1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

FlavourMod - Mapscript Module

Discussion in 'FfH2 Modmods, Scenarios, and Maps' started by Jean Elcard, Apr 26, 2008.

  1. WCH

    WCH Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    491
    Is this compatible with 0.32 E?
     
  2. Jean Elcard

    Jean Elcard The Flavournator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,008
    Location:
    Leipzig, Germany
    Yes, it is.

    Currently I'm thinking about a version 2 of FlavourMod. The new version probably won't be that cross-compatible with everything anymore (because it will involve SDK adn XML changes), but it will allow me to make it more user-friendly (for example make it a clickable game option like "advanced start" and so on) and to remove some bad workarounds I had to introduce to make the current version work with python only.
     
  3. Greeneyedzombie

    Greeneyedzombie King

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    707
    Location:
    Below the sea.
    I love the script thus far, but there is a bug, with civs spawning on mountain tiles.
     
  4. Jean Elcard

    Jean Elcard The Flavournator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,008
    Location:
    Leipzig, Germany
    Nice to hear, you like it. I suppose you were using Cephalo's PerfectWorld script I bundled with FlavourMod? I think the mountain start, that sometimes occurs (I recognized it too), is probably an issue of this particular map script and has nothing to do with FlavourMod itself. But if it should happen with other modified map scripts too, than please tell me and I will take a look.
     
  5. Greeneyedzombie

    Greeneyedzombie King

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    707
    Location:
    Below the sea.
    Ok, I will, as soon as I find out how to add it to other scripts. Thus far Im unsuccesfull in opening the scripts.
     
  6. Jean Elcard

    Jean Elcard The Flavournator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,008
    Location:
    Leipzig, Germany
    Most of the scripts currently used by civ4 are in the folders: "<civ4>\Beyond the Sword\PublicMaps" and"<civ4>\Warlords\PublicMaps". You can open them up with a simple text editor like Notepad. Then just follow the How to: "Flavour up other mapscripts" guide in my first post.
     
  7. Greeneyedzombie

    Greeneyedzombie King

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    707
    Location:
    Below the sea.
    mmm....guess Im a complete noob with this stuff.
    Tried to open it with a txt editor. By changing the extension to "txt" but now I cant change it back to "py" and its lost from the maps I can choose in the game. :(
     
  8. Demus

    Demus King

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    962
    redownload the script. select the script (while still with .py, no need to change this), "open with", then select notepad, or wordpad or whatever you use.
     
  9. giddion

    giddion Crusader

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Maybe you have it set to hide known file extensions, that would explain why you can't change it back. To fix...

    Open Windows Explorer
    TOOLS => FOLDER OPTIONS
    Click on VIEW tab
    Untick "hide extensions for known file types"


    And yes you are a noob but thats ok as we were all a noob once... :)
     
  10. DuckAndCower

    DuckAndCower Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Next time, instead of changing the extension to .txt, just:

    1. Right click on the file
    2. Click "Open With"
    3. Click "Choose Program"
    4. Pick Notepad from the list
    5. Click the "Always use the selected program" checkbox
    6. Hit okay
     
  11. Greeneyedzombie

    Greeneyedzombie King

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    707
    Location:
    Below the sea.
    he he, no need to rub it in. ;)
    But thnx all for the help. Finaly got it to work.
     
  12. Darksaber1

    Darksaber1 Secret Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,220
    Location:
    Where you least expect me
    When I start Pefrect_World, The game freezes at Initializing. Any tips on what's wrong?
     
  13. LetsBoogeyUp

    LetsBoogeyUp Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Nothing. The game takes a LONG time to load with this mapscript. 5-6 minutes.
     
  14. Darksaber1

    Darksaber1 Secret Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,220
    Location:
    Where you least expect me
    Whhooo, that's inconvienient. Really hope it's worth it.
     
  15. LetsBoogeyUp

    LetsBoogeyUp Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    It generally is, really. Sometimes I have to restart (like when I am playing Austrin (or whatever FF's new Wind-Civ is) and I get started in jungles) but the map generated is normally amazing/balanced.

    I suggest you allow for civs to start anywhere, creates a more fantasy-world feeling (continent v continent wars; Lunan ALWAYS (for me at least) starting on an island) Oh, and do not be afraid if you see big swaths of desert. That is normal.
     
  16. Jean Elcard

    Jean Elcard The Flavournator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,008
    Location:
    Leipzig, Germany
    It's worth to wait. Perfect World comes usually up with very nice maps.

    I just released a beta of FlavourMod 2. If somebody wants to try it out, then he or she can find the download link on this page: FlavourMod 2 Thread

    It's a real and easy to use modmod now. Not a rather strange mapscript module anymore. No need to add code to each map script you want to use anymore either. To check a game option is anything it needs from now on to flavour up a FfH game. It's FfH only at the moment, but I'm going to release a Fall Further version soon.

    It's probably a good idea to delete the old FlavourMod.py and PerfectWorld_Flavoured.py from your PublicMaps directory first before giving FlavourMod2 a try, to prevent any possible confusion.
     

Share This Page