1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Game freezes next turn

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Bug Reports' started by Watiggi, Apr 12, 2011.

  1. Watiggi

    Watiggi Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,107
    I have a save game where it freezes next turn. The mouse icon (the globe) keeps spinning, the music disappears, I cannot alt tab out of it and when I do ctrl-alt-delete to select task manager, there's a box already open saying the Civ V is not responding.

    I don't get any error messages or anything, just a straight freeze.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Watiggi

    Watiggi Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,107
    Is this save game freezing for other people too on the next turn?
     
  3. Watiggi

    Watiggi Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,107
    Could I get some feedback please?
     
  4. urbanknight

    urbanknight Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    houston, texas
    i am running a dell xps, w/3 gb.memory, windows 7, .5 gb. ram; whenever i setup game with standard or larger size territory, invariably, about the 300th. turn or so, the game freezes; i have been winning most times but it just locks up, requing a visit to system manager to resolve, and a trip back to desktop; why ?????
     
  5. snoochems

    snoochems Prince

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    434
    I'm wondering about these late game freezes. It's very very frustrating. It takes ages to load the game too.

    I did come across a similar problem to the OP though, where the game would always crash at a given turn. (usually a reload will be enough to allow me to get past). I played the game in dx9, and I was able to continue.
     
  6. Watiggi

    Watiggi Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,107
    Bugger. I just tried to drop it down to dx9 and see if it works, but it didn't :(

    In dx9 the game gets minimised and then windows says that Civ V has stopped responding and is looking for a solution to the problem, whereby it shuts the game down.

    Does any of the Firaxians get the same crash? Do you need extra information from me like dxdiag, etc?
     
  7. dshirk

    dshirk Firaxian

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    879
    Thanks Watiggi, we're looking at this now.
     
  8. Watiggi

    Watiggi Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,107
    Thanks for replying.

    I pretty much gave up on you lot several months ago when I got no reply.
     
  9. Indrasnet

    Indrasnet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    This is pretty much exactly the same behaviour as my crash which is in this thread -
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=430377

    Just wondrin, anything happening on the crash turn with submarines or carriers???
     
  10. Indrasnet

    Indrasnet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Actually - don't worry - have just tested your savegame and it doesn't crash on my system - and it was nothing to do with sumbarines or carriers - Maybe they fixed your bug?? - Have you tried downloading the latest patch and trying this savegame on your system again??
     
  11. Barak

    Barak Emperor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,516
    Location:
    Chicago
    I have had similar issues at various points with various save games since the new patch was released.
     
  12. Watiggi

    Watiggi Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,107
    Hmmm no I haven't played the game for a while now. Will give it a go and see. Thanks for that.

    edit: woot it works! Thanks for the heads up. I didn't realise there was a patch recently. Thanks again.
     

Share This Page