1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Free Memory Boost program. Helps v1.52 from crashing.....

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Technical Support' started by PDXcraterman, Jan 13, 2006.

  1. PDXcraterman

    PDXcraterman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Please understand this. I am NOT promoting or trying to sell anything here.

    I could play v1.52 for approx 45 min - 1 hour before my system would reboot, After reboot I would get a MS crash report and this is what it came back as...

    *Problem description*

    The error was caused by a problem in your computer's random access
    memory (RAM). Microsoft is unable to determine if this problem was
    caused by a hardware or software issue, although this type of problem is
    usually caused by hardware.


    *Recommendation*

    Microsoft recommends that you download and run the Windows Memory
    Diagnostic tool on your computer to find out if this is a hardware or
    software problem. On most computers, you can download the diagnostic,
    read the documentation, run the test, and complete the test in less than
    30 minutes.

    I did this and all my RAM came out with no errors. This happened three days in a row. A few nights back I down loaded MemTest & RamBooster (free shareware) from www.snapfiles.com . Ran the MemTest overnight per instructions and had no bad RAM found. Then I ran RamBoost and played Civ IV for almost two hours with cursing, kicking or screaming at the comp because of a crash.
    I have not been able to do a longer test then the first night but this does look promising if you have this problem.


    I hope this works for other people.......;)

    Here is what I run on......

    AMD Athlon (TM) XP 1800+
    1.53 GHz
    512 Ram
    Nvidia GeForce 6600 GT card w/128 MB DDR3 AGP8x
     
  2. asmodai

    asmodai Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    100
    Try www.memtest86.com and/or www.memtest.org.

    I don't believe in the 'value' of so-called ram optimizers for Windows. Reading rambooster's information sounds to me like a sort of garbage collection shell in which to run your programs.

    Also, subtle errors in timings, overclocking, electricity and the like are hard to find using software.
    The best test is still a hardware memory tester.
     
  3. Laramon

    Laramon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    I don't think you read his post... said he already used memtest.
     
  4. WHLNH

    WHLNH Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    I have not run any tests, but am surprised I am not seeing more posted on this error. I too have the game crash after some play with it telling me I have run out of memory. I have 1 MB of memory.

    This problem did not happen before I installed the latest patch. Any suggestions for a solution?

    Bill
     
  5. Zydor

    Zydor Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,120
    WHLNH

    Patch V1.52 resolved a lotof memory related issues, one of the ways it did this was to place more work on the graphics cards

    Please post your Dxdiag and we can have a look at your system

    Regards
    Zy
     
  6. asmodai

    asmodai Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    100
    I did, but I just missed it.
     
  7. PDXcraterman

    PDXcraterman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Well, Did any one else have any luck? It seems that this boost program possibly crashes other games :cry: WOW, WC3 FT, Stronghold... SO I have removed that program and am seeing if it helped or not on CIV4 for sure...
     

Share This Page