1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

gaia - final version

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Modpacks' started by taube87, Nov 11, 2007.

  1. taube87

    taube87 duck and cover!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    between 37 and 38%

    version history:
    requirements:about this mod:

    gaia - epic: new challanges, new dimensions (gaia - episch: neue herausforderungen, neue größe) is an epic mod. the game starts in the ancient times till the present times with some futuristic projects.
    please note that this version in complete in german!

    installation:
    1. unrar the downloaded file in your "c:...\civilization3\conquests\scenarios" folder.

      you can also try these "bonus steps":
    2. copy and paste the LSANS file from the folder called "extras" in your "c:...\civilization3\conquests\". vista-users have to accept the font with a right click and the order "install". delete the font "lucida sans standard" in the "c:\windows\fonts" folder and install the backup of the font to cancel this step. this mod includes the backup of all fontfiles!
    3. download and install ares terrain for best available terrain pack.
    4. this mods requires the english version! german users have to use goethes tool.
    new concepts:
    • new unitconcepts (spies, ssbn, navyfighters, spyplanes, uav, ...)
    • each cultural area has one unique unit
    • new civilopedia-concepts for units and buildings
    • continuative civilizations
    • each goverment has one unique small wonder
    • new font
    • new unit-stats
    • new techtree
    • plague
    • revised menu- and gamelanguage (german)
    • a gallery.biq shows every unit with ingame graphics
    some main facts:
    • 85 generic land-units (+ 468 specific units)
    • 40 generic sea-units (+ 64 specific units)
    • 37 generic air-units (+ 161 specific units)
    • > 855 units
    • 40 wonders
    • 25 small wonders
    • 53 city improvements
    • > 116 buildings
    • 8 strategic resources
    • 8 luxury resources
    • 24 bonus resources
    • > 40 resources
    • 104 technologies
    • 15 governments
    other changed stuff:
    • some eatereggs
    • new soundeffects
    • revised citynames (german)
    • new interface graphics
    • smaller city- and terrainbuilding graphics
    • "best of" goodyhuts
    • improved civilopedia icons
    • more buildings are specific to each era
    • the scientific leader is specific to each era
    • new titlescreens (in the "extras" folder)
    mod history:

    i started this project in 2003. first of all i wanted to fix some bugs (citynames, ...), but then i started to add units. first of all with the "light tank" from the wwII scenario and so the story goes on.

    credits:

    this mod is not a one-person production! it includes many graphics and ideas of other civfanatics. the following list is incomplete, but this guys are the main characters of this project and i thank everyone for their works!
    please note that i edit files. the filename of these files are characterized with the name affix "edit" or "alt".
    thanks a lot to:i play:i use:known issues:
    • the error message “WARNING! Maximum hypertext links exceeded” is very annoying, but this message doesn't influence the gameplay.
    • sometimes the new font caused a pink shadow. change "edge smoothing" to "standard" to fix this problem.
    current projects:
    • more units
    • a comprehensive readme and some indexes of all units, buildings, governments and resources
    • some scenarios
    • and a english version
    screens:
    1. defensive infantry
    2. distance infantry
    3. light tanks
    4. modern artillery
    5. offensive infantry
    6. tanks
    7. cavalry
    1. escort ships
    2. bombard ships
    3. transporters
    4. interceptor
    5. bomber
    6. fighter bomber
    1. civilization selection and game settings
    2. ancient times (rom)
    3. middle ages (france)
    4. industrial age (great britain)
    5. atomic age (russia)
     
  2. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,845
    Hi taube 87. This was alot of work. Thank you.:goodjob:

    Do I understand it right, that I can run that mod with the English version of
    C3C, so the text is fully in German and I must not install a German version of Civ3 for this mod?

    It´s funny, that in your mod philosophy leads to slavery. :D
     
  3. taube87

    taube87 duck and cover!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    between 37 and 38%
    hey guys, only one comment? i upload my mod two weeks ago and more than 90 people download this.

    please criticize (negative or positive) or make a comment...
     
  4. Samez

    Samez ION GUNNER

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,525
    Location:
    center of nowhere
    So i tested it today and found out a few things...
    THe most important thing is the normal gaia 0.8 file wasn't running because of a missing siedler.ini THe strange thing was even after adding the file the error still remained. The Galerie was running pretty well so I decided just to make a copy with random map and random player to make it playable. THis works till now (I am now first third of the last age)
    I played a easy(to tech through the ages asfast as possible) russian game. The elephants in the early game are quite strong there is nearly nothing that can stop a stack of them... (and they don't upgrade)
    Kempen don't get obsolete so they are still buildable when I have allread T62
    The navy is a difficult thing...
    I like the units getting stronger and the ai used the Kaperschiffe and Piratenschiffe (the early ones) very well. They also tried to hunt down each others pirate fleet with normal ships, so there was a lot of action out on the sea.
    The third era ships grow a little too strong... the battleships are nearly unbeatable (just if you use battleships by yourself) cause of their increadible high bombardment rate, their realy high attack/defence and airdefence and also their huge amount of hps... I think it would be good to decreas the overal strength of the era 3 ships (it should be possible to hit battleships with my era 3 bombers...) Perhaps it could also be usefull to remove the leathal landbombardment from the battleships to make Schlachtkreuzer(?) more usefull.
    The artillery is a little too weak compared to ships and planes. It could be usefull to increase it's capabilities and it's cost slightly.

    A general proplem is corruption. I now play as Parlamentarische Republik which has the lowest corruption level but still even the cities close to my capitol (not directly next to it but not more than 5 tiles away) suffer a heavy loss of money and shields (and yes I have all the neccessary buildings). This is a matter of the worldsetting/optimal city number so this might just be a problem in my altered version of the Galerie file...

    THe most anoying problem in my game was the black death... I am in the last age an nearly all of my cities are infected for now about ten turns or so... I can't move all the troops out to prevent them dieing cause I am at war with my neighbours (they allready did some blitzattacks on some "evacuated" cities) So I loose atm 15+ modernage units per turn from the plague and I can't see an end... It makes this war a real pain...
    That's all for now...
    BTW great work!
     
  5. Son of Heaven

    Son of Heaven Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Canada
    Although I don't read any German, I wanted to give your Mod a try and have been enjoying it very much. I love the great variety of new features you've integrated into it! I've had only two concerns--first, many units (including all the naval units) can't upgrade properly because the "Special Action--Upgrade Unit" box isn't checked off for them in the Mod's file. The second thing I was wondering about is the great abundance of wealth--I've just entered the Industrial Era and have a strong military, and I've accumulated over 10,000 gold even while spending quite freely on unit upgrades and rushing city improvements.

    Overall, I'd say great work, and I'm really looking forward to the English version!
     
  6. Stazro

    Stazro Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    at the shores of Rhine
    That is probably for realism :) You can give new Rifles and new equipment to trained infantrymen and after a bit accomodation they'll have as much routine as before, but how would you "upgrade" e.g. a caravel to a galleon without building a complete new ship?
     
  7. Samez

    Samez ION GUNNER

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,525
    Location:
    center of nowhere
    Yes and it also prevents you having a bazillion of cheap schlachtschiffe/battleships (which are quite overpowered compared to land and air units) via upgrading low tech ships...
     
  8. Son of Heaven

    Son of Heaven Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Canada
    I think limiting upgrades as you both say would be a perfectly legitimate Mod design, but taube87's Civilopedia says that these units are supposed to be able to upgrade, and they don't (er, well if "Wird modernisiert in:" followed by a link to a more advanced unit means "upgrades to:").
     
  9. PaGe

    PaGe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    247
    Location:
    Germany
    Thats's the correct translation. Do you can give me an exact unit, to test it?

    And to complete the civilopedia;
    That means you cannot build unit1, when you can build unit2. And unit 1 can't be upgraded.
     
  10. Stazro

    Stazro Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    at the shores of Rhine
    IIRC, you can't get rid of the "upgrades to"-entry in the central bar, if you want the old units to disappear from the cities' production menu, is this correct?
     
  11. Son of Heaven

    Son of Heaven Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Canada
    An example from my current game would be the Fregatte. I've researched the Seekreigsfuhrung technology, have iron and saltpeter available, have the ship in a city with a harbor, and have several thousand gold available. The civilopedia entry says "Wird modernisiert in: Fregatte@", but no upgrade button appears (and the hotkey doesn't work, either). I opened the file with the editor and found that, for the Fregatte unit, it says Fregatte@ under "upgrade to:" but the "special action--upgrade unit" box was left unchecked.

    I can see, though, that this could be a way of making ships go obsolete and no longer buildable or upgradeable--so maybe it is intentional. My apologies if I'm just missing something that's clear in the text....
     
  12. taube87

    taube87 duck and cover!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    between 37 and 38%
    hey guys! first of all thx for testing!

    i left the "upgrade box" for all naval units on some other units unchecked. you have to build new units to be up to date.
     
  13. Tr Derka

    Tr Derka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    I downloaded the Gaia mod thinking it would be pretty cool. Little did I know that it was all in German or some other langauge. Do you offer an English version? Oh and when I downloaded it there were many missing units. I am kinda new at this so help me out if you can.
     
  14. Stazro

    Stazro Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    at the shores of Rhine
    The missing units could possibly be a version problem (translated unit folders and INIs, etc., i'm not sure at the moment, though)?

    Taube, if you are planning an english version of the mod and need assistance, i'd be glad to help. Just pm me here or at civforum.de, if you like. It probably would be no bad idea to accord your work to a bigger audience
    (Falls Du eine englische Version planst und Unterstützung brauchst, wäre ich froh, helfen zu können. Schreib mich einfach hier oder bei civforum.de an, wenn Du möchtest).
     
  15. Tr Derka

    Tr Derka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11

    Maybe I didnt install it right. Because it said missing entry in text pedialcons or something like that. And what is INI?
    But thank you for trying to help me out on this. It is very comendible to help out newbs.
     
  16. taube87

    taube87 duck and cover!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    between 37 and 38%
    are you using the english or american version?

    btw: i integrate over 20 new units and fix some bugs. the sklavenhändler and the inquisitor enslaves sipahi :(
     
  17. Samez

    Samez ION GUNNER

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,525
    Location:
    center of nowhere
    I got your pn but I don't have much time atm so just some quick statement:
    When loading the scenario I got the usual missing file error:
    file "art/units/Siedler/Siedler.ini" not found the program will exit blabla...
    Strange thing is: the file named exactly like this is in the right folder (so no missspelling and no folder in the folder problem)
    I even tried to copy n paste and rename some standard settler file but that didn't work. I also could not find any error in the .txt file....
    The stange thing is the Galerie shows a Siedler unit, using the same Text folder...
    As I mentioned it now runs quite will with the altered Galerie version of the game.
    Some fixes I did for my personal version of your game:
    all bombers +10 bombard strength
    optimal city number (corruption) 22 Mini; 26 Klein; 30 Standard; 36 Groß; 42 Rießig.
    The next thing I am thinking about is removing the lethal land flag from 3rd era ships.
    Also the Invasionsabwehr is nearly useless cause it's bomb strength is too low to hit any of that eras ships...
     
  18. Tr Derka

    Tr Derka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    I am using the American Version I think. I live in America so I would assume it is the American version.
     
  19. Tr Derka

    Tr Derka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    2.)copy and paste the LSANS file from the folder called "extra" in your "c:...\civilization3\conquests\". vistausers have to accept the font with a right click and the order "install". delete the font "lucida sans standard" in the "c:\windows\fonts" folder and install the backup of the font to cancel this step. this mod includes the backup of all fontfiles!



    Is this step required? Cause if it is then I have no idea how to do it. Maybe it was the reason the mod didnt work for me.
     
  20. taube87

    taube87 duck and cover!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    between 37 and 38%
    no, it's only bonus feature. can you please send me the error message?
     

Share This Page