Votes: 6 60.0%
  • No

Votes: 1 10.0%
  • Depends

Votes: 3 30.0%

• Total voters

REDY

Duty Caller
The more I am thinking about aids to Africa the more I think that these aids are actually counteproductive. This is probably very controversial opinion and honestly I would not present it to my rl friends. I studied non-profit sector and many my former school mates are actually working on aid to Africa and some even work there for almost no salary, just because they like helping people.

Sure there are some positive numbers like lower rate of child infancy or increase of average age. But for me its worrying that Africa actually has no resources for such population growth and so it will be allways hellhole dependant on world. It seem that aids actually conserve ineffective regimes, or at least its economies and societies. I cannot think of any progressive development in any African country in last years.

What do you think?

Last edited:
If you don't consider decreased infant mortality and increased longevity progressive developments, I don't know what you would count as such.

If you don't consider decreased infant mortality and increased longevity progressive developments, I don't know what you would count as such.

Given that he said "so it will be allways hellhole dependant on world", likely some form of out of sight, out of mind.

The question in the poll is so vague that "It Depends" is the only reasonable, if entirely pointless, answer. I'm not really knowledgeable enough to begin to weigh up the pros and cons of the various forms of foreign aid that exist, but from your post it seems you have a couple of basic misconceptions that are getting in the way of a proper understanding of this issue.