1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Four barb archers in 3000 BC?!?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by rmunn, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. rmunn

    rmunn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    I've gotten rather good at Noble difficulty, so I decided to jump right up to Monarch. Started a game as Lincoln. Three clams and a sheep in my capital's BFC, looks like a fair start, I figure I'll try running specialists to make full use of Philosophical.

    About 20-30 turns in (I think), I see a Korean scout arrive from my west, and think nothing of it. Then maybe 5-10 turns later, I see a stack of FOUR barbarian archers marching from the west, straight towards my capital! My lone warrior quickly gets wiped out, and I lose the game -- my fastest Civ game ever.

    My question is, how could four barb archers be showing up, in a single stack, before 3000 BC? The only thing I can figure is that the Korean scout was not scouting alone, but that Korea had a warrior out as well. That warrior popped a hut, got "the villagers are hostile!" which spawned four archers around him. After wiping him out, the archers then marched straight for the nearest city, which happened to be my capital.

    Does that seem plausible? Or is Monarch just that much harder than Noble, and I'll have to step up my barbarian defenses by a lot?
     
  2. Yxklyx

    Yxklyx King

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    869
    The Archers were created by an Event.
     
  3. capnvonbaron

    capnvonbaron Democratia gladii

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,783
    Location:
    cyberland, USA
    Huts never pop archers.

    You got served by the random Vedic Aryan event. Congrats. If you reload the game and go through the event log you'll see something about them "...wishing to plunder the riches of yada yada". Is just as likely to happen on Noble as Monarch.

    PS: Sounds like a decent start otherwise. Just reload the 4000BC save and hope the even doesn't happen again. :)
     
  4. rmunn

    rmunn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    I did, it didn't, and I've discovered that I'm sitting on a natural "neck" of land on my continent, cutting Korea off from fully half the continent, which is mine to explore & settle at my leisure -- everyone else is on (an)other continent(s). Should be a pretty good game...
     
  5. Yxklyx

    Yxklyx King

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    869
    I like this event - keeps me on my toes; however, they moved really weird in my last game. They appeared near my city but then moved away towards another Civ - only to return 10-20 turns later.
     
  6. wydon

    wydon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    The barabarians have assigned cities to attack, and then when completed move to another civ, it doesn't seem they attack the closest enemy. I've had 4 archers destroy one civ, march through my civ and attack and destroy another civ, before 2000 BC!
     
  7. Bostock

    Bostock King

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    776
    I swear to Jesus Christ on a pogo stick, we should just sticky Vedic Archers and be done with it. :lol:
     
  8. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam Top Logic

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    25,684
    Hey hey! Another person on the forums got a "screw you" event!

    Custom game ----> events off. Or disable the ones that are imbalanced, but that's like 1/3 of them so it's easier just to do away with them.
     

Share This Page