1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Free Camera 31 Mar 2018

Unhindered Camera tilt/rotation, ultra zoom, scrollable time of day, and simple controls.

  1. MadManCam

    MadManCam Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Minnesota, United States
    MadManCam submitted a new resource:

    Free Camera - Unhindered Camera tilt/rotation, ultra zoom, scrollable time of day, and simple controls.

    Read more about this resource...
     
    Clubber Lang and Gedemon like this.
  2. MadManCam

    MadManCam Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Minnesota, United States
    How to Change the Mod Settings
    In Game Mod Settings are finally here! Just click "Settings" on the Control Panel to bring up the game settings. Explore all the options, you can change everything from keybinds to mouse wheel zoom speed.


    NOTE: While you can change the settings in the game, defaults are reloaded every time you load the game. In order to change the default settings, you must do some simple file editing.

    IMPORTANT: Editing game files, including those from mods, may cause de-syncs in multiplayer games. In multiplayer games, you may just have to make the changes on game load in the in game mod settings menu.


    1. Civ VI must be closed in order to make changes. Open the main mod folder.

    2. Make a copy of FreeCamera_Settings.sql, put it in the same location and rename it to FreeCamera_LocalSettings.sql

    3. Open FreeCamera_LocalSettings.sql with any text editor, this is the file where you can make changes

    4. If you are familiar with the in game settings, all of the values in the file should make sense. Change what you want and then save the file. Now you can start Civ VI and your custom settings will load by default whenever you load a game!





    NOTE: Some of the settings cannot be controlled by simple lua or database variables. Things such as camera zoom limits are controlled by an Artdef file, and the file must be changed in order to change the setting. See below for these types of changes.


    How to Change the Maximum Camera Zoom

    This change must be done with the game closed. Remember you need to change the files again after you update the mod.

    1. Go to the \ArtDefs\ folder for the mod

    2. Open Camera.artdef file with any text editor

    3. Press Ctrl + F or Command + F on Mac

    4. Type in 8000 and do a search, there is another 8000 value later in the file, but the value to change is the first 8000 that shows up in the file.

    5. Change the value of 8000 to something lower like 1000 or 2000.

    6. Save the file and close it. Now start the game.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2018
    Clubber Lang likes this.
  3. Clubber Lang

    Clubber Lang Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    118
    Gender:
    Male
    Brilliant.
     
  4. MadManCam

    MadManCam Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Minnesota, United States
    MadManCam updated Free Camera with a new update entry:

    QOL update

    Read the rest of this update entry...
     
    Clubber Lang likes this.
  5. Jyet

    Jyet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    This looks absolutely brilliant, I want it.
    I'm running the iOS iPad version of the game, neither the newest or the older version work for me :(
    If there is anything I can do to help troubleshoot for iOS let me know, I'm very interested.
     
  6. MadManCam

    MadManCam Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Minnesota, United States
    Thanks for letting me know that it doesn't work. To be honest, I have no idea if the iOS iPad version of the game even supports mods. Have you found other mods that work for it? Does the zoom work at least, or is there still default zoom?

    What I would need to get it working is a file called Lua.log. On Mac it should be in the folder Users/<user name>/Library/Application Support/Sid Meier's Civilization VI/Logs/. The .log file can be opened with any text editor, and then you need to go to www.pastebin.com, paste all of the contents there. Make sure it is set to public then click make new paste. Now you can copy and share the unique web url that was generated for your paste for anyone to view and post it here for me. If you would somehow be able to do this all on an iPad, I would be very impressed and grateful.
     
  7. Jyet

    Jyet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    I'll work on getting you logs. There are options on the iPad versions appOptions.txt to enable logging so maybe I can.

    It actually crashes the game to the iOS desktop.

    I have moar units working and an older version of JFD's Rule with Faith working. The guy that showed me that some mods can work had a screenshot of a mod that let you rotate the camera working, so my guess is possible.

    Let me see what I can do about those logs.
     
  8. Jyet

    Jyet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Ok I'm using the newest version of your mod for these logs. It's crashing right when the picture of the chosen civ is loading and the announcer starts talking but before the blue button to jump into the game loads. (EDIT: all other mods were disabled for this)

    EDIT: Also I think from reading other conversations that the iPad version doesn't run the latest patch. Which is why the older version 8 of Rule With Faith actually works. Hope that helps, your work and ideas look awesome!!!

    https://pastebin.com/2REGhy6V
     
  9. MadManCam

    MadManCam Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Minnesota, United States
    Thanks for posting that log file! I'm not seeing any errors in the Lua.log that you posted, so the issue could be happening with something else. If a lua file actually crashes the game it might also not print any errors either though.

    Right now I suspect the crashing issue is related to the modified Camera.artdef rather than the lua file. Can you try using the light version: Free Rotation, to see if that works for you? That version does not replace the Camera.artdef file.
     
  10. Jyet

    Jyet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Yes that version "Free Rotation" is working Q and E worked - (WASD) didn't do anything and it breaks the games touch input ability 1 finger drag to pan (two fingers to zoom still works), key rebinding of the defaults or by editing the script doesn't fix.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2018
  11. MadManCam

    MadManCam Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Minnesota, United States
    Interesting, they must have re-written some of that file for the iOS iPad version of the game. It sounds like they re-wrote how panning works, which is probably why this mod's WorldInput.lua breaks all of the panning on iPad. Is it possible for you to access the UI files for the iPad version at all? If you could link a paste bin with the WorldInput.lua file from the iPad version, I could examine it and see how they did panning, and then try to make a separate mod for iPad. It would be cool to get the camera mod going for iPad!
     
  12. Jyet

    Jyet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Honestly the biggest feature I want is to be able to be allowed to zoom out further than the default, I don't even need rotation of any kind or extra hotkeys or anything fancier than that, that would (I suspect) be a huge mod for most iPad Civ Players. I sent ya a PM about helping and I am happy to if those files ever become available (right now I don't think it's possible unless someone has an iOS 11 up to 11.1.2 and not newer and is willing to root access it/jailbreak to take a look) -I'm happy to test anything you make if you have new stuff or care to take any shots in the dark!

    Anyways, I'll keep an eye out for situation changes and for your mods and messages. Cheers MadManCam!!
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2018
  13. MadManCam

    MadManCam Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Minnesota, United States
    I've attached a file with a mod that only replaces the game's Camera.artdef file. You can mess around with stuff in the Camera.artdef file if you are interested. The minimum and maximum zoom are defined by the values of "5" and "2000" early on in the file (It is nested in with stuff that will say "HeightCurve", the maximum zoom will be near a value of "100" and the minimum zoom is near a value of "0"). You have to restart Civ 6 for changes made to the file to have an effect. If only this Camera.artdef replacement mod crashes your game, try changing the minimum zoom to its default value of 120 and the maximum zoom to its default value of 600. If that still crashes your game, there is probably an incompatibility with how the camera has been coded for the iPad version.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 7, 2018
  14. Jyet

    Jyet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Crashes. I changed the numbers as you said, still crashes.

    MadManCam thank you so much for trying to fix this up for us, it's very much appreciated, was fun to try too. Hopefully someone will be able to get the info we need to move further, until then -cheers!!!!!!
     
  15. MadManCam

    MadManCam Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Minnesota, United States
    MadManCam updated Free Camera with a new update entry:

    More Zoom Control + Bug fix

    Read the rest of this update entry...
     
    Clubber Lang likes this.
  16. MadManCam

    MadManCam Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Minnesota, United States
    MadManCam updated Free Camera with a new update entry:

    The update you've been waiting for

    Read the rest of this update entry...
     
    Clubber Lang likes this.
  17. OusOne

    OusOne Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi MadManCam. Are you able to adapt that mod so it can work on iOS iphone?
    I added your mod on iOS mod folder, and the game recognise it, but since the mod is prepared to be used with mouse, you can not interact with the game.

    I'm trongly searching the way to increase the zoom range in iOS.
     
  18. OusOne

    OusOne Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male

    Hi!! Have been testing your file and trying different thing. Even.. I had reemplaced teh Camera.artdef file you provide for the camera.artdef file from Kinetkam. Somehow, it seems the game ignore it. If you drop all the "Free Camera- iPad" folder into the Mod folder, the game recognize it. Into the game, you can enable or disable. But seems the beahvior oth the zoom doesent change.

    The great thing is that firaxis let manipulate some fliles using the iTunes Share Files, like some presets on the beggining, or savegames, or Mod folthers. But the main Camera.artdef is hiden inside the app file. Yo can acces to it doing some tricks but then you have to compile the app again in orther to insal it again in the device. And to compile an app you have to be an autorized apple app developper.

    I atach here a zip file containing the folder you can free acces so you can take a look.

    Please.. can you tak a look to that. Maybe you will find a solution to increase the zoom on iOS (iPad / iPhone) game.

    Thank you very much!!!!
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Smity2k1

    Smity2k1 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    233
    I've been using the Steam Workshop mod "Tactical Camera." It's not as good as Free Camera, but it works in GS, so there is that.
     
  20. OusOne

    OusOne Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi!!!
    Thank you very Much.
    I'm trying to download, but since I don't have Steam instaled, I'm not able to take the file. Can you share it?

    What do you mean by "it works in GS". I assume you referinf iOS?
     

Share This Page