1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Gaming PC Recommnedations

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Technical Support' started by KaibaCorp, Oct 15, 2020.

  1. KaibaCorp

    KaibaCorp Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Hey everyone, I’m looking into upgrading from playing via Steam on my old MacBook Pro. I want a gaming PC (desktop or laptop) and wanted to know if any of you can share with me what you use, how you play civ, (steam etc.) and if you have any recommendations for what I should look for value and performance wise.
     
  2. criZp

    criZp Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    Nidaros, Norway
    Processor is probably the most important component. Something like a ryzen 3600 works fine for me, 200 dollars. Civ isn't a game where high framerate or 4K resolution matters, so you don't need to spend so much on gpu.
     
    Archon_Wing likes this.
  3. Kwami

    Kwami Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,851
    You do want a GPU with a good frame buffer (at least 8 GB) and a decent amount of system memory (at least 16 GB), though. If you can, get 32 GB of system memory so that you don't have to worry about it for a while. Window 10 and other modern software just loves to eat memory.

    Also, a decent SSD will help your game loads and leader loads immensely!

    If you go with AMD, then the new processors are supposed to be released on November 5. So, you can spend a bit more ($50) and get the newest tech, or you can try to find the current generation on sale somewhere. Here's AMD's page comparing the new with the old: https://www.amd.com/en/processors/ryzen
     
  4. Koljar

    Koljar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    As a side note: Routinely clean up your save folder. Just pressing the buttons to load or save a game takes longer the more savegames you have in there. I did that last week (40+ save files deleted) and went from almost 10 to <1 sec load time for that function. And that was even with an SSD and 16 GB RAM.
     
  5. RealHuhn

    RealHuhn Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,154
    Location:
    Germany
    I'd say take a look at AMD's 5000 series CPUs and Nvidia's 3000 series GPUs. Definitely get an SSD for faster loading times.
    Probably best to wait 1-3 more months until everything is released and in stock.

    But it's true, the AMD Ryzen 3600 is cheap and more than enough for gaming. I personally wouldn't buy any last-gen GPU anymore unless you think about getting a used Nvidia GTX 1070 for example. Getting a used GPU is risky but if you are on an extremely low budget, it's always an option and you won't have any problems to run CIV6 on a 1070.
    The first benchmarks of the new Nvidia cards look very promising though and prices are pretty fair. I'm leaning towards buying the RTX 3070 in January or so but mainly for VR, not for CIV6 :goodjob:
     
  6. Tech Osen

    Tech Osen Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,665
    Couple of months ago I started using the Shadow Tech cloud pc service to replace my aging rig. Using the cheapest option but it's fine for civ 6. Very satisfied but you need a good internet connection of course.

    https://shadow.tech/int
     
  7. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    11,247
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    It's why I didn't mind spending the money on Intel 9-9900 k last year. I think the chip was around $800 at the time, probably cheaper now. I also put 32gigs of ram in. Since building my rig, I never play on any map less than huge, only because I can. On my old computer I couldn't really go above large, and even that was a pain, normal was decent.

    My GPU isn't anything special, I don't play hyper realistic shooters, so it wasn't that big an issue. I just wanted a GPU with good amount of RAM (it's 8 gigs)
     
  8. shmily_dana

    shmily_dana Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    246
  9. Mahi

    Mahi Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Well it kinda depends on what you're going for. Usually I would recommend a bit more technical website for this kind of question. Personally, I'm using Tomshardware for this.
    When it comes to civ you can easily get away with a 5 Gen intel processor (i still use my i5 3570k with ddr3 memory) and I can play all new titles with a gtx 1660 ti on board. Some newer fps games are starting to bottleneck a bit on my processor but it's neglectable.

    For civ i would just recommend 8 gb ram and a ssd hard drive for fast loadings but anything with 4 threads older than the 5 Gen intel should get you by just fine.

    Video cards are a bit more of a personal flavor I would say. Depends on games you want to play, and more importantly what resolution you want to game on. I'm still gaming on 1080x1920 and am fine with this at 60 fps.

    But buying anything other than a gtx 3070 almost tangents to stupidity as you get so much value for the buck.. That is, if you can find a place where it hasn't sold out.

    Don't expect a GPU to live more than 5-6 years. Keep that in mind if you want a used GPU.
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2020
  10. Kwami

    Kwami Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,851
    I would recommend at least 16 GB of RAM, though. I had a lot of trouble with only 8 GB on my old PC. Unless you turn off pretty much all graphics options and leader animations, Civ VI is going to eat up your RAM and crash.

    And, anyway, RAM is pretty cheap compared to everything else. Might as well get some extra. I went for 64 GB this time.
     
  11. RealHuhn

    RealHuhn Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,154
    Location:
    Germany
    It sounds like you underestimate CPU bottlenecks, especially when you play on 1080p resolution. Last year, I've upgraded my i7 3770k to the AMD R5 3600 and the difference was like night and day. Not only up to 50% more performance (estimated, could be lower/higher) with the same GPU (GTX1070) but more importantly, less micro stuttering and frame drops, overall a much smoother image. Yes, it costs a lot of money to switch from an old i5 to AMD but it's worth it. If you are still on an i5, you should upgrade the CPU first and then buy the RTX 3070, not the other way around. 4 CPU cores without hyperthreading cannot compete anymore.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2020
  12. Mahi

    Mahi Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    It's really not a problem for me. The latest title I play is CoD warzone and I get smooth 60 fps. As said, I don't really notice any issues. Usually micro stuttering is a memory issue. I'm not saying it's perfect but it's good enough for me as I don't notice any issues.

    The amd vs Intel debate is not something I'm interested in. I'm conservative and usually stick with what I know. Intel is what I personally prefer
     
  13. criZp

    criZp Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    Nidaros, Norway
    What is stupid is spending 500 dollars if you could find a much cheaper product that also does a satisfactory job.
     
  14. Mahi

    Mahi Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Sure.
    But performance pr dollar is ridiculous for this card. It was the point I was trying to make.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2020

Share This Page