1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

For all those beginning players

Discussion in 'Civ3 Strategy Articles' started by Infested-Jerk, Jun 5, 2005.

1. Infested-Jerk

Infested-Jerk Chieftain

Civ3 can be a confusing game, let's all face it, that's why civfanatics is here.
    This article is for all those players like me who can't seem to crush the other nations. Well, I have a couple tips. (This is for chieftan because you won't get far without Alot of playing, as I learned in a regent game. I Got kicked around liek a soccer ball.)

When I started playing I would usualy concentrate on making my cities get every available imporvement. Usualy I'd only get settlers to get near resources and otherwise. Big mistake. In civ3 you have to spread quickly. With my first city now I'll get a barracks, a warrior to explore than a settler. Then I'll usualy repeat. If you're playing on a pangea tiny map culture will be your bread and butter. With culture you can extend your borders further and eat up your enemie's land.

Large amounts of territory are you friend. Got that?

Second diplomatic agreements.
    Let's say you are in a tiny pangea would with 70% water coverage. Barbarians are roaming and you are playing against babylon and spain.
    The reason diplomacy becomes important is becuase spain knows you have fewer troops and cities so it demands tribute and all that junk. They know you are weak so they take advantage of it. Usualy if you horde gold like I do, you can switch technology trades for gold, but flatly saying no often promotes wars. Babylon meanwhile might side with spain in any war, so look out.