1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

General questions about TOT from a semi-newbie

Discussion in 'Civ2 - General Discussions' started by Starke Von Oben, Aug 1, 2012.

1. Starke Von Oben

Starke Von Oben Chieftain

Hello!

I have been playing CIV/FW for over 10 years now, and have just today received a copy of TOT from Amazon (for £4 you really can't go wrong).

I've just installed it, updated it to 1.1 but would like to ask some general questions before I go any further:

1. I've always enjoyed having my own custom graphic set for Civ2 (Units/Cities/Icons/etc), if I intend to do so with TOT which files and in what folder do I modify? Do I have to switch off animation in order to do this?

2. As regards scenarios, is it as simple as FW? Do I merely need to make a scenario folder and load the scenario or is there more to it?

3. Is the AI more sensible in TOT, or is it still all-out aggressive? It would be good to actually have an alliance for a change...

4. I notice that the original graphics are in the main TOT folder: why is this? Is there an option to select vanilla graphics?

5. Has anyone made a standard high-res units.bmp/terrain/cities in the style of Curtsibling? I recall his graphics from the old apolyton site, and they were very impressive.

Cheers!

-Starke.

2. Valka D'Ur

Valka D'Ur Hosting Iron Pen in A&E Retired Moderator

Welcome to CFC! :)

Alas, I don't have the knowledge to answer most of your questions. How the AI acts depends on whether you play the Original game, Original Extended (includes the Alpha Centauri aliens), Lalande (science fiction game), Midgard (the fantasy quest game), or just the plain fantasy game.