Friendly campers

apparition

Warlord
I have a problem in that I have too many friends. On 5the one hand it's good because I'm a builder and not ready for war yet.

My problem though is how best to stop the friendly civ tramping all through my land. I'm sure there are ways better than what I do so I'm asking what everyone else does.

If the land on the other side is empty, then you need to settle it. Otherwise, just blockade them and lure them into cells, so that they sap unit support while doing nothing.

I usually don't mind them using my land. I trade ROP for something usefull. But sometimes if I don't want them on the other side, fi to settle on the other side, or reinforcing a city that I plan to conquer. I find this only doable if there is some chokepoint, otherwise you yourself need too much units.

I two civs are at war I usually let the strongest walk across my country. This way their war will cause most losses on both sides, or at least cripple their growth. You also get a good understanding of their number and strength of units. I think the AI usually sends as much units as it can spare.

Now if the go to war with you anyway, they get a serious rep hit, and have all these units spreadout in your territory. You can easily mob them up.

M.

For some weird reason, I find that the A.I. often wants to wander through your territory en route to other wars, but doesn't want a right-of-passage agreement. It's not so bad when they have ROP, but when they don't they clog up your roads and rails and slow your movement down to an annoying degree. Once I have enough troops, I like to find the narrowest point in my kingdom (assuming I have two coasts) and form a line of troops across it. Once that's there, nobody enters your land, except to attack.