1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Garrisoned units. Ranged or Melee?

Discussion in 'Strategy Forum' started by ExpiredReign, Dec 23, 2013.

1. ExpiredReign

ExpiredReign Deity

For ever since I started playing CivV I have always garrisoned ranged units and used their small firing attack as an addition to the city's own attack.

I know there has been a change with garrisoning melee units, in that the combined strength of the unit and the city is used.

Has anyone done some balancing tests to see if one or the other is better?
    Also has our shifting of unit strengths in the mod made any significant change to this mechanic?

2. mystikx21

mystikx21 Deity

I still use the ranged units myself. But I haven't tested it much to see if it's actually much weaker in feel or defence.

The main advantage is it automatically protects the ranged units from counterattack so they can keep shooting at full strength. Since they're usually weaker, this means the city attack isn't as strong, but the combo of both is usually strong enough to at least cripple the enemy vanguard as it approaches and buy time to bring up any reinforcements. The other advantage is the archer doesn't have to move to keep garrisoning. A melee unit has to move back or have another move in its place if it attacks (and wins at least).

There are probably circumstances, terrain usually, that make a difference here such that the archers would make more sense posted on a hill and to use spears or swords to garrison the city for maximum coverage of an approach.