Flash's Terra map

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Creation & Customization' started by Flash1, Nov 13, 2005.

  1. Flash1

    Flash1 Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Carbondale, Il
    Hello all,
    I'm making a terra sized Earth map. It will be 128 x 80. I found a new mercator Topographical map I like and scanned and cropped it into 4 pieces.

    I have a few questions?
    How do I find plot 0,0?
    Any ideas for features I should consider?
    How many civs?

    I attached a preview map of piece 1a of the eastern Hemisphere

     
  2. Flash1

    Flash1 Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Carbondale, Il
    The above map makes a 58 x 70 section.
    And it covers roughly 60degree by 60degrees.
     
  3. Flash1

    Flash1 Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Carbondale, Il
    part 2 of map. it is section 2a
     
  4. tbear2520

    tbear2520 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    I like this, but I have some issues. I realize memory equals limitations but to get a real Earth like playable game there are details of the land that need to be there. The problem is that those details can't be there in a 256*256 field. That literially would leave no vastness of the oceans. I've been able to expand the map a little beyond the 256*256 but not much. I have no ideas currently for a work around but I am looking it some possibilities. Some answers though are provided for extending the time table and changing resource\tech percentages. But as to the actual map. I am thinking maybe a America's and a Asia map. Then contecting the two on the ends. Kinda like those civ mods of old that used a space map and earth map. I might be off a bit here but something like this could posibily be used. Or just find a method to expand the 256*256 to something like 600*400. Which might be possible if you disable some graphic stuff. I'm going to try that one right now.
     
  5. Flash1

    Flash1 Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Carbondale, Il
    Right now this project is for a Terra sized map of 128x80. There is a mod by Low that will make a 160 x 80 map but there are memory issues that the game has or I would make this map 160 x 80. I would prefer something about 256 x 128.
     
  6. davbenbak

    davbenbak Lackey

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    Texas
    two seperate maps would be great too (Old World/New World).
     
  7. Flash1

    Flash1 Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Carbondale, Il
    Okay here are the last two sections. The cover 60 degrees north and upward. they have been compressed.

    Map 1b is 58 x 10
    Map 2b is 70 x 10
     
  8. tbear2520

    tbear2520 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    I saw this on one of these forums but couldn't locate the actual link. So here's a FTP link from my IE history

    ftp://ftp.ngdc.noaa.gov/GLOBE_DEM/pictures/

    Take a look at the file

    ftp://ftp.ngdc.noaa.gov/GLOBE_DEM/pictures/GLOBALeb3colshade.jpg

    I've already taken the image and produced a bmp file that is along the lines of the BMPC186 BMP to WBS for the portion related to Height. The BMP is almsost 80 megs. Ouch... But I am getting fast at editing it. Just a thought for those out there. I figure it's the best detailed and can be scaled down to even the largest map or smallest. Oh and there's no text to deal with on the image. Enjoy

    Tbear2520
     
  9. Flash1

    Flash1 Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Carbondale, Il
    tbear,
    you rock.

    I'd seen the second map before and it was redone for CTP2. I always wondered what the original map looked like. I can't thank you enough. If i do a 256 x 128 map I'll use this one.
     
  10. Flash1

    Flash1 Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Carbondale, Il
    Change of plans. Thanks to the Atlas Project. I'm doing a 180 x 130 map. If this one will run, then I'll consider as my pet project the gigantic 256 x 128 map.

    The idea is to bring each 10 degrees of latitude from 60 degrees North latitude to 60 degrees South latitude to equal 10 plots.

    Each 20 degrees of logitude equals 10 plots
     
  11. Junuxx

    Junuxx Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,153
    Great initiative, and I like your approach to compress the polar regions.

    Dunno if you have it, but an application like photoshop can very easily put a 180x130 raster on any image, might be useful for classification or to get an impression what it'll be like.

    Of course, I'm glad Atlas could help :)

    (edit: I gave it a quick try and I must say Africa comes out pretty huge... See attachment
    this is resized to 180x120 at 1 deg latitude/2 deg longitude per pixel)
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Flash1

    Flash1 Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Carbondale, Il
    Thanxx junuxx,
    That looks like part of a map I found edited for CTP2.
    I resized and cropped it to 225 x 110.
     
  13. Flash1

    Flash1 Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Carbondale, Il
    *Reserved*
     
  14. tbear2520

    tbear2520 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    Well here's the altered Earth with Height. I could add more hills and mountains in places like Alaska. But it's taken alot to get it to where it is now even.



    It's a screen shot in a openoffice - MS-Word 2000 doc file.

    It's 4 megs as a jpg. Ouch

    TBear2520
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Junuxx

    Junuxx Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,153
    @tbear:

    I think the Alps, the Pyrenees, the Balkans and lots of the Andes are missing..?
    Saving as a gif should help to reduce size btw.
     
  16. tbear2520

    tbear2520 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    Junuxx, thanks for the tip on the gif. I'll try that. Currently I'm at work and won't have time for a couple of days.

    Yea I will have to go back and adjust some hills and mountains a little bit. The color's didn't quite seperate or show them much. I spent all day :crazyeye: trying to get rid of little color spots throughout the map. In the end hopefully it will all be worth it. ;)

    Got to go for now.

    TBear2520
     
  17. panza105

    panza105 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    One Question on SUPER Map, a Small land on top so we can do polar trips from US to euope?
     
  18. tbear2520

    tbear2520 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    Yea I've been thinking that. I really don't get much play time though. But maybe Saturday I will tackle it some more. I was thinking maybe some Ice along the top but I haven't worked just the right idea in my head yet.

    Tbear2520
     
  19. Flash1

    Flash1 Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Carbondale, Il
    Are you guys true explorers or just Exkimos? Just joking.

    Interesting concept though.
     
  20. panza105

    panza105 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    12

    Both? Maybe just an Old f--- Wanting to go.
     

Share This Page