1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

GEM 200 BC for RoM 2.81 with New Dawn modmod.

Discussion in 'RoM Scenarios and Maps' started by Antmanbrooks, Jan 23, 2010.

  1. Antmanbrooks

    Antmanbrooks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    The Cheshire Plain.
    Well I have just checked on Genghis Kai's page and he states it's ok to convert his mods to be played with other mods, so attached below is my conversion of Genghis Kai's 200BC Mod for the Giant Earth Map. Massive thanks to Genghis Kai for his original mod which can be found here in this forum - http://forums.civfanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=296

    There are a couple of changes you should be aware of and a couple of annoying things I can't seem to solve.

    1. I have added Athens as a city belonging to Attalus I of the Greek Republic.
    2. I had to start the mod with Christianity and Islam already founded in their respective birthplaces as for some unknown reason in 180BC they where randomly founded anyway!
    3. Carthaginian cities have no religion to start with as they didn't follow true Hellenic or Egyptian Mythological Gods, they have a wierd Civic Setup too to represent their strong belief in child sacrifice and a powerful priest caste. (Rome was dead against child sacrifice to the Gods, not the child sacrifice bit, just the fact it was to the Gods :confused:).
    4. Religion spreads very unrealistically, which must be down to Civ itself as no matter what I do to the CIV4ReligionInfo.xml it still insists on spreading Taoism and Buddhism etc. in Northern Europe and the Carthaginian Cities, despite them having no contact with the Eastern Civs.
    5. The Han and Chu no longer have access to Longbowmen when the game starts as the required tech was a bit too advanced I thought and the whole reason they did in the original 200BC scenario was to represent their feudal society I guess.
    6. I have added several new wonders that RoM allows access too. Certain wonders have been placed in the cities closest to the actual geographic location of the wonder. As an example Sparta houses the Temple of Zeus because the actual location in Olympia was just a stones throw down the road. Hence Sparta now being the Hellenic Holy City too.
    Anyway, I'm sure there are a few other issues that will be found by anyone that plays it, if you post them here I will do my best to keep a check on this thread evey now and again and if I can help resolve any problems I will.

    Hope you enjoy!

    To play just unpack to your CivIV/Beyond the Sword/Mods/Rise of Mankind/Private Maps folder and next time you load up RoM you should be able to click play a scenario and choose "GEM 200BC for Rise of Mankind".

    WARNING - This is a Giant Earth Map so it's likely to run a bit slower than usual between turns, just think of it like playing a multiplayer game with a chess champion :lol:

    EDIT: Just to note this should still be compatible with RoM 2.91 & AND 1.72B
    EDIT: See my post on page 2 for RoM:AND 1.75 compatible version
     
  2. Antmanbrooks

    Antmanbrooks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    The Cheshire Plain.
    Looks like a few people have downloaded this, any reports or feedback? IS it working ok?
     
  3. Draakon

    Draakon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    I get runtime errors. I used to be able to play Giant maps. After beta11, its seems not.
     
  4. Antmanbrooks

    Antmanbrooks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    The Cheshire Plain.
    Is that just on this download or on all Giant maps?
     
  5. Greeneyedzombie

    Greeneyedzombie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    Below the sea.
    for me, only on your map..
     
  6. Antmanbrooks

    Antmanbrooks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    The Cheshire Plain.
    Hmmm? I'm not sure why that would be?

    I play using RoM Full 2.8 --> 2.81 patch. I don't use the Mega Civ pack though as that caused problems on my machine.

    I created the map conversion using New Dawn 1.53 --> 1.55 patch.

    I have now put New Dawn 1.6 on my machine and the converted map still works fine for me. I don't have any other stuff on my version of RoM so I can only think if you are having problems with runtime errors it's probably because the versions don't quite match up? Can you explain when you get the runtime errors for me please?

    So for clarification my map works fine on RoM 2.81 Full with New Dawn ModMod (1.53 and 1.6).
     
  7. fieldman

    fieldman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Australia
    Map works fine for me. I have successfully passed 100 turns. And may I say it is rivetting action!!!

    I also use ROM Full plus AND 1.6.

    It will only play on Marathon setting for me tho. I have managed to change the other settings to incorporate more of AND 1.6 by altering the text in the save file.

    Excellent work! Thanks to all those who contributed.
     
  8. Antmanbrooks

    Antmanbrooks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    The Cheshire Plain.
    Glad to hear you're enjoying it, who are you playing as?
     
  9. fieldman

    fieldman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Australia
    I am playing the Chinese Xiang Yu. Just passed turn 125 and am currently laying seige to the last stronghold of the Chinese Liu Bang. The Monguls are already making raids into my Western borders, but I have taken one of their fringe cities. Which means with Assimulation, I can produce their mounts!

    Its the first time I have played with a GEM map successfully, although I do confess it takes a few tries to load up the save game (since I only play for a couple of hours a day at most). I tried upgrading to AND 1.64, but the save doesnt work even after repeated attempts, so I am still playing with 1.60.

    Again :goodjob:
     
  10. JDR

    JDR Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Great map. Thanks for converting it Ant.
     
  11. Antmanbrooks

    Antmanbrooks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    The Cheshire Plain.
    Are you experiencing wierd Religion spread at all? I can't seem to fix that on my game? Confucianism popping up in Britain and stuff like that?

    Thanks for the recognition. I hope you like it.
     
  12. fieldman

    fieldman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Australia
     
  13. wolfman1234

    wolfman1234 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    764
    Location:
    Spain GMT+1
    Do you plan to update this scenario for ROM 2.91 with AND 1.72?
     
  14. Antmanbrooks

    Antmanbrooks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    The Cheshire Plain.
    I hadn't planned on doing it. I may have a look if I get a bit of time off work. I have had a look at this and it appears to work on RoM 2.91 with AND 1.72B
     
  15. zeggy

    zeggy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    ???
    update with rom 2.92 and new dawn pls!
     
  16. Arakhor

    Arakhor Dremora Courtier Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    30,830
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    2.92 is the buggy release. You're better off playing 2.92 as is and waiting for the more stable 2.93.
     
  17. zeggy

    zeggy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    ???
    mhmm how about 2.91 update then ^^ ?
     
  18. Arakhor

    Arakhor Dremora Courtier Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    30,830
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    That's also unlikely to happen. Buggy release or no, I don't see people updating maps to a soon-to-be-obsolete version.
     
  19. Antmanbrooks

    Antmanbrooks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    The Cheshire Plain.
    This is compatible with 2.91 that's what I play it on...

    It's more than likely a problem with your install of ROM or AND having "extra's" or customized content.

    I don't intend updating to 2.92 or any other future releases of ROM, although the map should work with them anyway as this seems to have worked with the last 2 versions of ROM without me having to update anything.
     
  20. Hrimfar

    Hrimfar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    So it's unlikely to work with ROME for example? Because all I get when I run it is tech-tree advisor and then crash or autoloss.
     

Share This Page