1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Free Recon Units

Discussion in 'Mods Repository' started by adan_eslavo, Sep 18, 2018.

  1. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,508
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    FREE RECON UNITS
    (aka Scouts Ignore Borders)

    Are you tired of moving your Scout manually through the territory of your opponents? Are you scared of being closed on peninsula by borders of other city? Did you encountered traps like in the screenshot below?

    Scout closed on a peninsula without possibility to get out:
    upload_2018-9-19_10-53-36.png

    @Ryika made on Steam cure for this. I adjusted his/her mod to be more universal. Such major changes required renaming the mod.

    Units which receive such ability in v2:
    • all Recon Units except: Paratroopers and X-COM Squad,
    • Workboats.
    If you want standard version where all recon units can cross borders, and only recon units - please download v1 from the same source.

    Download Free Recon Units (v2)/(v1 optional)

    Enjoy!
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2018
  2. ryanmusante

    ryanmusante Regular Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    901
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2018
  3. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,508
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    Here you have. Updated main post.
     
    ryanmusante likes this.
  4. CppMaster

    CppMaster Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    834
    Location:
    Poland
    Is it save compatible if I weren't using it at start of a game?
     
  5. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,508
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    v2m2 out:
    Code:
    v2m2:
    - deleted xml code; substituted it with sql,
    - now code can be used with any mod changing unit, but it must be added as dependency,
    - added 3 dependencies for now: VP, VPEE, MUCfVP.
    - code now looks for every RECON unit and grants it permission to enter rival territory.
    @CppMaster Probably not. It changes sql tables value and such things very often crash the game. I suggest finishing current game.
     
    ryanmusante and CppMaster like this.
  6. ryanmusante

    ryanmusante Regular Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    901
    How many units in base VP have "recon" status? Can recon be added by promotion?
     
  7. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,508
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    Currently 12 with VPEE and MUCfVP (2: Holkan and Chasqui).
    UNITCOMBAT_RECON is CombatClass value in column in Units table.
    It is not lost on upgrade, but code was needed for situations like unit received from CS or smth (when it do not upgrade).
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2018
  8. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,508
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    I decided to rename the mod. It has no old code left, so it can be treated like brand new stuff. Of course @Ryika is mentioned as the first creator.
     
    Erikose and Asterix Rage like this.
  9. Asterix Rage

    Asterix Rage Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    816
    PROMOTION_RIVAL_TERRITORY to Scout units should be done since long time ago. Thx adan_eslavo
    Now, giving Rival-Territo to UNITCOMBAT_RECON make all Recon units from Explorer or Bandeirantes a taste of "too much" IMO.

    I suggest to create a new special promotion that include <RivalTerritory>true</RivalTerritory> and <LostWithUpgrade>true</LostWithUpgrade>
    Then, this promotion (with its dedicated icon...) will be given to Pathfinder and Scout only.

    EDIT : will be given to Pathfinder and Scout and Bandeirantes as well to please Brazilians
     
  10. infidel88

    infidel88 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Yuggoth
    No, just give -50% CS in enemy lands or something.
     
  11. Asterix Rage

    Asterix Rage Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    816
    Marines Units with -50% CS in enemy lands ?!!!
     
    adan_eslavo likes this.
  12. JNZS13

    JNZS13 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Brasília, Brazil
    Now the scouts of other civilizations stand ready in my territory waiting for my defense to shoot the barbarians and they finish the service by winning xp. Amazing.


    Civ5Screen0001.jpg
     
  13. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,508
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    Smart sneaky AI you say...
     
    Erikose and JNZS13 like this.
  14. ryanmusante

    ryanmusante Regular Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    901
    For standard VP, is the pathfinder and scout the only two units with recon?
     
  15. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,508
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    What about explorer, paratrooper, marine, xcom and zeppelin?
    upload_2018-10-8_16-29-41.png upload_2018-10-8_16-25-33.png
    I play bunch of mods, so there can be changes especially from VPEE.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2018
  16. ryanmusante

    ryanmusante Regular Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    901
    Oh, interesting. Than your latest version takes care of those, good.
     
  17. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,508
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    Yeah, I modified code to take care of all recon units. ORiginal one from Capture+ had manually added units, so updates had to be done manually too, for every mod.

    You thought earlier about cutting some units from this ability. Do you keep this statement?
     
  18. ryanmusante

    ryanmusante Regular Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    901
    The only units I feel shouldn't have the ability are combat units.

    Paratrooper, Marine, Xcom-squad, Adventurer.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2018
  19. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,508
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    I will try to modify it.
     
    ryanmusante likes this.
  20. CppMaster

    CppMaster Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    834
    Location:
    Poland
    What do you think of giving an ability to cross borders to work boats? It cannot be exploitable in any way and it would fix that annoying problem when you are about to move work boat from another city, but AI founded a city and the path is blocked.
     

Share This Page