Geothermal powered trade routes?

I've been playing with less trade routes, which has gone well. I can't instantly build everything anymore and cities that aren't served by trade routes don't feel like they're stagnant by comparison. I am thinking it is intentional to have internal trade be a big factor. Civ 4 had corporations model how today a lot of what's produced comes from farther away.

However three routes per city makes for a lot of trade and work to manage them. But if you cut it down then it makes it hard to have a very specialized city supply many others. The fact that the sender gets less than the destination also makes it so your more pumping up the already good city rather than the sender. One way to fix that is to change trade routes to work the same both ways so the best cities don't have to always be the sender to give the most.

Here's my crazy idea though. Geothermal powered trade routes. In civ 5 I wondered if there should be a building that uses oil to improve trade. In real life the global economy is tied to a resource and it seemed odd that it was only needed for the military.

Now we have the geothermal resource, which seems like it's meant to be important, but is only used by four wonders. So my idea is to have an East India trading company type national wonder that runs on geothermal energy and gives a bonus to trade routes yield (assuming it gets reduced) and a few more trade routes. Possibly allow up to four to be built, which would allow you to create a trade hubs for each of the tradable yields.

So, is this madness or genius?

I've been playing with less trade routes, which has gone well. I can't instantly build everything anymore and cities that aren't served by trade routes don't feel like they're stagnant by comparison. I am thinking it is intentional to have internal trade be a big factor. Civ 4 had corporations model how today a lot of what's produced comes from farther away.