1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Forests?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by Dr Corbett, Mar 12, 2006.

1. Dr Corbett

Dr Corbett Chieftain

Do I save up for railroad+lumbermill combo later in game, or do I viciously denude them? I confess I'm a bit of a fan of state property or free market when I get them, and I've never tried Environmentalism (the benefit seems somewhat small, all things considered)...

I'm sure that you want to axe jungles posthaste, but I'm not sure about the trees. These days I cut them to bits to support wonder building or something. I'm a bit of a noob though, so advice would be appreciated, even if it's "well it depends!" which I'm sure it'll be.

2. scienide09

scienide09 Regular lurker

I keep my forests for a constant heath benefit, along with the later increased lumbermill production boost. I will even switch to enviromentalism later in the game if I need the extra health.

Try chopping everything just outside of your fat cross. You won't get quite as many shields from them, but if you're going to chop anyway, you might as well start there.

3. Willem

Willem Deity

Each plot of Forest gives you .5 health so it's really not a bad idea to save what you can for the time when your cities are really big and creating a bunch of population unhealthiness. Myself, I save any Forest that is on Hills or Plains, unless they're next to a river. Grassland Forests generally get chopped to make way for Cottages, or Farms if I really need them.

Incidentally, a wooded Hill with a Lumbermill gives you the exact same yield as if you built a Mine. Minus the Hammers you get for the chop of course.

4. jerVL/kg

jerVL/kg Sheep Nuker