1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We have selected the winners of the Old World random draw and competition. For the winning entries, please check this thread.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Old World has finally been released on GOG and Steam, besides also being available in the Epic store . Come to our Old World forum and discuss with us!
    Dismiss Notice

GEM requests.

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Giant Earth Map Mod' started by ijnavy, May 28, 2008.

  1. ijnavy

    ijnavy Czar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    Request for historic and other GEM mods here.
     
  2. Genghis_Kai

    Genghis_Kai GEM modder

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    thanks for starting up this thread.

    I saw in your scenario's thread that you are adding leaderheads. Who are they? I am intending to add some leaders in the future too.
     
  3. ijnavy

    ijnavy Czar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    I want to add more historic leaderheads from CivGold to my scenarios. Here are the screenshots.
     
  4. Genghis_Kai

    Genghis_Kai GEM modder

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    But out of the CivGold, which did you chose? Obviously, we can't add all of them to GEM.
     
  5. ijnavy

    ijnavy Czar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    Oh, you mean that you want to add them to the GEM map, not any of your scenarios? I would leave them as they are now, why change them? I meant that I'm going to add some of them to my 1100 AD, 1300 AD, and later 7th century AD scenarios. If you want to add them to 1500 AD, 1940 AD, and later 200 BC, you can chose the leaders that seem more historical to the time period.
     
  6. Traiano

    Traiano Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    268
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA (POB: Rome, Italy)
    I would definitely add a few to the basic GEM mod, if that's feasible.
    That would be great and it would also simplify many things, when creating a scenario.

    Speaking of which, do you guys know if the PakBuild utility to open up Amra's compressed files works also for Vista?
    The one I found seems to be just for window xps and Arma's Lhs and Civs have to be extracted.

    Creatively, I would import the "medieval ones", Arpad, Idris, Vlad, Ivan.
    The reason?

    Imo the GEM, with a late game scenario, might get tricky....loading-time-wise.
    Many units, lof ot tech and variants to be taken into account.
    I fear it might get a lot to load and even in between turns.
    Unless, of course, we all start to get 4 gb of ram and new processors and increase the virtual memory ;)

    That's why I tend to stick to ancient or medieval scenarios and I suggest that early game Lhs might be more appropriate.

    My two cents.
     
  7. Traiano

    Traiano Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    268
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA (POB: Rome, Italy)
    ..........
     
  8. ijnavy

    ijnavy Czar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    ??????

    How about we go back to the topic of this thread. People can request GEM scenarios here.
     
  9. Genghis_Kai

    Genghis_Kai GEM modder

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The game play of my 1940AD scenario is currently OK i would say. It takes at least a minute or two between each turn, which I think is acceptable. My computer has only 2GB of ram.

    In regards to leaderheads, what I wanted to do is add some more 'generic' leaderheads in each era so for what ever scenarios we are building, we can have more choices to label them to what ever names. The difficulty I alway has when choosing leaderhead is that there is too limited to choose from. What i want is that each leader in a scenario to have a corresponding leaderhead that reflects the correct race, the correct era and the correct sex. The graphics doesn't have to be a specifically designed for the leader.

    We can't be too agressive in adding leaderheads because each leaderhead weights at least 5MB and it would make GEM to be too huge in size if we do. So my question open up for suggestions is, in Civ Gold (or other existing ones), which of these leaderheads (the graphics) are suitable to be added?
     
  10. Brutus2

    Brutus2 Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    525
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Philadelphia, USA
    Not sure if this is the right place to ask but...

    How do I alter the GEM mod to remove some of the civs? I love this map but using 36 civs slows things down a bit. I'd like to remove a few to make it more like the anicient world (example: no America since they did not exist in 4000 BC).

    Thanks!
     
  11. xxxkilikxxx

    xxxkilikxxx Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    i'd love to see a GEM mod based around the 1700's (the seven years war). What would even be greater is if it had a revolution type supplement to it (like the revolutionDCM mod.)
     
  12. ijnavy

    ijnavy Czar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    Well I've been planning to finish 7th century on GEM, and then for my final GEM scenario to make 1700 AD GEM. I'm not sure about revolutionDCM. Actually, I might make 1700 AD instead of 7th century.
     
  13. armand453

    armand453 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Hi.
    I'm trying to do a scenario for my own interest but i'd like to test the balancing with autorun. Did someone no one way to activate autorun under GEM .
    Thx
     
  14. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,102
    Location:
    In orbit
    Would graphics PAKing reduce lag/load times? (Personally I feel that 1-2 minutes between actual turns is taking the fun out of it...)
     
  15. Ace of Spades

    Ace of Spades GEM Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    1.) open My Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\Civilization 4.ini

    2.) look for the lines

    Code:
    ; Move along
    CheatCode = 0
    
    and replace with

    Code:
    ; Move along
    CheatCode = chipotle
    
    3.) open the game and create a scenario

    4.) choose a minor civ in your scenario to control (one that would not influence the game too much, since it will be destroyed later)

    5.) once the game has loaded, open the console by pressing the key next to "l" (usually the ~ key, but depends on your keyboard layout)

    6.) type "Game.AIplay 10" to let the computer play for 10 turns on its own. You can replace the 10 by any number you want, of course, or repeat the process more often.

    Hope to help,
    Ace
     
  16. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,102
    Location:
    In orbit
    Good tip! (Might use that myself next time.);)
     
  17. Firestorm94

    Firestorm94 zuh?

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    895
    Location:
    In a state of confusion
    i think a 2000 AD game and a version of the Earth 1000 AD from civ 4 for BtS with more leaders and civs, or you should think about a combo of RFC and GEM:crazyeye: keep up the great work with the map and thnx so much for making it:goodjob:
     
  18. Genghis_Kai

    Genghis_Kai GEM modder

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    combining with RFC? RFC included a lot of hardcode which is too advance for me! Probably the better way out is to ask Rhye to combine GEM to RFC instead :lol:
     
  19. ijnavy

    ijnavy Czar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    Combining GEM and RFC, what a great idea. I'm a little busy with my scenarios and waiting for GEM 5.0 to be updated. When I'm finished those, I might try it.
    It would need more civs and at least epic speed.

    The problem is that if it was made, only strong computers could play it.
     
  20. gidds

    gidds Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Belgium
    Any chance for Great Admirals? I would like to see more naval academies etc...Now its all done with the Great General, but I would like to see it split.

    Furthermore, is it possible for the French to have the Foreign Legion as a special unit iso the Musketeer?

    Last but not least, there should be a possibility to actually by and sell special units, for every era there should actually be a special unit that can be purchased and sold..

    Ok, very last comment.. The Dutch have pigs at their capital, you should change that to cows really, Dutch cows are famous all over the globe (the black and white ones). And there should be horses as well.. Anyway, best Map ever and please keep 'm coming..

    :goodjob:
     

Share This Page