbit will help in debugging...
     
  8. BomberEscort

    BomberEscort Don't be alarmed; this is a kindness Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kansas City
    This was fixed in the latest patch (1.0.0.62) and can be removed from the list or struck thru...
     
  9. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,938
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Thanks, done :).
     

Share This Page