1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Gathering Storm start biases, from xml file

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by iammaxhailme, Feb 14, 2019.

  1. iammaxhailme

    iammaxhailme Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,188
    This is in steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization VI\DLC\Expansion2\Data\Expansion2_Civilizations_Major.xml

    Reminder, lower number means stronger bias

    Hungary:
    Geothermal Fissure 5
    River 3

    Canada:
    Tundra 1
    Tundra Hills 1
    Snow 5
    Snow Hills 5

    Inca:
    Desert Mountain 3
    Grass Mountain 3
    Plains Mountain 3
    Tundra Mountain 5
    Snow Mountain 5

    Mali: (Note: Desert and Desert hills were 2 when GS came out, but were patched to 1 later)
    Desert 1
    Desert Hills 1
    (Coal, Iron, Copper, Diamonds, Jade, Mercury, Salt, Silver, Aluminum, Coal, Iron, Niter): 5

    Phoeeicia:
    Coast 2

    England:
    Coal 5
    Iron 5

    Sweden, Maori, Ottoman are missing, so maybe they have no bias.
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2019
    Icicle, Arent11, Kjimmet and 2 others like this.
  2. Eagle Pursuit

    Eagle Pursuit Scir-Gerefa

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    14,965
    Mali is basically the same as Nubia.
     
  3. Noble Zarkon

    Noble Zarkon Civ IV Emperor EQM Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4,944
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Gibraltar
    Maori are a special case, according to one of the streams they will start in the largest body of water, ideally without any land in sight.
     
  4. Delvi

    Delvi Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Italia
    The other civs keep the starting biases as in vanilla and r&f?
     
    Eagle Pursuit likes this.
  5. Peserwin

    Peserwin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    So England lost their coastal bias? I wandered why I started inland that often, even on archipelago
     
  6. iammaxhailme

    iammaxhailme Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,188

    The info I put in the first post is everything in the new GS civs xml. I assume that it finds biases for R&F and vanilla civs in their xml file, which is somewhere else.

    This is what's in the vanilla civs xml:

    Code:
    <!-- Start Bias Lower is First -->
        <StartBiasResources>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_SCYTHIA" ResourceType="RESOURCE_HORSES" Tier="2"/>
        </StartBiasResources>
        <StartBiasFeatures>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_BRAZIL" FeatureType="FEATURE_JUNGLE" Tier="2"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_EGYPT" FeatureType="FEATURE_FLOODPLAINS" Tier="2"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_KONGO" FeatureType="FEATURE_JUNGLE" Tier="2"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_KONGO" FeatureType="FEATURE_FOREST" Tier="2"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_NORWAY" FeatureType="FEATURE_FOREST" Tier="5"/>
        </StartBiasFeatures>
        <StartBiasTerrains>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_ENGLAND" TerrainType="TERRAIN_COAST" Tier="3"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_GREECE" TerrainType="TERRAIN_DESERT_HILLS" Tier="3"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_GREECE" TerrainType="TERRAIN_GRASS_HILLS" Tier="3"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_GREECE" TerrainType="TERRAIN_PLAINS_HILLS" Tier="3"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_GREECE" TerrainType="TERRAIN_TUNDRA_HILLS" Tier="3"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_NORWAY" TerrainType="TERRAIN_COAST" Tier="3"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_RUSSIA" TerrainType="TERRAIN_TUNDRA" Tier="3"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_RUSSIA" TerrainType="TERRAIN_TUNDRA_HILLS" Tier="3"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_SCYTHIA" TerrainType="TERRAIN_GRASS" Tier="5"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_SCYTHIA" TerrainType="TERRAIN_PLAINS" Tier="5"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_SPAIN" TerrainType="TERRAIN_COAST" Tier="3"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_LISBON" TerrainType="TERRAIN_COAST" Tier="1"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_NAN_MADOL" TerrainType="TERRAIN_COAST" Tier="1"/>
        </StartBiasTerrains>
        <StartBiasRivers>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_EGYPT" Tier="5"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_FRANCE" Tier="3"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_SUMERIA" Tier="3"/>
        </StartBiasRivers>
    However, I'm not sure if the new GS bias for England is IN ADDITION to the original coast bias, or is overwriting it.

    As a side note I'm surprised how few vanilla civs have a start bias...

    I'm also not sure how Egypt's floodplain bias works now that floodplains are different.
     
  7. Kwami

    Kwami Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    And R&F:

    Code:
        <StartBiasTerrains>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_KOREA" TerrainType="TERRAIN_DESERT_HILLS" Tier="3"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_KOREA" TerrainType="TERRAIN_GRASS_HILLS" Tier="3"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_KOREA" TerrainType="TERRAIN_PLAINS_HILLS" Tier="3"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_KOREA" TerrainType="TERRAIN_TUNDRA_HILLS" Tier="3"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_NETHERLANDS" TerrainType="TERRAIN_COAST" Tier="4"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_MAPUCHE" TerrainType="TERRAIN_DESERT_MOUNTAIN" Tier="3"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_MAPUCHE" TerrainType="TERRAIN_GRASS_MOUNTAIN" Tier="3"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_MAPUCHE" TerrainType="TERRAIN_PLAINS_MOUNTAIN" Tier="3"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_MAPUCHE" TerrainType="TERRAIN_TUNDRA_MOUNTAIN" Tier="3"/>
        </StartBiasTerrains>
        <StartBiasRivers>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_NETHERLANDS" Tier="2"/>
        </StartBiasRivers>
        <StartBiasResources>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_MONGOLIA" ResourceType="RESOURCE_HORSES" Tier="2"/>
        </StartBiasResources>
    
    These aren't overwriting. So, England didn't lose its coastal bias.
     
    Icicle, Kjimmet, iammaxhailme and 2 others like this.
  8. Kwami

    Kwami Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Other DLCs!

    Code:
        <StartBiasResources>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_AUSTRALIA" ResourceType="RESOURCE_CATTLE" Tier="5"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_AUSTRALIA" ResourceType="RESOURCE_HORSES" Tier="5"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_AUSTRALIA" ResourceType="RESOURCE_SHEEP" Tier="5"/>
        </StartBiasResources>
        <StartBiasTerrains>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_AUSTRALIA" TerrainType="TERRAIN_COAST" Tier="3"/>
        </StartBiasTerrains>
    
        <StartBiasTerrains>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_INDONESIA" TerrainType="TERRAIN_COAST" Tier="2"/>
        </StartBiasTerrains>
        <StartBiasRivers>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_KHMER" Tier="3"/>
        </StartBiasRivers>
    
        <StartBiasResources>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_NUBIA" ResourceType="RESOURCE_COPPER" Tier="5"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_NUBIA" ResourceType="RESOURCE_DIAMONDS" Tier="5"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_NUBIA" ResourceType="RESOURCE_JADE" Tier="5"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_NUBIA" ResourceType="RESOURCE_MERCURY" Tier="5"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_NUBIA" ResourceType="RESOURCE_SALT" Tier="5"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_NUBIA" ResourceType="RESOURCE_SILVER" Tier="5"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_NUBIA" ResourceType="RESOURCE_ALUMINUM" Tier="5"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_NUBIA" ResourceType="RESOURCE_COAL" Tier="5"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_NUBIA" ResourceType="RESOURCE_IRON" Tier="5"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_NUBIA" ResourceType="RESOURCE_NITER" Tier="5"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_NUBIA" ResourceType="RESOURCE_URANIUM" Tier="5"/>
        </StartBiasResources>
        <StartBiasTerrains>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_NUBIA" TerrainType="TERRAIN_DESERT" Tier="1"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_NUBIA" TerrainType="TERRAIN_DESERT_HILLS" Tier="1"/>
        </StartBiasTerrains>
    
    In GS, Nubia is modified slightly.

    Code:
        <StartBiasTerrains>
            <Update>
                <Where CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_NUBIA" TerrainType="TERRAIN_DESERT"/>
                <Set>
                    <Tier>2</Tier>
                </Set>
            </Update>
            <Update>
                <Where CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_NUBIA" TerrainType="TERRAIN_DESERT_HILLS"/>
                <Set>
                    <Tier>2</Tier>
                </Set>
            </Update>
        </StartBiasTerrains>
    
     
    Icicle, Kjimmet and iammaxhailme like this.
  9. Nicc

    Nicc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I was looking at the files myself and found this under \DLC\Expansion2\Data\Expansion2_Civilizations.xml. They just consider the different floodplains different features and gave her a bias to the grassland and plains types, still tier 2. Unless I'm missing something this also means she no longer has an indirect desert bias.
    Code:
    <StartBiasFeatures>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_RAPA_NUI" FeatureType="FEATURE_VOLCANO" Tier="1"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_EGYPT" FeatureType="FEATURE_FLOODPLAINS_GRASSLAND" Tier="2"/>
            <Row CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_EGYPT" FeatureType="FEATURE_FLOODPLAINS_PLAINS" Tier="2"/>
        </StartBiasFeatures>
     
    Icicle likes this.
  10. iammaxhailme

    iammaxhailme Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,188
    updated OP with patched values for mali
     
  11. treadwin

    treadwin Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Canada
    It may just be coincidence, but I was struggling to get a desert with Mali, and on a whim changed the bias from 1 to 5 and I have been in a desert on start ever since. I know the info is that 1 is stronger than 5, but...

    EDIT: OK - I've figured it out - I think.

    The game calculates start positions, for all civs (and City States). It then assigns start positions for cultural groups, and it then allocates those positions based on start bias tiers.

    If you have cultural groups checked, it severely limits your chances of getting your start bias, because you only get your bias if it is available within the starts already allocated to your cultural group, so you get your choice of the 2 or 3 starts awarded.

    If you play large map sizes, with the cultural groups off, and a tier 1 bias, if any of the 10 or more start positions fit your bias, you will get it.

    Start positions (in general) are not affected by the start bias mechanic, it only affects the allocation of the generated start positions.
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2019
    borad and Kmart_Elvis like this.
  12. iammaxhailme

    iammaxhailme Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,188
    Cultural groups? Sure that isn't a mod?
     
  13. Larsenex

    Larsenex King

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    754
    Location:
    Ventura CA
    In the Game start advanced settings you can check or uncheck 'cultural start' which is what I believe he is referring to. I maybe wrong as I only play on Yanmps maps the larger ones for 16 civilizations.
     
  14. pokiehl

    pokiehl King

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    912
    That's from YNAMP.
     
  15. iammaxhailme

    iammaxhailme Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,188
    Yeah, I'm pretty sure that cultural groups thing is part of the YNAEMP mod for Terra maps. It's not part of the unmodded game
     
  16. treadwin

    treadwin Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Canada
    Reply - yes it is. I'm not sure if it is part of the original game and YNAEMP gives you the ability to turn it off, or if it is an optional setting totally contained in the mod. Sorry, I have a few mods and it is difficult to know what is part of the game and what isn't.

    It wouldn't surprise me if it was built into the game, I get a lot of the same civ's close to me when I restart the game. (Yes, I am a serial restarter - I'm getting help with my problem).
     
  17. Cowhead

    Cowhead Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    I started a Maori game on a Seven Seas map the other day and I surprisingly started on land. Guess there wasn't a big enough body of water on the map for me start in.
     
  18. Ziad

    Ziad Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,796
    Location:
    Lebanon
    Feels like 5 sometimes. This really should be 1. Hell should be 0.
     
  19. Kwami

    Kwami Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    If it is built into the game, then it's under the hood and there isn't an option to toggle it at all and none of the built-in map scripts use it.
     
  20. S1AL

    S1AL Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    134
    Gender:
    Male
    There's not actually any mechanical value attached to the numbers per se, it's solely based on relative value. There are almost no 1's (I believe Canada, Russia, Mali), so the difference is functionally meaningless on most maps. One problem is that the game reads lakes as coast tiles. But aside from that and a couple of very niche scenarios, coastal civilizations should always get coast, regardless of it being a 2.

    Sadly for Spain, which gets coast even with a 3 and actually hates it.
     

Share This Page