1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Forts & Citadels

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Strategy & Tips' started by GoodRevrnd, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. GoodRevrnd

    GoodRevrnd Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    I was under the impression that forts, as in Civ 4, can be used to connect resources. However, this did not turn out to be the case the one time I tried. Was this an anomaly for some reason or does this not work anymore? If it does work, will Citadels also connect resources?


    Also, will forts/citadels act as canals like in Civ 4?
     
  2. Insanity_X

    Insanity_X Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    The short answer is that forts in Civ 5 are purely militaristic in nature. They have no function other than to provide a tile which provides a significant boost to the unit defending it.
     
  3. GoodRevrnd

    GoodRevrnd Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    Do forts and citadels defensive bonus stack with rough terrain or does it simply replace terrain modifiers?
     
  4. Pragmatic

    Pragmatic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    535
    Forts and citadels, from what I understand, can't be built on rough terrain. They MUST be built on open terrain.

    Which means that a fort on open terrain is: 67% (-33% penalty from open terrain) x 150% (fort bonus) = 100% of rough terrain. And it gets destroyed if captured by the enemy.

    And citadels are 67%x200% = 133% of rough terrain. (Plus 3 damage to adjacent enemy units.) And it only works for the civ that owns the tile.
     
  5. Platin

    Platin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Do forts cost maintenance?
     
  6. GoodRevrnd

    GoodRevrnd Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    This is wrong, I have built forts on hills and in forest (without destroying the forest) many times. And it still doesn't really answer if the bonus completely overrides terrain modifiers.
     
  7. 12agnar0k

    12agnar0k Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,556
    Citadels can be built on rough terrain btw, and as for forts I've never built one so far in Civ 5, but they don't act as cannals I don't think, the Citadel is however a very cool improvement.
     
  8. Dbob

    Dbob Merchant Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    Yeah you can definitely build them on hills. I just won a cultural OCC using this tactic... with some artillery behind it citadels are extremely powerful. Held off a much larger empire of the same tech level. :cool:
     
  9. Pragmatic

    Pragmatic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    535
    In that case, this is very promising for my "Vauban Fortress Island" map I want to design. :)
     
  10. GoodRevrnd

    GoodRevrnd Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    Ya, it's crazy good. I made myself a little Maginot Line (except mine actually worked) for my Bollywood achieve.
     
  11. Rathelon

    Rathelon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    I like the forts and citadels. The citadels damage any enemy unit that comes into an adjacent hex, and give 100% defensive bonus to the unit inside. I just wish you could build the citadel outside your territory, like you can with forts.
     
  12. Bibor

    Bibor Doomsday Machine

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,302
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Indeed forts are very powerful, although citadels... depends. If you have a spare great general then yes. Otherwise I prefer him being alive for that 2-hex-wide +25% combat bonus.
     
  13. Drew the Great

    Drew the Great Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Where do you guys place your forts/citadels? I've been wanting to utilize them and other than one time where I had my capitol wedged in the corner between two mountains I always feel like I'm not providing any real strategic use by plopping them down.
     
  14. Bibor

    Bibor Doomsday Machine

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,302
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    If there isn't any strategic use then don't plop them :)
     
  15. Rathelon

    Rathelon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Since you have to put the citadel inside your borders, it's hard to find a place to put it (in my opinion). But in my current game, one of my cities has a single desert tile next to it, so I put one there and stationed an archer in it.
     
  16. GoodRevrnd

    GoodRevrnd Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    On my Bollywood game, my ONLY aluminum popped up under my citadel. This citadel was honestly in an absolutely critical place and while I didn't need the aluminum that badly to finish out the game (Germany was too far behind in tech to matter) I was still pretty pissed.
     
  17. QuixotesGhost

    QuixotesGhost Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    It's much easier to trade for strategic resources now. In fact AIs seem to give them away with almost every trade.
     
  18. Drew the Great

    Drew the Great Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    I guess I'm more curious as to when they would have a strategic use. It's rare to find a nice bottleneck so most of the time an enemy can just go around rather than even have to deal with the fort.

    I mean I would love every map to have a Thermopylae style bottleneck where I can just toss a citadel and pray some poor fool would try to break through, but 90% of the time I'm on the coast with a full spray of open hexes.
     
  19. adrianj

    adrianj Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,054
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Do citadel's provide offensive bonuses or only defensive?
    If the bonuses are only for defense, wouldn't it make more sense to put great defensive unit (eg, melee unit) in there with the archers behind? +100% to an archer's defensive combat strength is still woeful.
     
  20. Rathelon

    Rathelon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Citadels give 100% defensive bonus, and deal 3 damage to any enemy unit that enters an adjacent hex. I would probably put a tank there, but I havent played a game that far yet. ;)
     

Share This Page