1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[FIXED] Tile yield icons partially missing after reloading game

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Bug Reports' started by The_J, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,938
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Originally posted here:
    After reloading a savegame, when the tile yield view is activated, parts of the icons vanish. What icons vanish seems to be random.

    Example images:
    Spoiler :





    Related savegame.
     
  2. srad

    srad King

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Heidelberg, Germany
    Same for me.
     
  3. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,938
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    It also happens in the city view:
    Spoiler :

     
  4. ainwood

    ainwood Consultant. Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,083
    I couldn't repeat this. Any more info?
     
  5. SatanasOz

    SatanasOz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Frankfurt, Germany
    confirmed

    steps to repoduce: Load save, activate yield overlay, reload same save.

    I've tried the same with a own save, but everything worked as it should.

    I could swear (sadly, not reproduceable) that the same thing as in The_Js screenshot had happed to me though.

    One similarity is that we all are germans. Just another hint - on the other hand, I play the english version of the game, so it is just that we all play the "european version".
     
  6. SatanasOz

    SatanasOz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Frankfurt, Germany
    ha, wrong - I can confirm The_Js second screenshot too!

    Allready uploaded the screenshot in another bug report.

    Spoiler :


    There is a save in the other thread too.

    So, confirmation for both yield-related things. Still no idea what might have caused it.
     
  7. ainwood

    ainwood Consultant. Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,083
    Ok - thanks. I couldn't get it to work on another save, but I did on this one.

    1.) Load save. Turn off yield icons then back on again.
    2.) scroll around the map a bit.
    3.) Load same save. SOme icons will be missing.
     
  8. Moah

    Moah Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    I had a similar bug, but opposite:

    After the update to 1.0.20 I loaded a save made prior to any patching in which Yield display was activated.
    The game had horrible performance issues, so i turned yield off, when moving to other continents Yield was still showing there. I had to turn it on and off again at that place, and when moving Yield would still show elsewhere.
     
  9. ZiP!

    ZiP! Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    132
    Got a related bug (sorry if this has already been posted): I play with resource icons related. When I load a game, the icons *sometimes* don't show, even though the option is still enabled in the menu. Ticking it off then back on instantly resolves the issue though. This is a very minor issue, I know, but thought I might as well point it out ;p
    On the other hand, I think I have yet to see it happen partially: either ALL icons show up, or ALL icons are hidden.
    Will try to check for a pattern as for when it bugs out and when not (maybe when restarting the game entirely? reloading when already playing another game? dunno)
    If it helps, I got the European version too, playing in English (Steam in English too) on a Computer with a French OS.
     
  10. Dusk

    Dusk Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    I don't think this is the same as the 2nd screens that was posted. In my game I've noticed when two cities overlap on hexes, if one city works the tile then the other city sees it as that arrow icon, but if one city does not work a tile, but they claimed the tiles first through cultural expansion, then the second city sees that tile without yields unless they send a worker there.
     
  11. SatanasOz

    SatanasOz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Frankfurt, Germany
    Might be, but I am pretty sure, the desert tile in the topmost left corner of the screen was claimed by the city of the screen shot. In The_Js screenshot it could be that those tiles were at some point blockaded like the lower left ones and didn't get their yield icons back when the units moved along

    I would still think that both errors have the same basic error. The yields should alway be refreshed, no matter how, when you enter the city screen. This should be the case, no matter if the tile is workable, worked by another city or even blockaded. When I enter the city screen I want to see that.
     
  12. lightsedge

    lightsedge Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Alameda, CA
    I have the same problem. Yield icons disappear from a region of tiles. I reload the game to fix it.
     
  13. Roller123

    Roller123 Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    589
    Recheck "show tile yields" checkbox in the lower right corner of the UI. No reload needed.
     
  14. lightsedge

    lightsedge Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Alameda, CA
    That doesn't fix it. The missing icons stay missing.
     
  15. Roller123

    Roller123 Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    589
    Fixed it for me. Maybe i also switched to city view and back. Yields and Icons disappear quite often too.
     
  16. Emptiness

    Emptiness []

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,922
    I just had this happen to me. It was very frustrating, because nothing I tried would fix it (including reloading and toggling the "show tile yields" option). Eventually I gave up and decided to press on. A few turns later I noticed that the problem had fixed itself.
     
  17. monkeysmack

    monkeysmack Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    This topic says "fixed". I don't see the fix... Anyways, I managed to reproduce the bug by clicking around a lot on the mini map. It seems like the game can't keep up with drawing the tile yields when you do that. If you smooth scroll outside the effected area and then smooth scroll back, the tile yields reappear.
     
  18. headcase

    headcase Limit 1 Facepalm Per Turn

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,213
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I've toggled tile yields, restarted game, changed resolution, and updated vid card drivers. Next I'll try Steam cache and then it's on to re-install.
     

Share This Page