1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Game crashes when William makes demand

Discussion in 'Civ3 Conquests - Bug Reports' started by Marzipan, Nov 25, 2003.

  1. Marzipan

    Marzipan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    204
    Location:
    Georgia
    In 590 AD William makes a demand for horses. Immediately after the diplomacy screen comes up, poof! the game crashes completely and I'm back to the desktop. I went back and replayed the turn before this and pillaged my only connection to horses to see if I could get past this turn, but alas William demanded 23 gold instead and the game still crashed. So it looks like because of whatever this bug is I won't be able to finish my first game of Conquests. When is the first patch coming out "Atari"? Anyone have this problem and know of a way around it?
     
  2. warpstorm

    warpstorm Yumbo? Yumbo!

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    7,688
    Location:
    Snack Food Capital of the World
    If you don't post your save, it is not likely to get fixed. (This was the first thing they told us in beta testing).
     
  3. Marzipan

    Marzipan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    204
    Location:
    Georgia
    Well I tried uploading it but it is over the limit. Here's a link to the save game in the turn before the crash happens:

    Crashed game
     
  4. Chieftess

    Chieftess Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    24,160
    Location:
    Baltimore
    You can use the File Upload. Read the announcement. ;)
     
  5. Marzipan

    Marzipan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    204
    Location:
    Georgia
    Here's an update about this: yesterday I discovered that I have had a bad spot in RAM for about 6 months, that may have been responsible for this crash if it can't be duplicated on other machines.
     
  6. Chieftess

    Chieftess Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    24,160
    Location:
    Baltimore
    Try that save again and see if you can duplicate it.
     
  7. Isak

    Isak Civ4 Scenario Designer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,386
    Location:
    Airhose, Denmark
    I know it's a bit late, but just in case.. I loaded the savegame and got past William's demand without problems. I tried both accepting and rejecting his demand, and neither caused a crash.

    So I think you should probably reinstall Civ3 and C3C from scratch, if it wasn't the RAM block giving you trouble :)
     

Share This Page